The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2018, 10:00 AM
dubberdo1963 dubberdo1963 is offline
Registered User
dubberdo1963's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: 3rd Rock From Sun, USA, 91321
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 966533
dubberdo1963 Reputation: 10
Default is there a 3rd party software to replace iCUE

is there a 3rd party software to replace iCUE. iCUE uses 5-10% cpu constantly. I have tried everything boot, erase, reboot, reinstall, reboot...BLA BL BLA. I must have 20 hours over the last month trying to resolve this.....

not to mention I have disconnected the "Void Pro" and "ST100" and still using 5 to 10% cpu

Any Ideas???

Last edited by dubberdo1963; 08-01-2018 at 10:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2018, 01:17 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 707
POST ID # = 966561
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

There is no third party tool that I know of that can manage all the devices like iCUE does. I do find iCUE as the best RGB Tool I have used or seen. There is the old CUE and Link tools. Mine CPU usage goes anywhere between 1-3%. This isn't bad at all. Though I don't think iCUE is the problem of your CPU usage woes.

Looking at your system specs, I think I see the issue. You have a T series CPU. I actually never heard of it, so I was intrigued and looked it up. It is the "green" version of the 6400, which gives up speed/frequency in exchange for lower power consumption.

In a CPU benchmark this how your CPU lines up (higher the better):
6100 = 5,494 (3.7Ghz 2C/4T)
6400T = 5,590 (2.2Ghz 4C/4T) - Your CPU
6300 = 5,853 (3.8Ghz 2C/4T)
6400 = 6,760 (2.7Ghz 4C/4T) - Non T version
3570K = 7,168 (3.4Ghz not OC'ed 4C/4T) - This is my old CPU and it was OC'ed to 4.4.
8600K = 12,818 (3.6Ghz not OC'ed 4C/4T) - This is my new CPU and have it OC'ed to 5Ghz

Source: https://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

I am having difficulty coming up with a use case for the T series in a desktop, maybe less heat for the form factor?

The most important question is your CPU holding you back from anything that you are doing? You do have a lot of Corsair items, though based off your PC and using Intel's GPU, I am guessing you are not doing a lot of AAA gaming.

Also is your PC stats correct? From Googling your PC, I find it difficult to imagine you running two LNP and strips on a DELL AIO computer.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2018, 05:20 PM
tiessar tiessar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 966749
tiessar Reputation: 10
Default

An Arduino can control the LEDs that Corsair use. There are plenty of open source options, and the lighting effects you can achieve will blow iCue out of the water.
It's just a slightly steep learning curve but in line with the added functionality.
Also 0% CPU usage.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.