The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2019, 08:15 AM
do19517152 do19517152 is offline
Registered User
do19517152's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 996958
do19517152 Reputation: 10
Default Commander PRO USB devices not being picked up (H150i or HX850i)

Hello,

This is my first build that uses RGB but I am experiencing issues with getting the AIO & PSU to be picked up by the iCue software when their USB headers are plugged into the Commander Pro.

Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX X470-F
CPU: AMD Ryzen 2700X
AIO: H150i Pro RGB
PSU: HX850i PSU
RAM: Vengeance RGB PRO (2 x 8GB)
Fans: 3 x LL120 RGB + 3 x ML120
RGB Components: 6 Port Fan Hub for LLs, 1 x Commander Pro

If the USB header for the H150i Pro or the HX850i is plugged directly into the motherboard (I can't have both plugged in as there's only two slots, one taken by the Commander Pro) then the device is controllable via iCue software and provides all the relevant information.

If they are plugged into the Commander Pro USB ports then they are not controllable (nor will they show up unless previously connected into motherboard, which seems to be more of a cache thing in the app).

The RGB RAM & LL Fans work fine, and the commander pro is seen by iCue.

I have tried:
- Uninstalling / Reinstalling device drivers (including uninstalling, waiting 2 minutes after powering off etc.)
- Plugging one in at a time into the Commander Pro, in different ports
- Using the LINK software
- Firmware is up to date on all devices (confirmed in iCue), though I didn't "force" update
- Disabling USB power saver settings, as apparently ASUS motherboards can have issues where chained USBs aren't picked up properly because of that

Is there any more information I can provide? I'm sure I've missed some things that have already been attempted but after several hours trawling through the internet trying to fix it last night I can't recall it all!

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2019, 02:00 PM
BlaiseP's Avatar
BlaiseP BlaiseP is online now
Registered User
BlaiseP's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 180
POST ID # = 996983
BlaiseP Reputation: 35
Default

I had the same issue with a Z370 board when I connect the CoPro directly to the USB header on the motherboard. Corsair doesn't play nice with ASMedia USB hubs. Do you have your other onboard USB header connected to you front case USB 2.0 ports? Does they work when the CoPro is connected to the other onboard header? I suspect not.

I fixed it by adding a USB hub between the motherboard's USB header and the CoPro. Originally I was using a "NZXT Internal USB Hub" but later changed it for a smaller 2 port splitter like this: USB 2.0 10-Pin Header 1-to-4 Internal USB Hub 4-Port Splitter Board (this example is 4-way but you can search eBay for something similar in the 2 port variety). Once that was done, the CoPro's USB headers worked as expected.

Last edited by BlaiseP; 03-09-2019 at 02:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2019, 02:56 PM
do19517152 do19517152 is offline
Registered User
do19517152's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 996991
do19517152 Reputation: 10
Default

Unfortunately I can't check that as the ports on the front of the case use the USB 3.0 and 3.1 connectors on the motherboard, so the only thing occupying the USB 2.0 headers is currently the Commander Pro & the H150i.

I was looking into getting the NZXT USB Hub to see if that would help, but was hoping there might be another solution as it adds a bit more bulk/cables into the case (and the corsair 500D feels a bit tight for space when trying to hide everything in the back etc.!)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2019, 11:41 PM
bp7178 bp7178 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 997336
bp7178 Reputation: 10
Default

Interesting. I'm having a similar problem with a Lighting Node not being picked up by a Commander Pro. When the Node is plugged directly into a mother board header it works fine. MB is a Asus Z390 Maximus XI Formula.

ETA: This issue persisted while using the default windows USB ASMedia drivers. While Asus' website does not list a different driver for my particular motherboard, I was able to find one on the mini-thumb drive that came with my MB. When I attempted to launch it using the Asus labeled setup .exe, it returned an error that the driver is not compatible with my current Windows 10 x64 installation. So I ran the non-Asus labeled setup .exe, and it installed. Now my Commander Pro will detect USB devices plugged directly into it.

Last edited by bp7178; 03-12-2019 at 01:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2019, 11:28 AM
jwar jwar is offline
Registered User
jwar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 997947
jwar Reputation: 10
Default

I have replaced two Commander Pros because of USB hub issues one was through RMA the board had burnt after inspection by Corsair. The second one I just felt like the RMA process takes to long. The Two Commanders Pros that are in my system now have both quit regarding the USB Hubs and I had to move all the USB connected items off of the Commander Pros just for them to be seen. I have a NZTX internal USB hub and it works great.
In my honest opinion I do not think the Commander Pro has enough power routed via Circuit Board to maintain the USB Hub. As I have had 4 failures now with the Commander Pro where it comes to the USB Devices connect to the Hubs. So far I have had zero issues with the NZTX internal and would recommend that over the Commander Pro for USB internal connectivity. For fans and lighting the Pro is Working. Now only if Corsair can get their software to work correctly I will be able to control my fans, LEDs, and AIO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.