The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2013, 08:34 AM
---Matt--- ---Matt--- is offline
Registered User
---Matt---'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 650442
---Matt--- Reputation: 10
Default POST issues after replacing power supply

I posted this as a support ticket (6011304) but thought I might be able to get some help here too...

I just replaced my old ToPower 500W PSU with the HX750 and I'm having issues with my PC booting.

The symptoms are as follows:
- PC will be very slow to POST (over a minute before the screen displays anything and the display will only be from the onboard video). Sometimes it doesn't POST at all.
- The GeForce 8800GT connected to my PCI-E slot won't display.

The troubleshooting I've done so far is:
- Connect the old power supply again - Fixes the issue
- Unplug the 8800GT and just use the onboard graphics - Computer posts immediately.
- Upgraded BIOS to the latest version - Same problem
- Reset BIOS to factory defaults - Same problem
- Tried a different video card which doesn't require the VGA power - Same problem
- I've confirmed there is 12v coming from the P4 connector

In all tests I have had the VGA power connected as well as the 24pin and the P4 connector.
The symptoms seem to be the same as what they would be if the P4 connector wasn't connected, but it seems to be working fine as far as I can tell.

The troubleshooting I've done seems to point to the HX750 as the cause of the issue although I'm not really sure how. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-02-2013, 10:12 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 650457
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

I havent seen one of those boards in years! I suspect that the issue is that board uses an older ATX spec than what the new Corsair PSU's support. Basically making them incompatible. You may have a hard time finding a suitable PSU upgrade for that aging board.

You could try returning it and or RMA'ing it for another PSU and if you get the same symptoms that would give you your answer but i'm willing to bet they would act the same way..
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.

Last edited by peanutz94; 05-02-2013 at 10:15 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-03-2013, 06:34 AM
---Matt--- ---Matt--- is offline
Registered User
---Matt---'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 650683
---Matt--- Reputation: 10
Default

Hey peanutz,

I took the PSU back to the shop today and had them test it. Turns out the PSU is fine and you were right.

While I'm quite surprised that a board from '09 isn't compatible with a current PSU, it did prompt me to upgrade to make the PSU work...

Hello i7 3770K! :)

Cheers for the help!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.