The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 95 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-25-2012, 02:10 PM
dark_sat dark_sat is offline
Registered User
dark_sat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Santa Rosa, Brazil
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 580622
dark_sat Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattalones View Post
Man, dark_sat, you are unnecessarily feisty! . . . Chill pill.

Moving on, I researched the drives from mid-09', and Apple released a lot with SATA I interfaces. I know that doesn't directly address this specific issue, but negotiation also sometimes results from plugging a slower interfaced drive to a wider bottleneck (i.e. SATA x drive into a SATA x + a plug).

I think the SSD that came with my MBP is SATA I based on many people having the same issue and having it go away after swapping the stock SSD for a newer one. Try checking the interface on the drive. If it's SATA I, that's an issue. If it's at least SATA II, then you'll have checked off yet another possibility.

Also, the comment in this video shows that someone with an ******** SSD got 3gbps on a MBP 5,5 from shutting down and starting back up, rather than restarting. It didn't work for me, but it's worth a try.
Man, check the thread. FORCE 3: SATA 3. Also, older Apple SSD's are locked to SATA I, like their standard Hard Drives.

Last edited by Wired; 05-25-2012 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 06-18-2012, 03:40 PM
dark_sat dark_sat is offline
Registered User
dark_sat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Santa Rosa, Brazil
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 585214
dark_sat Reputation: 10
Default

There was released a new firmware for SATA 3 SSD's, version 5.02.

It addresses some link negotiation issues, but they do not explain it very well. Could someone update or that have already updated the firmware check if it negotiated speed correctly?

Link for firmwares: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/forumdisplay.php?f=206
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 06-19-2012, 05:30 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 585440
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am sorry but this Update will not address that issue with your MAC that we are aware of. But you are welcome to try it however, if your system is running and you do not have any other problems I would leave the firmware out of the equation.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 05-07-2013, 04:02 AM
jdiaz9 jdiaz9 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 651598
jdiaz9 Reputation: 10
Default Solution

I have a solution: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthre...d=1#post651597

It worked for me. Give it a try.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
force 3, macbook pro, sata, ssd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.