The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 79 votes, 4.99 average. Display Modes
  #61  
Old 01-18-2008, 03:25 PM
ShadE87 ShadE87 is offline
Registered User
ShadE87's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 327060
ShadE87 Reputation: 10
Default

Haha...sorry I can't help myself laughing ram guy, but the situation is quite hilarious...you see, with the service active, i cannot run any video based applications, thus no benchmarks, no games! Now i can, but i can't really tell if the frequencies are lowered...
Reply With Quote


  #62  
Old 01-19-2008, 08:46 AM
Gark2001 Gark2001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 327151
Gark2001 Reputation: 10
Default

Got myself an 8800gt and a HX620W as well, suffering from the same problem.

Seems to me, without doing extensive testing, that when I'm cold booting I get the Sentinel message.
If I reboot, I still get the sentinel message.
If I power it down for 2-3 seconds and fire it right back up again there's no problem.

Like I said though, didn't do any extensive testing on the matter yet.
I'm getting normal 3dmark06 results when I don't get the error message and can play games like normal, if someone could shoot me some info as how to disable the Sentinel I could try running some benchmarks from cold boots and see how my performance is affected. If all I have to do is to install some old drivers, please shoot me the version ;)

//Sebastian
Reply With Quote


  #63  
Old 01-19-2008, 12:08 PM
ShadE87 ShadE87 is offline
Registered User
ShadE87's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 327165
ShadE87 Reputation: 10
Default

To disable the sentinel just enter services.msc in the run command and look for NVIDIA display driver service in the list there and disable it. Restart the computer afterwards. You should use some older drivers, like 167.26 (my version), otherwise just disabling the service will do no good, as the frequencies would still be lowered. Let me know how your results turn out to be.
Reply With Quote


  #64  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:22 PM
SCoopman SCoopman is offline
Registered User
SCoopman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 327450
SCoopman Reputation: 10
Default

Just want to add my experience here.

I am running a Quad Core on an ASUS P5K-E using the HX620W. I received the Sentinel messages intermittently on startup using a BFG 8800GT (512 MB) and on EVGA 8800GT Superclocked edition (512 MB).

With the EVGA card, what I noticed is that the Sentinel messages only show up during a cold boot - booting the system after the power has been disconnected from the system. Other than that the system is rock solid. I ran the system through several stability/stress tests and the voltage seems constant (using MB measurements). When the system starts without the Sentinel messages, the video card runs great.

While troubleshooting, I tried a BFG power supply and did not get the Sentinel messages. Although during my initial contact with Corsair, they recommended that I RMA the PSU, it seems clear that something else may be going on here. I am sticking with the HX620 because I know that it is a better product - I would just like to know the cause of this problem. I don't want to RMA the product only to have the same problem.
Reply With Quote


  #65  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:55 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 327788
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

To help us try to resolve these issues can you all please give me the following information about your system?

Motherboard Make/Model:
Motherboard Revision:
BIOS Revision:

Graphics Card Make/Model:
Graphics Card Revison:
Graphics Card Firmware:
Graphics Card Driver Version:

CPU:
Power Supply (please include any that you have had the issue with):
Operating System:

If you do not have all the information that is alright, just give us what you know!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #66  
Old 01-26-2008, 08:00 PM
Gark2001 Gark2001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 328272
Gark2001 Reputation: 10
Default

Here we go then, lack of replies from me is explained quite easily. While playing WoW my PSU died on me. I replaced it with a PSU from my old Antec Sonata 1 case, TruePower 380Watt. Been working without any problems, not even any Sentinel error messages.

Motherboard Make/Model: Abit KN9 Ultra
Motherboard Revision: A1
BIOS Revision: 09/04/2007-NF-MCP55-6A61JA1AC-22, "BIOS ID:22" on their site.

Graphics Card Make/Model: Inno3d 8800GT Overclock 512mb
Graphics Card Driver Version: 169.21

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Power Supply (please include any that you have had the issue with): Corsair HX620W
Operating System: Windows XP Pro SP2

Question is, do I have the guts to buy another Corsair? I loved the build quality, the noise level and the performance apart from this incompability.

//Sebastian
Reply With Quote


  #67  
Old 01-26-2008, 08:41 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 328274
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Or, you could just RMA it.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #68  
Old 01-26-2008, 09:04 PM
EliteKiller EliteKiller is offline
Registered User
EliteKiller's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 361
POST ID # = 328276
EliteKiller Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gark2001 View Post
Here we go then, lack of replies from me is explained quite easily. While playing WoW my PSU died on me. I replaced it with a PSU from my old Antec Sonata 1 case, TruePower 380Watt. Been working without any problems, not even any Sentinel error messages.

Question is, do I have the guts to buy another Corsair? I loved the build quality, the noise level and the performance apart from this incompability.

