The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 83 votes, 4.87 average. Display Modes
  #1231  
Old 09-25-2017, 09:22 AM
WhiskeyOmega WhiskeyOmega is offline
Registered User
WhiskeyOmega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 90
POST ID # = 921117
WhiskeyOmega Reputation: 10
Default

Ok I have some bad news. After a few days of having SIV running, the black screen issue came back which lead me to think it wasnt SIV however upon not running it over night Ive not had one black screen issue which normally happens at some point during the night leading me to a hard reset when i goto the pc in the morning. Im glad I found the cause of my issue as it seems to effect alot of x79 owners but annoyed its still there in SIV like it was with Corsair link.


  #1232  
Old 09-25-2017, 09:38 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 921118
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea Try the V378.92 (r378_78) NVidia drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyOmega View Post
Im glad I found the cause of my issue as it seems to effect alot of x79 owners but annoyed its still there in SIV.
I don't get it on this X79 system which has 4 x GTX 980, but I am still using the V378.92 (r378_78) NVidia drivers as there seemed to be issues with later drivers.


  #1233  
Old 09-25-2017, 10:05 AM
WhiskeyOmega WhiskeyOmega is offline
Registered User
WhiskeyOmega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 90
POST ID # = 921119
WhiskeyOmega Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
I don't get it on this X79 system which has 4 x GTX 980, but I am still using the V378.92 (r378_78) NVidia drivers as there seemed to be issues with later drivers.
I'd rather not run older drivers as Im playing games like Project cars 2.
Where does the problem lie . It seems to be in a circle where Nvidia are blaming other software (Link/SIV) and Other software is blaming Nvidia.

The fact is if I have a problem and the problem disappears when I close a program. occam's razor should state the problem lies with that program


  #1234  
Old 09-25-2017, 10:39 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 921125
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Does the issue go away with the V378.92 (r378_78) NVidia drivers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyOmega View Post
It seems to be in a circle where NVidia are blaming other software (Link/SIV) and Other software is blaming NVidia.
You may be, but I am not as I don't have enough information to figure out where the issue is.

You should run with the V378.92 (r378_78) NVidia drivers for a while and if the issue goes away then clearly it's related to the later drivers.


  #1235  
Old 09-26-2017, 11:03 PM
5kft 5kft is offline
Registered User
5kft's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 921302
5kft Reputation: 17
Exclamation serious problems with SIV and CLCP F/W 0.3.153

Hi Ray, unfortunately CLCP F/W 0.3.153 seems to break some things with CLCP support in SIV.

My CLCP fan curves and operation are really bizarre now. E.g., I can try to set a constant 800 RPM in a curve and most of the time the fans drop to 512 and then shut off, but then sometimes they pop up to 800 RPM, just to drop to 512 and shut off again.

When I set custom curves in CL 4.9.0.57 they seem to work okay.

Also, CLCP temperature sensor reporting is now intermittent in SIV. Sometimes they'll report 0.0 C, and sometimes they will work. I don't see a pattern except that in general it's really flakey across all the temperature sensors. They appear to report fine in CL 4.9.0.57 (reasonable values and no zero temperatures reported).

Perhaps they changed something in the CLCP protocol/behavior for F/W 0.3.153?

Let me know if you need me to capture anything for you.

EDIT: After uninstalling CL 4.9.0.57 and rebooting SIV curves and sensors all seems to work again. So I guess nevermind...?

Last edited by 5kft; 09-27-2017 at 02:04 AM.


  #1236  
Old 09-27-2017, 07:20 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 921326
red-ray Reputation: 81
Angry CL 4.9.0.57 has a planned regression which totally breaks the CLCP locking

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5kft View Post
Perhaps they changed something in the CLCP protocol/behavior for F/W 0.3.153?
No and Yes, CL 4.9.0.57 has a planned regression which totally breaks the CLCP locking , see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=921287

I was made aware this was planned on Wed 14-Jun-2017 @ 23:12, but this information was NDA. Since then I have been trying to work with Corsair to come up with a locking regime that would work for all of CL 4.9 + SIV + AIDA64 + HWiNFO , but all the solutions I proposed have been declined .


  #1237  
Old 09-27-2017, 07:29 AM
WhiskeyOmega WhiskeyOmega is offline
Registered User
WhiskeyOmega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 90
POST ID # = 921327
WhiskeyOmega Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
You may be, but I am not as I don't have enough information to figure out where the issue is.

You should run with the V378.92 (r378_78) NVidia drivers for a while and if the issue goes away then clearly it's related to the later drivers.
Tried the driver and thought it worked after about 5 hours gaming and switched the monitor on this morning to a working screen however went out for an hour only to come back to a black screen.


  #1238  
Old 09-27-2017, 07:31 AM
SpeedyV SpeedyV is offline
Registered User
SpeedyV's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 417
POST ID # = 921328
SpeedyV Reputation: 41
Default Why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
No and Yes, CL 4.9.0.57 has a planned regression which totally breaks the CLCP locking , see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=921287

I was made aware this was planned on Wed 14-Jun-2017 @ 23:12, but this information was NDA. Since then I have been trying to work with Corsair to come up with a locking regime that would work for all of CL 4.9 + SIV + AIDA64 + HWiNFO , but all the solutions I proposed have been declined .
May I ask why this regression was planned and intentional? I recall you fought long and hard to get Corsair to use the proper locking. Why did they intentionally "break" the locking?


