The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2018, 03:39 PM
uk_mal uk_mal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 971327
uk_mal Reputation: 10
Default RAM comatibility issues - same model number, different version

I've got 4 x 8GB sticks of Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000 MHz that, until recently were all being detected fine. Recently I had to RMA two sticks as I was getting sporadic crashes that turned out to be due to faulty RAM. I now have two original sticks, and two new sticks

After getting my replacement back, I'm having real problems getting my BIOS / Windows to see it. Key points:
  • BIOS and Windows doesn't usually see the RAM, however CPU-Z does see it
  • The BIOS will see the RAM if I turn the PC off by holding the power button. When I switch it on, I get an "Overclocking failed" message, and if I enter the BIOS from there, all four stick show up. However, if I save settings and restart, the two new sticks stop showing up again.
  • I've tried resetting the BIOS by restoring defaults from within the BIOS itself, as well as removing the CMOS battery, neither of which have solved the problem
  • Each stick works fine on its own
  • Each pair (ie new sticks or original sticks) work fine when used together without the other pair. However, if I add the second pair they are not recognised.

I've noticed that the version written on the sticks themselves are slightly different - one is 4.xx and the newer sticks are 5.xx (I don't remember the exact versions, sorry). Could that be it? Are the two sets incompatible, despite having exactly the same model number?

PC specs
- Asus x99-a II motherboard
- i7 6900K
- 32 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000 MHz (8GB x 4)
- IChill Geforce 1080

Last edited by Wired; 09-03-2018 at 11:21 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-03-2018, 11:22 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 971357
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uk_mal View Post
I've noticed that the version written on the sticks themselves are slightly different - one is 4.xx and the newer sticks are 5.xx (I don't remember the exact versions, sorry). Could that be it?
Yes, it's never recommended to mix modules from different kits.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.