//Sebastian
When those Fuhjyyu caps in your Antec emit magic fluid and the psu fizzles, are you going to have the guts to buy another Antec? Failures happen with every product.
Reply With Quote


  #69  
Old 01-26-2008, 10:06 PM
uncned uncned is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 328281
uncned Reputation: 10
Default

Hi there. In my case, this computer ran great for a couple of weeks, then the other day I got the sentinel low power message after coming out of the low power/shutdown state. Now it's a regular occurrence. Here's my info:

Motherboard Make/Model: Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Motherboard Revision: A2
BIOS Revision: F6

Graphics Card Make/Model: PNY 8800GT 512mb
Graphics Card Firmware: 62.92.16.00.36
Graphics Card Driver Version: 169.25

CPU: Q6600
Power Supply: VX550
Operating System: Vista64 Premium

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #70  
Old 01-27-2008, 08:33 AM
ShadE87 ShadE87 is offline
Registered User
ShadE87's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 328313
ShadE87 Reputation: 10
Default

Motherboard Make/Model: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4
Motherboard Revision: rev 2.0 / A2 on CPU-Z
BIOS Revision: i know i've put F10, but on CPU-Z says it's F9

Graphics Card Make/Model: ASUS EN8800GT 512MB
Graphics Card Revision: A2
Graphics Card Firmware: (BIOS Version: 62.92.12.00.00)
Graphics Card Driver Version: Forceware 167.26)

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4 Ghz
Power Supply (please include any that you have had the issue with): Corsair vx550W
Operating System: Windows XP Professional SP2
Reply With Quote


  #71  
Old 01-27-2008, 08:59 PM
Gark2001 Gark2001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 328351
Gark2001 Reputation: 10
Default

Obviously I'm getting it exchanged for a new one, but I'm not too keen on waiting around for Corsair to figure the issue out, I want a proper PSU in my computer as fast as possible, something to flame me for?
The reason for not buying another of the same model straight away is quite obvious to me, why buy another one that's known for having issues with my Graphics Card?
I even said that I loved the build quality, everything but this little bug. I was never promoting the Antec, I was merely adding that it wasn't causing any errors issues, which it still isn't.

//Sebastian
Reply With Quote


  #72  
Old 01-27-2008, 10:01 PM
SCoopman SCoopman is offline
Registered User
SCoopman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 328355
SCoopman Reputation: 10
Default

Here is my info:

Motherboard Make/Model: ASUS P5K-E Wifi
Motherboard Revision: 1.xx
BIOS Revision:0901

Graphics Card Make/Model: EVGA e-GeForce 8800GT SC (512-P3-N802-A1)
Graphics Card Revison: ?
Graphics Card Firmware:62.92.1f.00.02
Graphics Card Driver Version: 169.28 (6.14.11.6928)

As I mentioned before, I seem to only receive the Sentinel message when power is shut down completely to system. When I do a plain OS shut down (XP SP2), the Sentinel does not appear.
Reply With Quote


  #73  
Old 01-28-2008, 12:51 AM
Modulate Modulate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 328364
Modulate Reputation: 10
Default

When I recieved this message, late last week after only owning the computer for a week I thought it wasn't going to be a big problem maybe just a driver problem. This has become like a wide spread virus, while trying to troubleshoot the whole thing I have been constantly looking all over the web and it's on like every damn tech support forum out there! This is crazy! I really hope this gets fixed fast as I just spent a fortune on this computer and to have to get another PSU adds another 150 plus adding someone to install it would just be overkill. I don't really know alot of info on this but I will throw my two bits in :

Motherboard Make/Model: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P ATX LGA775 Conroe P35 DDR2 2PCI-E16 CrossFire SATA RAID Sound GBLAN Motherboard
Motherboard Revision:
BIOS Revision:

Graphics Card Make/Model:EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800GT Superclocked 650MHZ 512MB GDDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDTV Out DIRECTX10 Video Card
Graphics Card Revison:
Graphics Card Firmware:
Graphics Card Driver Version: 169.28

CPU:Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Quad Core Processor LGA775 Kentsfield 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 8MB Retail Box
Power Supply (please include any that you have had the issue with): Corsair VX550W
Operating System: Windows XP
Reply With Quote


  #74  
Old 01-28-2008, 11:54 AM
EliteKiller EliteKiller is offline
Registered User
EliteKiller's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 361
POST ID # = 328385
EliteKiller Reputation: 10
Default

Pulled from another forum.

Quote:
Antec say they have arranged the problem and have revised units."Okay a little more info... apparently it is a timing issue, when your computer first turns on the PSU sends power down each line and then backs off waiting for the computer to start the boot process. With the G92 cards they are expecting to see this at a different time than when they are actually getting the signal and it causes them to think they are underpowered so they clock themselves back"
So in all actuality Seasonic, CWT & Enhance are going to revise their units. Any idea why NVIDIA cannot revise their own manufacturing?
Reply With Quote


  #75  
Old 01-28-2008, 09:39 PM
Modulate Modulate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 328451
Modulate Reputation: 10
Default

Well I found a temp fix until this whole thing gets resolved, I just turned my computer off for approximately 20 hours and I did this once before and the message didn't come up. My FPS is fine when I do this so this will help me at least get through the living hell of the week of work.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.