The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2019, 04:51 PM
Nissehult Nissehult is offline
Registered User
Nissehult's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1014663
Nissehult Reputation: 10
Default cooling problem with gpu block

i have custom water cooling and everything works fine except my gpu, i have checked every cable and opened the block 2-3 times to see what is the problem and everything looks fine still i getting no connection to my screens, first i started up my pc after the gpu block was installed i got 90-95c so something is very wrong, the gpu is a asus geforce rtx 2080 strix.

gpu block is Hydro X XG7 2080 strix.
the loop is reservoir > gpu > cpu > radiator > radiator > reservoir
i have no bubbles in gpu or cpu block, thermal paste and pads is correct

any tips or help should be great

Last edited by Nissehult; 08-15-2019 at 01:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2019, 03:57 PM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 154
POST ID # = 1014771
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

Hi!

Can you please share a few pictures of your whole system and a few detailed pictures of the GPU with installed XG7 water block so we can check.

How is the flow status, can you confirm that the flow indicator in the XG7 water block is spinning?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2019, 09:13 PM
Nissehult Nissehult is offline
Registered User
Nissehult's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1014791
Nissehult Reputation: 10
Default

https://imgur.com/a/jIeM97b pictures

the flow indicator is spinning but i need a new commander pro beacuse the port for reservoir on commander port have stop working didnt show up on ICUE and the commander pro got a short circuit so i need to change it and the flow status is great until commander pro died

and i did f*cked up the screws on the backside plate so a few of them are rounded beacuse i had opened the block 2-3 times
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2019, 08:40 AM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 707
POST ID # = 1014827
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Make sure you use a proper fitting screw driver as that will reduce the chances of rounding out the screws. When you removed the block was the paste covering the whole die and did the thermal pads have indents from the memory and mosfets? Does clamping block and rear mounting screw location nearest die with fingers reduce temps at all?
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2019, 09:35 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,519
POST ID # = 1014833
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nissehult View Post
https://imgur.com/a/jIeM97b pictures

the flow indicator is spinning but i need a new commander pro beacuse the port for reservoir on commander port have stop working didnt show up on ICUE and the commander pro got a short circuit so i need to change it and the flow status is great until commander pro died

and i did f*cked up the screws on the backside plate so a few of them are rounded beacuse i had opened the block 2-3 times
Try setting the port for the reservoir to 4-pin/PWM rather than "Auto" (the default).
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2019, 09:48 AM
Nissehult Nissehult is offline
Registered User
Nissehult's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1014836
Nissehult Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarity View Post
Make sure you use a proper fitting screw driver as that will reduce the chances of rounding out the screws. When you removed the block was the paste covering the whole die and did the thermal pads have indents from the memory and mosfets? Does clamping block and rear mounting screw location nearest die with fingers reduce temps at all?
ye the paste was covering the gpu and the thermal pads was at place, i saw marks in the pads.

i dont know, i mounted the block as it should be.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-2019, 09:55 AM
Nissehult Nissehult is offline
Registered User
Nissehult's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1014838
Nissehult Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Try setting the port for the reservoir to 4-pin/PWM rather than "Auto" (the default).
i changed it to 4pin and the temperature didnt go down.
when i started wow i had the lowest settings the temperature was getting from 40-95 on 10sec.
Attached Images
File Type: png fgdfg.png (460.4 KB, 21 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-16-2019, 02:45 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 707
POST ID # = 1014867
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nissehult View Post
i changed it to 4pin and the temperature didnt go down.
when i started wow i had the lowest settings the temperature was getting from 40-95 on 10sec.
Did you have any temp issues before you installed the block?

My clamping suggestion was to see if the temps drop if block is not making full contact with the die.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-16-2019, 02:57 PM
Nissehult Nissehult is offline
Registered User
Nissehult's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1014869
Nissehult Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarity View Post
Did you have any temp issues before you installed the block?

My clamping suggestion was to see if the temps drop if block is not making full contact with the die.
before i had water cooling on cpu and it worked fine was between 28-35c and the gpu had original air cooling and it was on 50-60c

now i cant see it beacuse i cant open the block beacuse of rounded screws
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-16-2019, 03:16 PM
Nissehult Nissehult is offline
Registered User
Nissehult's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1014870
Nissehult Reputation: 10
Default

Pictures of The block
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0001.JPG (4.23 MB, 41 views)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-16-2019, 03:17 PM
Nissehult Nissehult is offline
Registered User
Nissehult's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1014871
Nissehult Reputation: 10
Default

Pictures 2
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0002.JPG (4.92 MB, 37 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-17-2019, 01:07 AM
Nissehult Nissehult is offline
Registered User
Nissehult's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1014904
Nissehult Reputation: 10
Default

2 more pictures https://imgur.com/a/d8t5W1B
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-19-2019, 11:07 AM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 154
POST ID # = 1015142
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for the pictures.

We can conclude that the cooling system works (apart from the issue with Commander PRO) so we can focus on GPU water block.

When you checked for the imprint of thermal compound and thermal pads. Was there a nice even layer of thermal compound on the whole GPU?

According to the images, fit of the block doesn't look perfect.
I would suggest to try and remove the GPU water block. You might be able to unscrew the rounded screws with sharp philips head screwdriver.
Then take a few pictures of the graphics card (focus on GPU and memory ICs) and bottom side of the GPU water block and send them to our support so they can make a thorough check and advise on further actions. They will also be able to provide replacement screws.

Please PM me your ticket number and I'll update the ticket with pictures you already provided.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-20-2019, 02:17 PM
Nissehult Nissehult is offline
Registered User
Nissehult's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 1015264
Nissehult Reputation: 10
Default

there was only one imprint on the thermal pads, the other ones was clear.
i tryied to unscrew the rounded but it didnt go, only got some few but not all of them.
they got no attachment so the screwdriver only spinning.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0008[1].JPG (4.03 MB, 33 views)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-21-2019, 08:34 AM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 154
POST ID # = 1015314
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

I would suggest to try with rubber band method:

It's crucial to remove the GPU water block so we can proceed with checking.

Have you reached to our support? Please PM me your ticket number.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.