  #1239  
Old 09-27-2017, 07:36 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 921329
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea Maybe one of the GTX 970 is failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyOmega View Post
Tried the driver and thought it worked after about 5 hours gaming and switched the monitor on this morning to a working screen however went out for an hour only to come back to a black screen.
Good, I am starting to wonder if one of the GTX 970 is failing. Can you try running with just one GPU installed at a time and see if the issue goes away?

Have any crash dump files been generated? If not make sure Windows is setup to generate a full dump and if they have analyse them.

As you get this issue with both CL4 and SIV I can't see how this can be a SIV issue, especially so as I don't get them on this X79 system with 4 x GTX 980.


  #1240  
Old 09-27-2017, 07:41 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 921331
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow You need to ask Corsair

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyV View Post
May I ask why this regression was planned and intentional? I recall you fought long and hard to get Corsair to use the proper locking. Why did they intentionally "break" the locking?
You need to ask Corsair as what was said by Corsair in the e-mails is covered by my NDA.


  #1241  
Old 09-27-2017, 08:03 AM
SpeedyV SpeedyV is offline
Registered User
SpeedyV's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 417
POST ID # = 921333
SpeedyV Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
You need to ask Corsair as what was said by Corsair in the e-mails is covered by my NDA.
Understood. Thanks. If the reason is protected under an NDA I doubt they will tell me but I guess it can't hurt to ask. So Corsair - Why did you release a planned regression that breaks the access locks?


  #1242  
Old 09-27-2017, 10:11 AM
WhiskeyOmega WhiskeyOmega is offline
Registered User
WhiskeyOmega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 90
POST ID # = 921350
WhiskeyOmega Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Good, I am starting to wonder if one of the GTX 970 is failing. Can you try running with just one GPU installed at a time and see if the issue goes away?

Have any crash dump files been generated? If not make sure Windows is setup to generate a full dump and if they have analyse them.

As you get this issue with both CL4 and SIV I can't see how this can be a SIV issue, especially so as I don't get them on this X79 system with 4 x GTX 980.
Sorry. That system specs was very old ive now updated them. I have 1 1080ti installed at the moment. I have now setup full windows dumps. The issue I get only occurs when SIV or Corsair link is running so i dont think it could be my graphics card. its more likely to be the CLCP not agreeing with my motherboard in some way.


  #1243  
Old 09-27-2017, 10:34 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 921353
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow It could be anything and we need to analyse a dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyOmega View Post
  1. Sorry. That system specs was very old ive now updated them.
  2. I have 1 1080ti installed at the moment.
  3. I have now setup full windows dumps.
  4. The issue I get only occurs when SIV or Corsair link is running so i dont think it could be my graphics card.
  5. its more likely to be the CLCP not agreeing with my motherboard in some way.
  1. You should also specify the Windows Build number and there are 5 very different W10 releases, see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Window...ersion_history.
  2. What happens if you install the GTX 970?
  3. Good, do you know how to setup WINDBG? If not see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=760776 for how to do this
  4. How many other programs have you tried? Try AIDA64 + HWiNFO64 with their monitoring panels active.
  5. Why? I have 2 x CLCP and don't get this issue on my X79 system. The CLCP driver is the M$ HID driver and far less likely to cause issues than the NVidia GPU driver. I could comment further if you attached [Link Status].
It would be helpful it you used http://forum.corsair.com/forums/misc.php?do=bbcode#list as I have.

Last edited by red-ray; 09-27-2017 at 10:43 AM. Reason: with their monitoring panels active


  #1244  
Old 09-27-2017, 11:24 AM
WhiskeyOmega WhiskeyOmega is offline
Registered User
WhiskeyOmega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 90
POST ID # = 921362
WhiskeyOmega Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
  1. You should also specify the Windows Build number and there are 5 very different W10 releases, see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Window...ersion_history.
  2. What happens if you install the GTX 970?
  3. Good, do you know how to setup WINDBG? If not see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=760776 for how to do this
  4. How many other programs have you tried? Try AIDA64 + HWiNFO64 with their monitoring panels active.
  5. Why? I have 2 x CLCP and don't get this issue on my X79 system. The CLCP driver is the M$ HID driver and far less likely to cause issues than the NVidia GPU driver. I could comment further if you attached [Link Status].
It would be helpful it you used http://forum.corsair.com/forums/misc.php?do=bbcode#list as I have.
  1. Done
  2. I no longer have the 970s sold them when I got the 1080ti
  3. Ill run SIV and get a dump
  4. I used to have Aida64 but havent tried it yet on this issue. Ill get a dump file first and then try others.
  5. I still find it strange that if i close SIV/Corsair link the issue goes.

Last edited by WhiskeyOmega; 09-27-2017 at 11:27 AM.


  #1245  
Old 09-27-2017, 12:20 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 921375
red-ray Reputation: 81
Happy SIV 5.24 Beta-08 with CLCP V0.3.153 + CLNP V0.5.104 firmware support

I have just uploaded SIV 5.24 Beta-08 which you may wish to use once you have updated to the CLCP V0.3.153 or CLNP V0.5.104 firmware.

Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png [Link Fans].png (132.4 KB, 276 views)


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.