The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2019, 07:23 PM
face445 face445 is offline
Registered User
face445's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1024375
face445 Reputation: 10
Default No water flowing throughout loop.

Hi! I set up my custom loop and filled it, but I might’ve left the fill port closed and did not allow air in. I tried to do a leak test but when I turn on the XD5, it just makes a sound and vibrates. I also have tried tilting the case, but no luck.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2019, 11:18 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,023
POST ID # = 1024383
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Make sure you are using the one and only outflow port on the XD5. This happens more often than you’d think. The other issue may be the Commander Pro default PWM speed. If it is a brand new C-Pro, the initial PWM speed is probably very low in a test run environment with no motherboard reported cpu temp. Pull the pump’s connector from the Commander Pro to make it run full blast. Be ready. The reservoir will empty very fast.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2019, 03:16 AM
lukacsmw lukacsmw is offline
Registered User
lukacsmw's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 1024389
lukacsmw Reputation: 10
Default Same here

I just tried my XD5 and it can’t push water out of the pump it seems. As a test, I rigged up a direct outlet to inlet test and it blasts through that - but my loop is a now go. I’ve got 2 water cooled GPUs (not Corsair blocks) and my cpu. I’m pushing through a thin 360 radiator and my case forces some tight corners. I’m replacing a cracked Enermax neochanger, which I put into the loop and pushes everything fine, even at low speeds. Tried tilting the case, no luck. Checked all ports and everything is connected right. Either it’s a weak pump or defective. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2019, 03:55 AM
tiborrr tiborrr is offline
Registered User
tiborrr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 1024390
tiborrr Reputation: 10
Default

If you can hear the motor humming and vibrating it means the motor itself is working. My guess is that your motor is running dry, i.e. you have air pocket in the pump volute cavity and thus the pump isn't pushing any liquid (no flow).

You may want to try standard technique to get the pockets out - shake the whole case (or pump itself if you have soft tubing). Like said above, disconnect the PWM tacho cable from your Commander Pro and let it run on full speed if you haven't done so yet. Make sure you have installed the unit per included quick start guide.

A picture of the whole setup would be very helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2019, 08:02 AM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 186
POST ID # = 1024413
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

Sounds like there is an air bubble which prevents the coolant to flow into the pump volute. Shake, tap to release the air bubble. Disconnect the PWM cable from any source so the pump will run at higher speed.

Also, as mentioned by fellow users, prior to that do check that the pump unit is installed according to quick start guide and the how to video:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-26-2019, 02:32 AM
lukacsmw lukacsmw is offline
Registered User
lukacsmw's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 1028654
lukacsmw Reputation: 10
Default

So I worked it out - I’m pushing through 2 GPU blocks, a CPU block and a thin Nemesis GTS radiator. These rads are very high pressure drop, basically the same as a CPU block. It was too much pressure drop for the pump. So I put in a fill valve (with a through hole to the case top) between the CPU and radiator. I left this slightly open when first turning on the pump which reduced the pressure enough for the pump to push to the fill port. I closed it right before the water hit and then tapped the pump bottom to push it through the rad. Once the loop was closed (water back to the resevoir), the pump was able to keep the water flowing fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-17-2020, 09:57 PM
chiho312000 chiho312000 is offline
Registered User
chiho312000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1031790
chiho312000 Reputation: 10
Default Same here

I also have the same issues of not pumping water. In my case, the pump have weird sound produced when connected to power but the water level does not drop. The result is the same when I disconnect it from commander pro.
I have also taken a video for it:
I have also tried to test the pump alone and it just start pouring coolant when I without connecting power. I cannot even increase the water level. Is that normal?

Petty sure the loop designed is normal since this pump is the second one and the first one has returned to Corsair through RMA since water is leaking
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-18-2020, 02:31 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,074
POST ID # = 1031814
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Is the molex connected? I see the RGB light up.
Do you feel vibration on the pump? If so try tapping/wiggling it a bit. I had to do that on one refill. Once it started, it was good.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-18-2020, 10:59 AM
chiho312000 chiho312000 is offline
Registered User
chiho312000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1031853
chiho312000 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Is the molex connected? I see the RGB light up.
Do you feel vibration on the pump? If so try tapping/wiggling it a bit. I had to do that on one refill. Once it started, it was good.
The molex is connected and I can feel vibration. However, the pump still fail to pump coolant even I wiggle it. The weird sound is still producing.

Apart form that, I can see coolant coming out from the outlet when I am filling coolant. Is that normal?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-18-2020, 12:11 PM
Caedhros Caedhros is offline
Registered User
Caedhros's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1031856
Caedhros Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, coolant can run out the outlet while filling. Try tilting the system to fill as much of the tube from the outlet as you can. Sometimes an air bubble can form and prevent the pump from pushing water through it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump issue, pump not working, water pump, xd5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.