The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Systems > CORSAIR ONE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2017, 03:08 AM
flazoon flazoon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 923781
flazoon Reputation: 10
Default CPU power limit throttling

I'm hitting power limit throttling when running OCCT (small data set) benchmark on C1 Pro Ti (stock CPU clock 4.5 GHz).

Is anyone else facing this issue? Any suggestion to solve it is welcome.

(link to screenshot: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...mhRQmVwaTZqNjQ)
Attached Images
File Type: png power_limit.png (943.1 KB, 135 views)

Last edited by flazoon; 10-19-2017 at 11:54 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-19-2017, 12:48 PM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,100
POST ID # = 923838
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

This is deliberate behavior built into the Corsair One to prevent overheating not just the CPU, but surface components of the motherboard (VRMs, for example) as well.
__________________
Corsair DIY & Gaming Systems Architect
Product Manager for Cooling


Please do not send private messages requesting tech support or trouble shooting. You can create a thread and let the solution to your issue be visible to everyone, or alternatively, work directly with tech support by contacting them here.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-19-2017, 01:16 PM
flazoon flazoon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 923852
flazoon Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
This is deliberate behavior built into the Corsair One to prevent overheating not just the CPU, but surface components of the motherboard (VRMs, for example) as well.
Thank you Dustin, I understand this is a built-in protection, I'm just wondering if others experience this as well on their C1 and if this is expected to happen on stock settings. I was able to successfully run these benchmarks on other systems without seeing this (I know it's not apples to apples, but still...).

So, C1 owners who ran these kind of tests (OCCT, Prime95 etc.) please share your experience.

Edit: I wouldn't want to dismiss this issue too easily. C1 is supposed to be a high-end gaming PC and these tests should IMO run clean, without any CPU throttling on stock setup. I'd like to understand if this is specific to my unit or is this is a C1/7700K thing in general.

Last edited by flazoon; 10-19-2017 at 02:44 PM. Reason: replaced "benchmark" with "test"
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-20-2017, 04:19 PM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,100
POST ID # = 923946
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

It's C1 in general. It's how the processor is actually supposed to work, and performs exactly in line with stock i7-7700K processors.

The processor isn't strictly "throttling" either; the CPU is specced to run at a base clock of 4.2GHz, turbo-ing up to 4.5GHz on a single core when thermals and power consumption permit. "Throttling" would be the processor running at 3GHz or 800MHz because it's overheating or drawing too much power, and that's not what's going on at all.
__________________
Corsair DIY & Gaming Systems Architect
Product Manager for Cooling


Please do not send private messages requesting tech support or trouble shooting. You can create a thread and let the solution to your issue be visible to everyone, or alternatively, work directly with tech support by contacting them here.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-23-2017, 04:12 PM
flazoon flazoon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 924255
flazoon Reputation: 10
Default

An update on this for whoever's interested, I was able to run the OCCT small data set stress test without hitting any kind of throttling by increasing Turbo Boost Power Max by 10W (from default 95W to 105W) together with a .80mV undervolt. CPU got to a maximum of 91C during the test.

I'm still curious how other C1s perform in these kind of tests.

Last edited by flazoon; 10-23-2017 at 04:13 PM. Reason: added CPU max temp during test
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.