The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2017, 09:55 PM
HappyNanaMO HappyNanaMO is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 903090
HappyNanaMO Reputation: 10
Question Ghost of old keyboard profile on new keyboard, new computer, no CUE

Hi -

I bought a K70 RGB keyboard in July of 2014 and used it on the same system for over 2 years. I use it for work (self-employed transcriptionist). During that time, I had a need to use 5 periods frequently for one client, so I created a profile that used the unshifted tilde key to generate five periods.

In October 2016 I bought a K65 Compact (no RGB). Since this new keyboard is no frills, I assumed it wasn't programmable and didn't have any use for the CUE. However, I noticed that tilde key, which I had programmed in one profile to generate 5 periods, still did that on my new keyboard. I no longer needed the five-period scenario, so I tried removing that behavior.

Deleting the old profile didn't work, and even uninstalling the CUE had no effect. It was annoying but not catastrophic, so I just decided to live with it.

In December 2016, I bought a brand new laptop, brand new Windows install, no CUE, and hooked up the same K65 keyboard to it. I kind of forgot about the tilde key until a few days ago, when I hit the unshifted key by accident rather than the shifted tilde, which I use a lot. I noticed that the five periods returned. I always assumed they had somehow come from the CUE profile, but CUE has NEVER been on this laptop. So where is the keyboard getting that information from?

I'd love to be able to restore the keyboard to its original, unprogrammed behavior. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Karen
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-14-2017, 07:02 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 903131
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Strange, the keyboard does not have onboard memory so it shouldn't have saved to the keyboard. Have you tried reflashing the firmware via CUE?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-14-2017, 08:07 AM
HappyNanaMO HappyNanaMO is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 903148
HappyNanaMO Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Strange, the keyboard does not have onboard memory so it shouldn't have saved to the keyboard. Have you tried reflashing the firmware via CUE?
Hi, Toast -

Thanks for your quick reply. I tried downloading the K65 CUE to see if that would help, but it tells me no device connected. I too am baffled as to where it's coming from, since the K65 doesn't appear to be programmable at all. And I've never had the CUE on this laptop. It's definitely a mystery!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
delete macros, k65, keyboard, old profile

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.