The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2018, 05:01 PM
Calious Calious is offline
Registered User
Calious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: England, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 949252
Calious Reputation: 10
Default Corsair 3600 vengence RGB 32GB - Achieving 3600...

Hi there, I've just finished my first build, in a while (read over 6 years) and I'm now looking to tweak it to get the best from the system.

So, I started off with all kinds of issue, XMP just flat out refusing to let the PC POST. So I went the manual route and overclocked my CPU to 5GHz, yet don't seem to be able to get the RAM to go over 3400.

Currently I have my DRAM voltage at 1.45. My VICCO at 1.25 and clock speeds at 3400. This allows me to get into windows and everything seems to be running just fine. (It even shows up and responds perfectly to link).

Now with my system, on the z370e ASUS Strix board... What do I need to do to push up to 3600? Is higher voltage safe for the components? If I leave it on auto, no POST. So I think I'll have to do this manually.

Is going to 1.6 and above on voltage safe? I've read that I should be ok with my current settings. But no joy. Am I missing something I need to turn on? I was only getting above 3200 on 1.6v until I took the VICCO off of auto and set it to 1.25.

Any ideas on where to go? I mean 3400 is fine and all, but as it's 3600 ram, I'd expect to be able to actually get that speed
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-09-2018, 10:57 AM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 609
POST ID # = 949381
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Revert the CPU to default speeds and then enable XMP.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-09-2018, 11:25 AM
Calious Calious is offline
Registered User
Calious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: England, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 949384
Calious Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for your reply, this was the first thing I did, without altering ANY other settings was select the XMP profile. This causes the PC to fail to post.

This is with NO other changes to settings. I tried this again after resetting everything too, still no joy. Hence going the manual settings route.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-10-2018, 10:25 AM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 609
POST ID # = 949526
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Are you on the latest bios for the motherboard? There was a version released last month iirc.

-Art
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-10-2018, 10:36 AM
Calious Calious is offline
Registered User
Calious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: England, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 949532
Calious Reputation: 10
Default

AFAIK, yes... But I shall confirm this tonight when I get in.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-12-2018, 09:52 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 949878
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Confirm that you use the correct slots. With your CPU at default, enable the XMP, say no to the turbo enhancement pop-up and set Maximis Tweak to Mode 1 or Mode 2 instead of leaving it AUTO.

I'd leave VCCSa and VCCIO on AUTO at first and then adjust them to 1.15V and 1.10V for DDR4-3600 if that does not work either. Raising Vdimm above 1.35V usually is not necessary, unless the board undervolts Vdimm a lot - then giving Vdimm a small bump usually does not hurt.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-13-2018, 01:53 PM
Calious Calious is offline
Registered User
Calious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: England, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 950085
Calious Reputation: 10
Default

So, the saga continues...

I wasn't on the latest bios. BOOM problem solved....


Until... I got my GPU today. An Asus strix 1080 8gb.

Back to xmp not working. The oc on the cpu works fine. The xmp causes me to fail to post again. I took it all off, updated to the latest GPU drivers. The board recognises the card. But xmp is causing issues again
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-13-2018, 11:38 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 609
POST ID # = 950194
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Issues even if you get rid of the CPU OC?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-14-2018, 03:46 AM
Calious Calious is offline
Registered User
Calious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: England, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 950210
Calious Reputation: 10
Default

If I dial the memory back to 3400 it's running fine.

Shall I reset all settings again and go with xmp first. Then cpu OC?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-14-2018, 04:13 AM
Calious Calious is offline
Registered User
Calious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: England, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 950211
Calious Reputation: 10
Default

Loading the defaults then enabling xmp left me failing to post again.

Last edited by Calious; 04-14-2018 at 06:59 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-14-2018, 08:51 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 609
POST ID # = 950327
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calious View Post
If I dial the memory back to 3400 it's running fine.

Shall I reset all settings again and go with xmp first. Then cpu OC?
I'm sorry but 3400 is honestly more than fine, it's more than most people with other Ryzen set ups are able to accomplish.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-15-2018, 10:39 AM
Calious Calious is offline
Registered User
Calious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: England, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 950381
Calious Reputation: 10
Default

Well... That's not overly helpful.

"Other people have it worse, so you shouldn't complain you're not getting the speed you should"
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-15-2018, 11:32 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 609
POST ID # = 950483
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calious View Post
Well... That's not overly helpful.

"Other people have it worse, so you shouldn't complain you're not getting the speed you should"
Not like that at all, I've seen this hit the 3600 and higher with some tweaks but not on Ryzen; not often at all at least.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-18-2018, 08:42 AM
Calious Calious is offline
Registered User
Calious's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: England, UK
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 950882
Calious Reputation: 10
Default

That's fair. But it was hitting 3600. Pre GPU installation.

I'm also on an Intel 8700k not a Ryzen Chip.

Is there a good guide for maximum settings? For example, what's the highest, safe, non warranty voiding voltage I can try?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-18-2018, 04:42 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 609
POST ID # = 950988
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calious View Post
That's fair. But it was hitting 3600. Pre GPU installation.

I'm also on an Intel 8700k not a Ryzen Chip.

Is there a good guide for maximum settings? For example, what's the highest, safe, non warranty voiding voltage I can try?
My mistake, no excuse.

I don't see an issue then, settings shouldn't prove an issue when setting XMP in bios, graphics' drivers up to date?

For voltage, that'd be up to what you want to move up to that you believe is safe for the kit/motherboard/cpu.

-Art
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.