The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2018, 03:36 AM
Dylan Gunner Dylan Gunner is offline
Registered User
Dylan Gunner's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 934287
Dylan Gunner Reputation: 10
Sad ST100 RGB Problems

I recently received a ST100 RGB as a gift to go along with my Strafe RGB, Scimitar RGB, and Void Wireless headset and so far I loved all my Corsair products but this ST100 is a nightmare that won't respond to any commands in CUE (reinstalled CUE 4 times) it stays on its default rainbow mode even though all other devices follow the lighting link. If I download the ST100s firmware it will work and follow lighting link for a few minutes at best before reverting back to default and not changing anymore. Also when I plug my Void Wireless dongle in the St100 port it makes sounds and my mic to other people garbled and choppy. I was wondering if anyone else has this problem and if they know how to solve it since corsairs support link on the ST100 page doesn't work and neither does the support ticket for its part number. I love corsair and hopefully a software update or rma will fix this problem.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-08-2018, 11:22 AM
jjs026 jjs026 is offline
Registered User
jjs026's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 934332
jjs026 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan Gunner View Post
I recently received a ST100 RGB as a gift to go along with my Strafe RGB, Scimitar RGB, and Void Wireless headset and so far I loved all my Corsair products but this ST100 is a nightmare that won't respond to any commands in CUE (reinstalled CUE 4 times) it stays on its default rainbow mode even though all other devices follow the lighting link. If I download the ST100s firmware it will work and follow lighting link for a few minutes at best before reverting back to default and not changing anymore. Also when I plug my Void Wireless dongle in the St100 port it makes sounds and my mic to other people garbled and choppy. I was wondering if anyone else has this problem and if they know how to solve it since corsairs support link on the ST100 page doesn't work and neither does the support ticket for its part number. I love corsair and hopefully a software update or rma will fix this problem.
This product is problematic, and unfortunately...Corsair support just goes immediately to replacement rather than passing on our information to the experts. We'll just have to do the best we can here.

First off, and as a tech professional, there isn't anything wrong with your ST100 hardware-wise if it's connecting via USB and lighting up. I began noticing problems with mine immediately as well, and these problems could be fixed with the proper drivers and firmware if they ever cared to update it.

I had similar problems as you. However, I downloaded the corsair utility engine, updated it, and was able to find some tweaks. I couldn't get the color RED to stay on single...but I could get it to pulse red (good enough, I guess). And the RGB rainbow seems to be the default setting UNTIL after you log completely in with Windows 10. (Honestly guys, we can do better than this.) I moved my VOID dongle back over to the PC rather than on the ST100, and the headset works totally fine.

However, the biggest problem for me came with gaming. If I start a gaming session (say on Destiny or Overwatch), after about 15 minutes the ST100 just cuts out and starts reconnecting/disconnecting every 15 secs. Seems to be power draw related, as these games are graphically intensive. But I can't be sure. I've tried multiple USB ports, multiple USB 3.0 to micro cables, and multiple computers. All produce the same result.

Add to it the fact, like you said, there isn't even a section in the support categories for this product...means that its either so new that they haven't gotten to adding it yet, or that it doesn't sell well enough to merit its own section, or worse...that they just DGAF.

Either way, I'm pretty close to being permanently disappointed in Corsair products because of this. Which is a shame, bc I've been pretty exclusive on my Corsair peripherals for a number of years now. If any rep from Corsair reads this, the ST100 is currently a very disappointing product, and we need you guys to properly support it.

Last edited by jjs026; 01-08-2018 at 11:25 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-10-2018, 07:08 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 934693
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

@Dylan Gunner

Try a different USB 3.1 port that is controlled by the Intel chipset and see whether that helps.

@jjs026
Make sure the zones are selected when assigning a solid/static colour.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-11-2018, 01:12 PM
jjs026 jjs026 is offline
Registered User
jjs026's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 934913
jjs026 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Toasted. I'll check it out again. In your experience, is there any complications regarding using 3.0 ports instead of 3.1 ports?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-12-2018, 08:38 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 935016
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Not that i am aware of. Most CUE related issues e.g. Device not detected, device disconnecting, effects not running are usually resolved when the device is plugged into a AMD/Intel controlled port rather than a third party one.

If that is not available, you can try and update the drivers for the third party chipset and see whether that helps.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-14-2018, 12:57 PM
jjs026 jjs026 is offline
Registered User
jjs026's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 935398
jjs026 Reputation: 10
Default

Yep, you were definitely right about checking the zones. That's so weird that they all default to Off when choosing static color. But highlighting all of the zones in the picture turned them all on. So that fixed that problem,well done and thank you!

I'm still having trouble with power issues though. It seems to be failing with code 1167 in the logs. It'll shut down and then continuously try to start up again but never make a good connection.

I talked with support but wasn't able to fix the issue. I have the most updated BIOS and chipset drivers for my mobo, windows claims USB controller drivers are the best. I've enabled USB legacy support, disabled XHCI handoff, disabled USB selective suspend. Still having the issue though. Just completely cuts out and error codes 1167.

Since you nailed the other one, thought I'd ask if you had any other ideas?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-15-2018, 08:10 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 935544
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

I don't have a reference list for the error codes, so i'm not sure what 1167 means. Have you tried the stand on another computer? Does it work fine? Tried a different cable?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-17-2018, 08:10 PM
jjs026 jjs026 is offline
Registered User
jjs026's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 935996
jjs026 Reputation: 10
Default

Alright, it took while working with Corsair support, but I wanted to come back here and post some results here in case anyone else had problems with the ST100.

Code 1167 is a USB related error code.

The ST100, for whatever reason, seems to work best with only partial USB initialization, for me that meant going into the BIOS and enabling Fast Boot.
However, I can't solely place a fix on that alone, because I also tweaked other settings at the behest of Corsair support. They are as follows:
-Enable USB legacy support within the BIOS
-Disable XHCI handoff within the BIOS
-Disable USB Selective Suspend, located within the Advanced Power Options of the Windows Control Panel

Hope this helps anyone having issues with this. Best of luck!
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-24-2018, 06:57 PM
GingerSnaps GingerSnaps is offline
Registered User
GingerSnaps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 965323
GingerSnaps Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjs026 View Post
Alright, it took while working with Corsair support, but I wanted to come back here and post some results here in case anyone else had problems with the ST100.

Code 1167 is a USB related error code.

The ST100, for whatever reason, seems to work best with only partial USB initialization, for me that meant going into the BIOS and enabling Fast Boot.
However, I can't solely place a fix on that alone, because I also tweaked other settings at the behest of Corsair support. They are as follows:
-Enable USB legacy support within the BIOS
-Disable XHCI handoff within the BIOS
-Disable USB Selective Suspend, located within the Advanced Power Options of the Windows Control Panel

Hope this helps anyone having issues with this. Best of luck!
So did this also fix the wireless headset USB dongle in the ST100 Base or does that still not work?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 10-22-2018, 04:20 PM
Dewy Dewy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 977555
Dewy Reputation: 10
Default

Uh i have a problem with it being wayyy to loud when i plug in my own headset 2% volume is still too loud
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 08-08-2019, 12:24 AM
CPLWeeks CPLWeeks is offline
Registered User
CPLWeeks's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1014052
CPLWeeks Reputation: 10
Default Paperweight

I experienced all of the same issues with this device. Unfortunately, I ultimately decided to unplug it and use it as a headset stand for my Void Pro.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.