The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2018, 04:07 PM
MadreInChina MadreInChina is offline
MadeInChina O69
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 963613
MadreInChina Reputation: 10
Question Have 9 fans but only 6 headers on commander pro

If I connect corsair’s ml non led or rgb fans to the mobo pwm header with a spliter will it beable to be controled through iCUE?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2018, 04:11 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
βetα Nayn Cat
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,322
POST ID # = 963614
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Yes, but both fans on the splitters will run at the same speed. Also, don't put more than one splitter per Commander PWM header, you'll draw to much power for the commander to handle.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2018, 04:15 PM
MadreInChina MadreInChina is offline
MadeInChina O69
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 963615
MadreInChina Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inheritance View Post
Yes, but both fans on the splitters will run at the same speed. Also, don't put more than one splitter per Commander PWM header, you'll draw to much power for the commander to handle.
So if I use a 3 way spliter on my mobo i can have 3 fans controled in corsair icue? Will my mobo beable to handle 3 fans on one pwm? My mobo idea is asus z370 prime a
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2018, 05:05 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,776
POST ID # = 963625
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadreInChina View Post
So if I use a 3 way spliter on my mobo i can have 3 fans controled in corsair icue
No. Your motherboard headers are controlled by your BIOS settings or whatever software your motherboard vendor makes available. iCUE controls peripherals and internal devices, one of which is a Corsair Commander Pro. That is a fan controller and RGB interface tool. If you want fan control, you need that. Either way, you will want the Commander Pro or Lighting Node Pro for RGB control. See the sticky here for more information. There are some requirements to set this up.



Quote:
Originally Posted by MadreInChina View Post
Will my mobo beable to handle 3 fans on one pwm? My mobo idea is asus z370 prime a
The overwhelming majority of motherboard fan headers have a 1.0A current limit. Always check your manual to verify. Obviously this also very fan specific, so you have to total it up on a model by model basis. Current flow is very dynamic and you should not assume max limits are hard caps. Always leave some room. A 0.80A total is safe for most things. I occasionally push it 0.90A with fans that have been tried and tested. I don't recommend that for people unless they are very comfortable with how there gear works or anyone who is risk adverse.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2018, 11:04 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
βetα Nayn Cat
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,322
POST ID # = 963683
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

I wouldn't do 3 for the reasons c-attack mentioned. The current draw of PWM headers is usually around 1 Amp with some headroom build into better boards but its really not worth possibly killing a header or whole board.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2018, 03:57 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,882
POST ID # = 963708
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

to add

Not Officially supported but there is no reason why you can not use Fan header Splitter cables on the Commander Pro (note there is a 1A limitation per fan header and a 4.5A limitation for the entire unit

More info on fan specs and power draw in the linked thread below

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
help me please, icue, ml fans, pwm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.