The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2019, 11:00 AM
canulus canulus is offline
Registered User
canulus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1014731
canulus Reputation: 10
Default Unable to adjust commander pro fans

Hi.

As stated i am unable to adjust the fanspeed of my fans through iCue using a commander pro.
I am running 3x 3 pin fans through the commander but iCue does not want to adjust the fanspeed either on the fixed profiles or through a custom profile.

I have tried the old reinstall, i tried with a 4 pin fan and i tried using Link instead.
Neither the reinstall or the swap between 3 and 4 pan fans did work. I tried forcing the commander pro to detect the fans manually as 3-pin but that did not work either.

However i had more luck using Link. In Link they are set to auto detect, i can change fan speeds and set custom profiles but this does not seem to work in iCue.

Is this a known issue? I have had issues before with iCue not detecting hardware (did not detect my h100i pro but that problem is solved) and i would very much like to use iCue instead of Link.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2019, 11:12 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,794
POST ID # = 1014732
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

What fans? Be specific.

Are you saying the fans are now shown in iCUE? Or they are there, but you are unable to apply a control speed to them?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2019, 11:17 AM
canulus canulus is offline
Registered User
canulus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1014734
canulus Reputation: 10
Default

The fans i am using are 3 quiet series from nzxt. They are showing in iCue and i can click on them, apply profiles and so on but the changes i do in iCue to the fans does not seem to apply.
They stay at 1200 rpm regardless.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2019, 11:38 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,794
POST ID # = 1014736
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

Aer F? Aer P? Are they factory case fans? There are a a few fans that do not like the PWM controller, but it is unusual to have issues with DC control since the electrical control mechanism is fairly straightforward. It's a 12v, ground, and speed sensor wire. It reduces the 12v line to reduce speed. I would leave the settings on 3 pin DC in the iCUE menu and not Auto.

Make sure your connectors are full engaged on the Commander pro headers.

How are you powering the Commander Pro? Are you using a Molex to SATA adapter from the PSU?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2019, 11:42 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,268
POST ID # = 1014737
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Can you post a screen cap of the setup for your fan speeds?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2019, 11:46 AM
canulus canulus is offline
Registered User
canulus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1014739
canulus Reputation: 10
Default

I need to correct myself a bit here. The fans are from fractal design and not nzxt. They are not stock fans but the Design R3 silent series.
I have tried forcing them to 3-pin in iCue without any luck and the commander pro is powered directly through the PSU not with an extension cable.

As you can see the quiet modes is set to 1200rpm. If i uninstall iCue and use Link the quiet mode will set the fans to 600rpm and regardless of which profile i choose they still stay at 1200rpm
Attached Images
File Type: jpg icue fan setup 2.jpg (263.1 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg icue fan setup.jpg (212.1 KB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2019, 11:55 AM
canulus canulus is offline
Registered User
canulus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1014740
canulus Reputation: 10
Default

Oh man ... This made me feel like a stupid idiot ... Seems that since the default profile for the fans on the H100i was set to config all devices by default it overrides the changes made to the commander pro ... When i removed the choice for all devices on the H100i it allowed me to change the fan speeds on the commander. Well well ... Seems that i should revoke my IT education and go live in a cave.

TLDR: H100i was overriding any changes made to the commander pro. Removing the "all devices" option was the key to changing the speeds. I am so, so sorry for making a fuzz.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-15-2019, 01:22 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,794
POST ID # = 1014751
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

Before you go to your new cave, get off the three presets (Quiet/Balanced/Extreme) for the Commander Pro. They run from cpu temp and that is going to be like a roller coaster of fan speed and you’ll want to be in your cave or anywhere else. Use the + to create a new fan curve. Pick a more appropriate sensor control variable. Apply to the fans. The settings for fixed RPM and fixed % are also in the custom “cooling mode”.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-15-2019, 01:56 PM
canulus canulus is offline
Registered User
canulus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1014754
canulus Reputation: 10
Default

I did. I have set custom curves that rises with my GPU temp on two of the fans and it seems to be working as intended now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.