The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2013, 03:22 AM
_blowsie _blowsie is offline
Registered User
_blowsie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 646157
_blowsie Reputation: 10
Default H100i High Pitch Pump Noise

I am aware that there are other posts on this matter. However I think I have tried all of the solutions advised.

So for the benefit of other users I will list out everything I been suggested to do from other posts.
  • Change the stock fans - (Changed to SP120 - with and without the resistors)
  • Unplug the fans from the pump - (And plug them in at another location)
  • Unplug the fans altogether -(just temporarily for a test)
  • Update the firmware - (Im using the latest)
  • Make sure the power connector is using its own lead from the PSU - (with no other hardware on the same cable)
  • Change the USB port the pump is connected to
  • Gently Tap / Knock the pump - (and it may sort itself out)
  • Give the pump a few hours to settle in - (I left the machine running for 5 days)
  • Try with and without the Link2 Software

After trying all of the above. The noise still persists and I'm exhausted for ideas and pulling my pc apart every night!

Are there any other known solutions to the problem?
If not, if I create an RMA, will I just get given another cooling unit and be stuck with the same issue?
I would like to add I have got the H100i unit that was shipping with 4 pin Fans.

This unit so far has been a bit of a dissapointment for me as I only purchased it as I was aiming for a silent build pc. The noise of this pump overpowers the noise of all of the fans by far.
I'm willing to provide any other information / videos and do any other further testing.

Any solutions / suggestions from users / corsair would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by _blowsie; 04-12-2013 at 03:17 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-12-2013, 03:38 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,291
POST ID # = 646407
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Let's go ahead and get it replaced: https://corsair.secure.force.com/
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-13-2013, 02:00 PM
andyhz andyhz is offline
Registered User
andyhz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 646744
andyhz Reputation: 10
Default

looks like i am in the same boat as you.

the rma process requires you to send back the unit first.

I think i will just go back to air cooling for my new pc built last week to replace the 7 year old core2duo. than taking the chance with my money on shipping this back.

AIO sounds cool but when getting a lemon, the noise is just unbearable, so disappointed.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-13-2013, 02:14 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 646750
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyhz View Post
looks like i am in the same boat as you.

the rma process requires you to send back the unit first.

I think i will just go back to air cooling for my new pc built last week to replace the 7 year old core2duo. than taking the chance with my money on shipping this back.

AIO sounds cool but when getting a lemon, the noise is just unbearable, so disappointed.
you can call and request the new cooler be sent first,they will need a c.c, pmt.till the old ones arrives
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-13-2013, 03:29 PM
andyhz andyhz is offline
Registered User
andyhz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 646760
andyhz Reputation: 10
Default

in that case i will update my ticket to get this sorted.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-13-2013, 03:39 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 646762
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyhz View Post
in that case i will update my ticket to get this sorted.
once you call and tell them ,they usually ship immediately and delivery is usually 5-7 days if within the continental usa.
you can check on order status from their web
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-18-2013, 06:45 PM
_blowsie _blowsie is offline
Registered User
_blowsie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 647904
_blowsie Reputation: 10
Default

Ive started the RMA, I will report here on if the replacement solves the issue.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-05-2013, 02:34 PM
blowsie blowsie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 651252
blowsie Reputation: 10
Default

So... I just received the replacement cooler, spent the time fitting it and i still have the same issue.

Losing hope in this cooler now. Feel like I haven't got what I paid for. Does corsair offer any form of refund in this situation?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-08-2013, 01:01 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 651871
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Is the noise similar to the first unit? If the noise persist even with the fans not being connected to the pump then it must be coming from the pump itself. How long have you been running the replacement? the reason why I ask is, because in some cases, high pitch noise is somehow present during the first couple of days upon installation and would gradually disappear over time. Some might say that, you just have to break it in before it reaches optimal performance. Otherwise, you can post your ticket # and I set up an Express RMA at our own expense.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-10-2013, 05:32 AM
blowsie blowsie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 652256
blowsie Reputation: 10
Default

The noise is almost identical, although not quite as loud as the previous unit.

The pc ontime has been about 72 hours+ , since I fitted the replacement unit.
My RMA number is #6004614.

What do you mean by set up an express RMA?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-10-2013, 01:07 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 652337
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
What do you mean by set up an express RMA?
Where we can send out the replacement first so you avoid down time.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-10-2013, 02:33 PM
the.gin the.gin is offline
Registered User
the.gin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 652358
the.gin Reputation: 10
Default

Hey guys my rma got approved for my 100i too. I got all the info but my question is do I have to send all the parts including the original box or can I just send in the cooler itself?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-11-2013, 04:41 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 652646
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.gin View Post
Hey guys my rma got approved for my 100i too. I got all the info but my question is do I have to send all the parts including the original box or can I just send in the cooler itself?
you will need to send everything back,cooler,fans ect... but not necessarily in the original box but you are responsible for adequately packing the old cooler of course...
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-14-2013, 07:58 AM
blowsie blowsie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 653100
blowsie Reputation: 10
Default

@RAM GUY.

I have already made an express RMA at my expense. I need to pay to ship your unit back to you :(.

Back to my initial question.
Does corsair offer any form of refund in this situation?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 05-14-2013, 08:37 AM
Bryman's Avatar
Bryman Bryman is offline
Registered User
Bryman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 852
POST ID # = 653104
Bryman Reputation: 19
Default

Nope you have to pay for shipping one way
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.