The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 18 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2013, 10:09 AM
falz falz is offline
Registered User
falz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 654838
falz Reputation: 10
Default Ssd not detected in bios

Hi everyone.
This is a problem i believe ive encountered before but i have no memory of how i fixed it.
Basicly i turned off my computer the other day and when i came back a few days later i got the message that boot mgr was missing. I quickly realised this was because my bios wasnt detecting my ssd. From the last time i fixed it i remembered something with a cold boot or what it was called where the power had to be cut completely and doing this would make the drive pop up, which it did. the thing is if i go into the flash utility in my bios i can access all my drives and open them and see the files on them but as soon as i try booting up window it will just stuck at the windows logo, and the drive will be gone from the bios till the next cold boot.
Ive tried jumping my motherboard and updating my bios to the latest version with no results.
Any ideas?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-22-2013, 12:24 PM
Arun krishnamoo Arun krishnamoo is offline
Registered User
Arun krishnamoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 654872
Arun krishnamoo Reputation: 10
Default

Looks like I am not alone. see my post below. I got no good explanation/ solution for this.
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=118481
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-22-2013, 02:09 PM
falz falz is offline
Registered User
falz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 654897
falz Reputation: 10
Default

I did install windows on another harddrive, and just now completely random my ssd shows up among other drives when im inside windows, i can access the files aswell, but i can't seem to boot from it.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-22-2013, 03:25 PM
Incriminated Incriminated is offline
Registered user
Incriminated's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 654917
Incriminated Reputation: 10
Default

cables (power and data) needs to be checked, you didnt say you already checked those, that means not only to replug, but try different cables even if it was working before and you didnt changed that.

bios-sata-mode setting needs to be checked, you didn't say you already checked it was AHCI before and after, changing that may run into controller not finding disks MBR.

latest firmware?

which port on which controller is the SSD plugged in? tried Sata_0 on primary intel-controller, if thats default, tried a different one?

which driver do you use in windows? try if the problem persists with MSAHCI.

tried completely unplugging it for a minute? might received a power start-up peak.

did the problem persist if you unplug all other drives except the SSD? i know it shows the SSD disappearing, but please try that still.

did you used a regcleaner or changed disk-setup during the last runtime before problem appeared?

you might had the MBR not on the SSD before but on one of your HDDs, so formating or changing that disks may be the intentional cause.

you sure, no HDD contained a windows-before you installed the SSD and newly installed windows on it, because that might just updated the MBR of the HDD to boot from the SSD, that way you tell BIOS to boot (load MBR) from the HDD what then boots (starts OS) from SSD. you might not noticed that ever!!!


but really if the disk sporadically dissappear at all either the disk is mechanically defect or the cable or the sata-bus-controller or the sata-port

cross-checking those with another drive would shoot it out.


haha, well i personally would say it's the fault of the not-so-well-brand-named PSU in conjuction with the not-so-well-brand-named memory xD nevermind

Last edited by Incriminated; 05-22-2013 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-23-2013, 09:48 PM
Arun krishnamoo Arun krishnamoo is offline
Registered User
Arun krishnamoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 655202
Arun krishnamoo Reputation: 10
Default

"Incriminated" has some beef with corsair PSU?
I had my corsair 650W checked at load it is rock solid at 12V, when while increasing load, I do not see much droop
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-23-2013, 10:36 PM
Incriminated Incriminated is offline
Registered user
Incriminated's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 655209
Incriminated Reputation: 10
Default

*sshhhh* mods didnt see that yet

No, not anymore eversince i use chieftec

No really, it was just a joke, never had a corsair PSU, but seasonic is a valuable manufacturer. Just squint-eyed another corsair product. But could not be of harm to cross-check with another PSU.... just to be 100% sure. or just test it on another PC.

Last edited by Incriminated; 05-23-2013 at 10:42 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-23-2013, 10:45 PM
Arun krishnamoo Arun krishnamoo is offline
Registered User
Arun krishnamoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 655210
Arun krishnamoo Reputation: 10
Default

ha ha Got it. Peace.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
bios, missing, ssd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.