The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2019, 11:53 AM
Dailss Dailss is offline
Registered User
Dailss's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1013579
Dailss Reputation: 10
Default RAM Compatibility Issue

Hi everyone!

Recently (4 days ago) I bought a whole new gaming PC. My System Specs are:

- Motherboard: B450M DS3H
- Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 6 Core 3.4GHz
- Gráfica Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ 4gb OC
- Memory Card (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16): 2x8GB RAM 3200MHz (Corsair Vengeance LPX)
- SSD 240 GB
- HDD 1 TB
- Power Supply: Enermax PRO 600W

So, these past days I've been having problems with my memory cards (and Windows, but that's not the matter in question).

The first time I turned on my PC I entered BIOS to put the frequency to 3200 MHz (it was 2100 MHz by default) and all good. However, in case I played for 10+ minutes any game, my PC would freeze completly.

I thought to put the frequency back to 2100 MHz, and then, another problem came up. Basically, if I use both memory cards at the same time, my PC won't give video signal. It's not the motherboard because I have tested on all sockets with the 2 combinations possible for Dual Channel, and nothing.

The weird thing is that if I only use 1 memory card (8GB), the problem is fixed.

In theory there are no perfomance issues with my Specs because my motherboard and processor can handle 3200 MHz Memory Cards, and I have asked around and there are no compatibility problems.

However, just to make sure before I buy another set of Memory Cards. What do you think? Do I have compatibility problems with AMD? In that case, what memory card should I buy (same thing; 2x8GB 3000/3200 MHz if possible)?

Greatly appreciate the advice, cheers.

PD: Terrible sorry for my English, not native.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-07-2019, 10:06 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 136
POST ID # = 1014037
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dailss View Post
Hi everyone!

Recently (4 days ago) I bought a whole new gaming PC. My System Specs are:

- Motherboard: B450M DS3H
- Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 6 Core 3.4GHz
- Gráfica Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ 4gb OC
- Memory Card (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16): 2x8GB RAM 3200MHz (Corsair Vengeance LPX)
- SSD 240 GB
- HDD 1 TB
- Power Supply: Enermax PRO 600W

So, these past days I've been having problems with my memory cards (and Windows, but that's not the matter in question).

The first time I turned on my PC I entered BIOS to put the frequency to 3200 MHz (it was 2100 MHz by default) and all good. However, in case I played for 10+ minutes any game, my PC would freeze completly.

I thought to put the frequency back to 2100 MHz, and then, another problem came up. Basically, if I use both memory cards at the same time, my PC won't give video signal. It's not the motherboard because I have tested on all sockets with the 2 combinations possible for Dual Channel, and nothing.

The weird thing is that if I only use 1 memory card (8GB), the problem is fixed.

In theory there are no perfomance issues with my Specs because my motherboard and processor can handle 3200 MHz Memory Cards, and I have asked around and there are no compatibility problems.

However, just to make sure before I buy another set of Memory Cards. What do you think? Do I have compatibility problems with AMD? In that case, what memory card should I buy (same thing; 2x8GB 3000/3200 MHz if possible)?

Greatly appreciate the advice, cheers.

PD: Terrible sorry for my English, not native.
Note that AMD Ryzen 5 2600 supported memory specification is DDR4-2933 so anything over that is not guaranteed to work although DDR4-3200 often can work. Try down-clocking your ram to DDR4-2933 and see if that works for you.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-14-2019, 11:16 AM
Dailss Dailss is offline
Registered User
Dailss's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1014624
Dailss Reputation: 10
Default

I did put another kit st 2400 MHz and same issue.

Changed the MB for a new one (same model) and I keep having the same problem. So yeah, out of ideas here.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-14-2019, 06:19 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 131
POST ID # = 1014677
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Are the RAM sticks in the right slots?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.