The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #76  
Old 02-24-2004, 07:01 PM
kreator kreator is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 107329
kreator Reputation: 10
Default

Hi to everyone as I have just registered here, but been reading the ongoing 8KNXP saga since it began. BTW I am not overclocking so here goes anyway.

I am running a rev1 8KNXP at 2-2-2-5 and top performance enabled with bios F9. I have absolutely no problems at all and it is totally stable.
There is one catch though, the memory I am using is Corsair 3200 LLPT XMS 3205v1.1 twinx 1024mb 2-2-2-6. I recently went up to 2GB and thats where my problems started.

I ordered the exact same memory but now it seems this memory is rated 2-3-2-6 XMS3205v1.2. Guess what? Machine not posting or even beeping at all. Must be the something to do with having 4 blocks of 512 memory? OK so take out the older 2-2-2-6 memory and still no post. Hmmmmm right slacken timings back to 2-3-3-6 disable top performance and machine fires up again. Mem test shows no errors so installed the quicker memory as well and machine still ok, no errors.

So what I want to know is where this "older" quicker memory has gone because none of my suppliers have it anymore they only have the new stuff which works in a fashion. To be quite honest I have ditched the 1 gig of the new type and am just running with the older 1 gig as the machine is happier and loads quicker than having 2 gig at slower latencies. Any help Ram Guy would be appreciated and yes I have tried a second pair of the new memory that I "borrowed " from a friend and got the same results so its not bad memory. Why get rid of memory that has tighter latencies? It works great in my pc and bios F9. Cheers...
Reply With Quote


  #77  
Old 02-24-2004, 10:03 PM
Disappointed Disappointed is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 72
POST ID # = 107365
Disappointed Reputation: 10
Default 3200ll rev 1.1

Kreator,

You need to buy another pair of the nice new ram, and sell me that old obsolete stuff. Quick, before you change your mind.
Reply With Quote


  #78  
Old 02-25-2004, 01:26 PM
kreator kreator is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 107446
kreator Reputation: 10
Default

Haha right ok Disappointed, I was actually going to do that just to get the machine upto 2 gigs in memory and have the same type of new Corsair in it.

But seriously the machine runs so much better with just 1 gig of this 2-2-2-6 Corsair. I cannot even enable top performance without massive problems and slackening off the timings totally with the other stuff.

When I can get it to boot and no errors, thats with the setting 2-3-3-6 and top performance off, even with 2 gig yes I repeat 2 gig of this newer lot, games like UT2004 and COD stutter and arn't as smooth as just 1 gig of the really quick Corsair running 2-2-2-5 and top performance on!! I was surprised just how much of a difference it made actually.

I have been to the Corsair website and the memory I am referring to is no longer listed. I know it seems a bit petty but I have seen what this board is capable of.
Reply With Quote


  #79  
Old 02-25-2004, 01:41 PM
kreator kreator is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 107448
kreator Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry I forgot to mention the rest of my rig.

8KNXP rev 1 bios F9
Pentium 3.2 800FSB HT
1 GIG TwinX Corsair (2-2-2-6 XMS 3205 v1.1) running at 2-2-2-5, +.2v and Top Performance enabled.
Radeon XT Pro 256MB.
2 Raptor drives in Raid ICH 5R.

*I have only been able to do this with the new F9 bios*

Hope this helps cos I am happy with the machine finally. Wouldn't mind another gig though of this unobtainable memory.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair XMS Compatibility with ASUS K8V Deluxe XaypocK Memory 1 05-27-2004 04:09 PM
Corsair XMS Memory Chip List mfjonny Overclocking and Benchmarking 2 02-26-2004 01:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.