The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2019, 11:43 AM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 251
POST ID # = 1014738
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default Corsair. Are you ever gonna fix the high CPU usage? (I have experience with RGB LEDs)

You might think monitoring is the cause, well, no. With monitoring off iCUE and CorsairService use the same amount of CPU.

You might ask, "Is is controlling lights the cause?" and I would also say nah!

I have been dealing with RGB lights for the last 10 years and controlling them uses very little CPU. Comparable to a MIDI device being controlled by software.

Here is a video of me using 4 Launchpad pros with a laptop, that is an insane amount of LEDs. The CPU usage while controlling the lights is very low.

So please Corsair, make an effort and slash the CPU usage in iCUE, people has been complaining about it for a reason and this problem is showing even more in Zen 2 chips. iCUE and the service are spiking hard and I don't even have a Corsair keyboard or RGB RAM, just some LL fans and strips, I'm sure you can optimize your code.

iCUE is great, please don't let it behave like most un optimized bloatware.

And please fix the H115i Pro freezing and malfunction after you use your CPU at 100%...when that happens you need to actually reboot cause restating the service doesn't bring back the H115i Pro in iCUEs UI.


__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.

Last edited by Sacco Belmonte; 08-15-2019 at 02:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2019, 06:37 AM
brianzion's Avatar
brianzion brianzion is offline
Registered User
brianzion's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1015395
brianzion Reputation: 10
Default

same here I have only installed the icue software for about a week with my new cooler Hydro Series™ H80i v2 and notice the cpu usage is rather high its the only corsair product I am using apart from my ram but that's not compatible with icue so only the cooler is being monitored it ranges from 30% to 8% usage
Attached Images
File Type: png ICUBE.png (24.7 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2019, 09:58 AM
beardo47 beardo47 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 1015404
beardo47 Reputation: 10
Default

I have 6x LL120 fans, 4x Vengeance Pro RGB sticks of RAM, H150i Pro, commander pro with fan profiles etc, my iCue is using 0.2%-0.6% of my CPU...not sure what's going on with your computers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2019, 12:40 PM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 251
POST ID # = 1015412
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default

Itere it fluctuates between 0.6% 0.9% but every 5s or so spikes to 1.5% or 2.0% causing a spike in temperature.

Corsair should have its service running smoothly without spiking.
__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2019, 12:09 AM
Mussels Mussels is offline
Registered User
Mussels's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 88
POST ID # = 1015533
Mussels Reputation: 10
Default

the high CPU usage is also whats messing with idle states on ryzen CPU's (most notably the 3000 series, but it affects early gens too) as well as breaking turbo states (cores not idling = others can't boost)

i've got static hardware lighting only, and its eating cpu wattage and screwing with single core boost on my 2700x... and support told me its AMDs problem and they wont fix it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2019, 01:37 AM
Baio Baio is offline
Registered User
Baio's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 72
POST ID # = 1015537
Baio Reputation: 10
Default

In my system the process that stays Always above 2% of CPU usage is Corsair.Service.CpuIdRemote… what is it intended to do?

Baio
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2019, 05:42 PM
JesusNoTLS JesusNoTLS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1015616
JesusNoTLS Reputation: 10
Default Bloatware

The k65 which i have just got should have an internal cpu & memory to control the microcontroller without the need for any software... anyway if you are just using a keyboard disable any corsair services in windows services. Reboot or kill the exes. You can leave the iCUE exe to run as the keyboard only needs this.

As to what the service does, i guess it's uselessly polling every so often to check what is connected. Its bloatware or just badly done. 2% of a modern cpu just to do fancy rgb synchronized effects is erm a bad use of resources.

If anyone from corsair ever reads this (i have also sent an email prior to finding this out) I suggest / HEAVILY recommend you give users a checkbox to avoid the bloatware services ever being installed.

As a side note Linux open source rgb software - ckb-next runs great with the k65, dare i say better than the official windows bloatware! Someone may have to port this back to windows just to avoid the bloat !!!!!

Only i CUE running 1% peaks doing nothing 3% with effects, this almost pushes the same amount of power (watts /cpuz) thru the cpu as watching youtube!!




Last edited by JesusNoTLS; 08-24-2019 at 06:47 PM. Reason: pics
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2019, 08:38 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,268
POST ID # = 1015629
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesusNoTLS View Post

As to what the service does, i guess it's uselessly polling every so often to check what is connected.
You guess incorrectly.

However, if you only have a keyboard, it is of little use unless you want to have colors based on temperatures. Then you'd be in something of a pickle.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.