The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-21-2017, 12:46 AM
Charixfox Charixfox is offline
Doer of Things and Stuff
Charixfox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 254
POST ID # = 912724
Charixfox Reputation: 19
Default

At least you didn't ask why they didn't make it so the fan LEDs would daisy chain to the next fan. Just thinking about what would happen if they tried that makes me cringe.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 10-05-2017, 07:42 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,050
POST ID # = 922243
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lekoo View Post
Hello,

I want to connect 8 corsair hd fans couple of them are 120mm and couple are 140mm. I have corsair fan hubs of course. I also have corsair lighting node pro and corsair commander pro.

Is there anyone who connect 6+ corsair fans via these 3 corsair devices and if yes how should I do this?

I was thinking to connect corsair hub (6fans) and lighting node pro to lighting node pro hub and then in commander pro to connect lighting node pro hub which has (6fan hub and led strips) and another fan hub as I need 2 fan hub for 8 fan connection.

What do you guys think ?
if you still need help on this. here is how mine is set up..


using PWM splitters diagram



my current set up


Last edited by Zotty; 02-08-2018 at 08:12 AM. Reason: Diagram update
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 02-08-2018, 06:41 AM
Yetti Yetti is offline
Registered User
Yetti's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 939665
Yetti Reputation: 10
Haha!

Hi. I notice in yr diagram for fan speed control you are connecting some of your fans to motherboard fan headers...may I suggest a modification to your setup. You can use 2/3/or 4 way splitter cables in the Commander Pro as long as all the fans don't draw more than 4.5 amps in total..see here for a 3 way. https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F132480710151

The advantage of doing it this way is that you get RPM read outs of all your fans.. or should I say groups of fans on each fan splitter.. via the Corsair Link software. This is far more convenient for seeing your fan speeds, as you see all your fan speeds in one place on one piece of software. To see the fan speed of the fans connected to the motherboard headers you would require another piece of software to be open on your desktop.

Secondly, by using fan cable splitters you can set up fan curves for each group of fans based on CPU GPU or motherboard temperature sensors.

When connecting fans to a splitter I suggest you only use identical fans in that group as otherwise the commander Pro will get confused about the fan speeds and will not report them correctly and will not control the fan speed correctly. I have 3 Corsair LL120s fans set up on one splitter and they work fine. I have three other fans non pwm so they are voltage controlled 3-pin connector type connected separately to individual channels on the commander Pro... and even though they're not pwm fans the commander Pro controls their speed perfectly. I also have a Corsair H45 cooler fan connected to the commander pro which means I can control the fan speed of that too. You can even connect the pump for the h45 into the commander Pro and it will control the speed of that... but this is not recommended by Corsair as they say it should always run at full speed which is about 4000 RPM... it's a lot quieter at 3000 or two and a half thousand RPM and actually doesn't produce any better cooling after I tested it... also the fan on the h45 doesn't need to go above 1000 RPM because again doesn't produce any more cooling... believe it or not in my pc system at least.

After some fine tuning work with fan curves my case is super quiet yet my AMD FX 3850 CPU does not go above 35 degrees and my ASUS GTX 1060 does not go above 65 degrees even on the heaviest load... for instance running pass mark 3D graphics test and CPU test.

Here is a setup using fan splitter cables. http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=172785

I hope this helps

Last edited by Yetti; 02-08-2018 at 07:03 AM. Reason: Link to alternative setup added
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 02-08-2018, 07:06 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,050
POST ID # = 939667
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

old thread dude....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yetti View Post
I hope this helps
Hi bud.. that was an old diagram (and have now updated it ;) ).... system has changed somewhat in the 8 months since this thread was active.




Here is a help thread I did that covers most link Questions/Products/Wiring diagrams etc.. including the use of splitter's and the CoPro's limitations ;)...

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880

It's also in my signature below along with DevBikers Hydro Cooler Guide and a couple of simple RGB case mods I did.. last link is a vid to my current set up...

Last edited by Zotty; 02-08-2018 at 08:50 AM. Reason: more info added
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 02-08-2018, 08:59 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,519
POST ID # = 939679
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yetti View Post
Hi. I notice in yr diagram for fan speed control you are connecting some of your fans to motherboard fan headers...may I suggest a modification to your setup. You can use 2/3/or 4 way splitter cables in the Commander Pro as long as all the fans don't draw more than 4.5 amps in total..see here for a 3 way. https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F132480710151
That's actually not entirely accurate.
Can you use splitters? Yes.
Is there a 4.5A total limit on the Commander Pro? Yes. But there is also a 1A limit on each fan header. So you must be aware of the current draw of each fan, each header and the Commander Pro over all.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 02-08-2018, 09:14 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,050
POST ID # = 939680
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Is there a 4.5A total limit on the Commander Pro? Yes. But there is also a 1A limit on each fan header. So you must be aware of the current draw of each fan, each header and the Commander Pro over all.
Yup Yup :)..

number 18. in the Faq Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty in the Faq Thread View Post
18. Not Officially supported but there is no reason why You can not use Fan header Splitter cables on the Commander Pro (note there is a 1A limitation per fan header and a 4.5A limitation for the entire unit. so do your Math! Also see Below Fan Specifications for power Draw etc).

Last edited by Zotty; 02-08-2018 at 09:17 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 02-08-2018, 10:32 AM
Yetti Yetti is offline
Registered User
Yetti's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 939697
Yetti Reputation: 10
Default

Zotty thx for the link and all yr tutorials... Still 18th in FAQs..pretty popular question then.

DevB thx for the reminder about the 1amp limit.

My aim in adding information to this old thread is if anyone read it to get the information they need I was just trying to point out it's a pretty good idea to use splitters.. obviously to the rules that we've laid out with 4.5 and 1 amp imits.. as it releases fan control outlet headers on the commander pro which can be very useful if you have a lot of fans.... cheers all
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 09-15-2019, 02:48 AM
elric75 elric75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 108
POST ID # = 1018241
elric75 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi

I plan to have

3xLL120 on aio
3xLL120 on front
1xLL140 on exhaust.
1 corsair RGB fan strip

So,
4 fans on the commander for RPM
3 fans on the AIO pump

7 RGB + 1 rgb strip

What is the best way for RGB connection?

I currently have one commander and one fan led hub, if I understand it well I will have to put an extra hub AND a node for the led strip? No way to make it more simple?

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 09-15-2019, 04:19 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,050
POST ID # = 1018245
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Which Cooler is it?.... if its a platinum then you dont need to worry about the fans on that as the AIO is self contained.. control both RGB and RPM via iCUE.....
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 09-15-2019, 04:47 AM
elric75 elric75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 108
POST ID # = 1018247
elric75 Reputation: 10
Default

It's a h150i and there is no RGB header on it I can just plug the fan on it
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 09-15-2019, 06:59 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,050
POST ID # = 1018258
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

ok.. i have this cooler my self.

you have 2 options for rgb control and the 7th fan.

1. use a 2nd rgb fan led hub for it

2. check out Pirate Dog Tech and their Corsair RGB Fan Splitter..
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 09-15-2019, 07:51 AM
elric75 elric75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 108
POST ID # = 1018262
elric75 Reputation: 10
Default

which one is the splitter on it ? Thanks :)

But for the rpm of the fans I will need another commander or can I use à splitter for two or three fans ?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
corsair hd fans

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.