The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2019, 05:47 PM
yovko82 yovko82 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1007287
yovko82 Reputation: 10
Default Again MP510 and WIndows 7 x64

Hello Corsair,
I bought Force MP510 NVMe...but.....

I find it little shame because of no driver for your products.
My motherboard is Asrock AB350M, which provides full support for Windows 7 x64 version. And is not only my board(other brands again have supprort for this windows verison too.

So the question is: Why you don`t have a driver for NVMe for win 7 x64 ? I`m not the only one that want to install that windows on this NVMe drive, but the drive is not recognize by the install. Also no driver to be "loaded" by option "Load driver" (for that driver i`m talking about) It`s awesome SSD, but no support at all. Only windows 10 has native support for NVMe at the installation, but this is some kind of "generic" support.
I found that Samsung has drivers, Intel have drivers, even OCZ have drivers, other brands too. Why Corsair(one of the leaders) don`t ?

Please consider this as a BIG mistake and please fix that mistake. You will make many many users happy !

Last edited by yovko82; 06-08-2019 at 02:16 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-08-2019, 03:44 AM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 102
POST ID # = 1007335
Yemble Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yovko82 View Post
Hello Corsair,
I bought Force MP510 NVMe...but.....

I find it little shame because of no driver for your products.
My motherboard is Asrock AB350M, which provides full support for Windows 7 x64 version. And is not only my board(other brands again have supprort for this windows verison too.

So the question is: Why you don`t have a driver for NVMe for win 7 x64 ? I`m not the only one that want to install that windows on this NVMe drive, but the drive is not recognize by the install. Also no driver to be "loaded" by option "Load driver" (for that driver i`m talking about) It`s awesome SSD, but no support at all. Only windows 10 has native support for NVMe at the installation, but this is some kind of "generic" support.
I found that Samsung has drivers, Intel have drivers, even OCZ have drivers, other brands too. Why Corsair(one of the leaders) don`t ?

Please consider this as a BIG mistake and please fix that mistake. You will make many many users happy !
Don't forget that the Corsair 510 series are built to a reference design based around a Phison E12 controller (https://www.anandtech.com/show/13080...roller-preview). Other vendors, like Silicon Power, use the same reference design. Essentially this is a form of badge engineering. The point is, that if anyone were to produce specific drivers, then it would be Phison rather than Corsair... but they obviously don't see the need.

On Windows 10, both the native Microsoft AHCI and Intel RST drivers can be used to control these devices. Sorry to say this, but Windows 7 is obsolete. If it's native AHCI drivers cannot see the 510, then I suggest that you try the Intel RST drivers.

Last edited by Yemble; 06-08-2019 at 03:52 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-08-2019, 04:44 AM
yovko82 yovko82 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1007338
yovko82 Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, then i don`t get what thew Win7 wants in this case ?

AHCI driver to "Load", or driver for Phison ?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-08-2019, 05:54 AM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 102
POST ID # = 1007339
Yemble Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yovko82 View Post
Ok, then i don`t get what thew Win7 wants in this case ?

AHCI driver to "Load", or driver for Phison ?
There are no Phison drivers. I already suggested that you try the Intel RST drivers instead.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-08-2019, 06:45 AM
yovko82 yovko82 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1007346
yovko82 Reputation: 10
Default

Again nothing... i try to "Load driver", select folder with Intel RST downloaded from site.

Nothing found for my hardware.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/dow...?product=55005
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-08-2019, 09:08 AM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 102
POST ID # = 1007352
Yemble Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yovko82 View Post
Again nothing... i try to "Load driver", select folder with Intel RST downloaded from site.

Nothing found for my hardware.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/dow...?product=55005
The RST drivers are generic, designed for PC RAID systems on ANY Intel based motherboards, but they can also support single AHCI drives. Depending upon your BIOS, you may need to enable Intel RST drive support first, especially if the mobo is recent. However, if this is an AMD board, then you may be out of luck.

Is the MP510 actually visible in your AsRock BIOS? If not, then you will need to address that issue first?

Why are you still using Windows 7, when Windows 10 has been around for four years now? IMHO, you seem to be making life unnecessarily difficult for yourself...

Last edited by Yemble; 06-08-2019 at 09:31 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-08-2019, 10:42 AM
yovko82 yovko82 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1007362
yovko82 Reputation: 10
Default

It`s visible in bios, i even install Windows 7 on HDD, then now i see the drive , even can copy and make tests on it. 3081 Mb/s read speed :)

And yes, AM4 board is.

SO i think the problem is not the drive itself, but some driver for Motherboard controller.

When i try to install those updates MSU.... it show me that they are already installed....
Full mess!

Last edited by yovko82; 06-08-2019 at 11:00 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-08-2019, 12:16 PM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 102
POST ID # = 1007371
Yemble Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yovko82 View Post
It`s visible in bios, i even install Windows 7 on HDD, then now i see the drive , even can copy and make tests on it. 3081 Mb/s read speed :)

And yes, AM4 board is.

SO i think the problem is not the drive itself, but some driver for Motherboard controller.

When i try to install those updates MSU.... it show me that they are already installed....
Full mess!
At least you seem to be making some progress now

I can't remember if Windows 7 automatically recognises SSD drives properly, or whether it assumes HDD for new drives. That feature may have come in with Windows 8. It's worth checking that out, because you will want TRIM to be working for the MP510.

Now that you can see it, it should be possible to make it bootable via a partitioning program, such as MiniTool, then clone your HDD Windows installation.

Last edited by Yemble; 06-08-2019 at 12:22 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-08-2019, 01:11 PM
yovko82 yovko82 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1007376
yovko82 Reputation: 10
Default

AOMEI backupper do the job
Now i`m booting from the NVMe :)
Hooray !
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-08-2019, 01:26 PM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 102
POST ID # = 1007377
Yemble Reputation: 8
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by yovko82 View Post
aomei backupper do the job
now i`m booting from the nvme :)
hooray !
Excellent !

Last edited by Yemble; 06-08-2019 at 01:28 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-08-2019, 02:50 PM
yovko82 yovko82 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1007392
yovko82 Reputation: 10
Default

Thnks for your time.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.