The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2017, 02:25 PM
hansmuff hansmuff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 885898
hansmuff Reputation: 10
Default A70 cooler: Future AM4 (AMD Ryzen) socket support?

Hello.

I have the magnificent A70 cooler, currently doing duty on a LGA 1155 socket (Intel 2600K). I'm planning on purchasing the AMD Ryzen chip when it comes out. It's already known that the new AM4 socket will be incompatible with FM2/3/3+ mounting brackets.

Will Corsair supply mounting brackets that let me use the A70 on AM4? I wouldn't mind paying for it. I know AMD will ship the Wraith cooler, but I believe the venerable A70 will beat the Wraith in terms of performance, or noise/performance.

Thanks for your assistance.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-19-2017, 08:44 PM
Pinscher Pinscher is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 899942
Pinscher Reputation: 10
Default

I would also purchase one of these mounts. I'm very proud of my A70.

For now i'm going to take a second AM3 mounting bracket and cut it down to fit through the A79. This will allow me to have screws that will line up perfectly to AM3 bracket supplied by the mobo manufature.

Last edited by Pinscher; 04-19-2017 at 08:51 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-19-2017, 08:55 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,282
POST ID # = 899943
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansmuff View Post
Will Corsair supply mounting brackets that let me use the A70 on AM4?
AM4 brackets are only available for the coolers listed on the Ryzen landing page. http://www.corsair.com/en-us/landing/ryzen
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-13-2017, 10:13 AM
victorfds victorfds is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 923138
victorfds Reputation: 10
Default

The A70 has the shortest clamp that can not fit into the motherboard plastic bracket. The solution was to unscrew the motherboard holder, install the cooler, and screw the screws homogenously so that the cooler is straight and firm in the CPU. hugs.
sorry for my bad english, im from Brazil.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-13-2017, 10:16 AM
victorfds victorfds is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 923140
victorfds Reputation: 10
Default

my 1600x@4,00ghz 1,395v - 50º idle and 75º fullload (im live on hot country)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-24-2019, 11:07 AM
wencelldta wencelldta is offline
Registered User
wencelldta's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 998764
wencelldta Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by victorfds View Post
my 1600x@4,00ghz 1,395v - 50º idle and 75º fullload (im live on hot country)
Hello brother, im brazilian too, how do you use the A70 Cooler with AM4 socket? Thank you
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.