The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2019, 02:59 PM
Iao Iao is offline
Registered User
Iao's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 998578
Iao Reputation: 10
Default ICUE RGB fin but case fans stopped spinning

I built a new rig with a Corsair H100i RGB Platinum, Vengeance RGB Pro and a triple pack of LL120 RGB fans with the lighting node pro.

I didn't connect the chassis fans to the motherboard just the Lighting node pro.

The RGB was working (but uncontrolled, so rainbow effect) and the fans were spinning.

Installed ICUE and the Chassis fans stopped spinning.

What solutions do I have here if I want to control my RGB and my fan speeds?

Thanks
in Advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2019, 09:35 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,415
POST ID # = 998615
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The Lighting Node Pro (LNP) is a lighting controller. It does not control fan speeds. If you want fan control for your case fans, you need the Commander Pro, which is a LNP + fan controller.

Your H100i Platinum has it's own fan controller and it's own lighting controller. It can provide fan control and lighting control for it's two fans only. If you want the radiator fans to be part of the other LL fans effect list, you need to move the lighting cable only from the H100i Platinum to the LNP with the other 3. Must go on slots 1-5.

What are your chassis fans connected to? If there are not connected to anything, they shouldn't spin at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2019, 02:38 AM
center311 center311 is offline
Registered User
center311's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 998631
center311 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iao View Post
I built a new rig with a Corsair H100i RGB Platinum, Vengeance RGB Pro and a triple pack of LL120 RGB fans with the lighting node pro.

I didn't connect the chassis fans to the motherboard just the Lighting node pro.

The RGB was working (but uncontrolled, so rainbow effect) and the fans were spinning.

Installed ICUE and the Chassis fans stopped spinning.

What solutions do I have here if I want to control my RGB and my fan speeds?

Thanks
in Advance
What are the fans plugged into? Each Corsair RGB fan should have 2 cables - 1 RGB and 1 fan control.

Do you have the Commander Pro? If so, go into the settings and assign the fan headers as the appropriate pin count for each fan plugged in. Should fix it.

Last edited by center311; 03-23-2019 at 02:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2019, 03:57 AM
Iao Iao is offline
Registered User
Iao's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 998633
Iao Reputation: 10
Default

OK thank you for your replies it sounds like I need to buy the Commander Pro.

Odd thing my fans were definitely spinning without being connected to the motherboard (or anything) and just the RGB cables to the lighting node
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2019, 09:45 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,682
POST ID # = 998646
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

It's just not possible for the fans to be spinning without having the power lead for the fan motor connected to something.

How many headers do you have on that motherboard? It's likely that, with a splitter or two, you can control everything from the motherboard if you want. Not to steer you away from the CoPro - it's an awesome device - but it's typically not required.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2019, 09:45 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,415
POST ID # = 998647
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

You only need the Commander Pro if you want iCUE software control over case fan speed. You will already have this with the cooler fans. The Commander Pro will directly replace the LNP in the system.

No sure on the fans. I suppose theoretically if you generate enough air flow from fans that were running, it could move the others through normal air movement. You can certainly plug the 4 pin PWM LL connector into your motherboard and use the BIOS for standard fan control in the meantime.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.