The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:58 AM
gfaraj gfaraj is offline
Registered User
gfaraj's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 526786
gfaraj Reputation: 10
Question Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z and Corsair Vengeance - random reboots

Hello,

I'm having a problem with my most recent build. The problem is that my PC reboots randomly. It doesn't happen too often. I leave my PC on all day, and it happens maybe once a day. I've noticed that it mostly happens when I'm watching a video. Not sure if it really matters. I was wondering if anyone could tell me what could be happening.

Here's my setup:
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z LGA 1155
Intel Core i7-2600 Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
MSI NX8800GTX-T2D768E GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16
Generic brand 800W PSU

I've used Memtest86+ and I got no errors. I have updated my BIOS to version 0403 with same results.

I have everything on Auto in the BIOS. Here are some of the values:

Target DRAM speed - 1333MHz
Target CPU Turbo-mode speed - 3800MHz
iGPU offset voltage - 1.005V
DRAM voltage - 1.508V
VCCSA/IO voltage - 1.111V
CPU PLL voltage - 1.799V
PCH voltage - 1.058V

Using the ASUS monitor, here are some of the current values:

Vcore - 1.192V
+12V - 11.904V
+5V - 5.200V
+3.3V - 3.328V
DRAM - 1.508V
PCH - 1.058V
VCCSA/IO - 1.111V
CPU PLL - 1.799V
IGPU - 0.442V
CPU temp - 33C
MB temp - 41C
CPU fan - 2896rpm

An interesting fact. A couple of weeks this happened a bit more frequently than now. It was like 2-3 times a day. I noticed that the +3.3V fluctuated a bit to the point where the ASUS monitor warned about it. Then the PC rebooted.

Now it reboots without warning, so I don't know if the +3.3V fluctuates before it reboots.

Does anyone have any idea? This is getting very frustrating.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-13-2011, 04:35 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 527339
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

In the ASUS PC Probe please see if it has the option to record and if so set it to record and then on the next restart you can go and check that and either way I think I would suggest changing the PSU there is enough information in your post to warrant that.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-13-2011, 02:19 PM
logo021 logo021 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 547507
logo021 Reputation: 10
Default Similar problem, unzip failure and blue screen

Hello

I have
- ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z LGA 1155
- Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
- CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
- ASUS GF 560 Ti DCII TOP running at 900 MHz
- Intel 510 250 GB SSD
- CooleMaster 700W PSU

Machine runs at memory auto configured to 1333 MHz and CPU boost 4.6 GHz. Run 4.2 now as I need upgrade CPU fan before running 4.6.
Manual memory config to 1600 MHz timing 8-8-8-24 or 9-9-9-24 gives blue screen soon after boot regardless of CPU boost 3.8, 4.2 or 4.6. Unzip always fail with error.

Memtest is error free both on 1333 and 1600 MHz.

It would be nice to run the memory at 1600 MHz according to spec.

Could this really be a PSU problem ?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-13-2011, 05:24 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 547569
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please go to BIOS setup and load setup defaults then enable XMP Profile one and DO NOT Over Clock the CPU. test the system and see if it remains stable.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-14-2011, 04:53 AM
logo021 logo021 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 547699
logo021 Reputation: 10
Default

I changed to XMP profile 1 and didn't overclock. Then I run unzip on a big file, the unzip error came a little later and I didn't get a blue screen. So a slight improvement maybe but problem still there. I also had a look at the voltage in the trend graph, straight lines.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-14-2011, 02:14 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 547799
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Did you check for the latest BIOS and most important of all DID YOU LOAD SETUP DEFAULTS First before you enabled XMP?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-14-2011, 04:29 PM
logo021 logo021 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 547855
logo021 Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, I did load the set up defaults and my BIOS is 0902. Maybe I shall ask to get the modules replaced?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-15-2011, 03:14 AM
logo021 logo021 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 548027
logo021 Reputation: 10
Default New test

I did the whole thing once more, load set up defaults, set xmp profile 1 etc. Short after the system did a sudden reboot and blue screen at restart. I set to auto again and got memspeed 1333 MHz. System seem to run fine also with 4.6 OC.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-15-2011, 01:35 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 548158
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

You may not be able to O.C. the CPU with XMP enabled, if that is what you are doing that may be why it is failing?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-21-2011, 02:19 AM
logo021 logo021 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 549380
logo021 Reputation: 10
Default

I replaced the CML16GX3M4X1600C8 with CMZ16GX3MA1600C9. It works fine now, also OC.
Thanks for spending time on this.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
asus, random shutdown, vengeance

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.