The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2018, 08:24 PM
Darknms Darknms is offline
Registered User
Darknms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 949091
Darknms Reputation: 10
Default Best Way to connect 8 HD Fans and control them

I am trying to replace the Corsair sp120 fans that came with the 460x case with HD 120 ones. The only issue is I want 6 to be on the case and the other 2 be on my radiator and I want to be able to control the leds on all of them. I also want to have the Corsair Lighting Node Pro installed. My question is how do I control everything as there are not enough rgb led ports on the controller included in the 3 pack of HD120 fans. Also all the fans don't need to be controlled with pwm just the 2 radiator ones.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-07-2018, 10:32 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,028
POST ID # = 949107
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

I am trying to imagine 8 HD in the 460x. So is it 240mm radiator push-pull (4xHD120) + HD120 free below. Then 3xHD140 top and rear?

Short answer is you will need two 6 port lighting hubs. That should be easy enough to get in the HD120 3 pack and a HD140 2 pack. That then leaves a pair of singles. You could use the Lighting Node Pro as the Link interface, but if the above configuration is your goal, you might be better off with a Commander Pro as the Link interface. Marginally more expensive plug some useful goodies. Specifically, it will solve the push-pull control issue on a front radiator. You can power and control 2x120 from a H100i v2 or similar, but 4 is too much. The 6 port fan controller on the C-Pro would let you sync the radiator fans to the same coolant temp control variable, plus numerous other sources for the rest of the case fans. All software control from the desktop (6 on C-Pro, 2 on cooler).

Perhaps Zotty or someone can link you their FAQ with all the pretty pictures.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-07-2018, 10:53 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,396
POST ID # = 949115
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Take a look in my signature for the link with "pretty pictures" that c-attack was referring to.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-08-2018, 01:23 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,980
POST ID # = 949135
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Perhaps Zotty or someone can link you their FAQ.
no problem :)


@ the OP

Hi buddy. Might be worth having a read of this thread, will help you visualise it all ;) http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-08-2018, 01:29 AM
Darknms Darknms is offline
Registered User
Darknms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 949137
Darknms Reputation: 10
Default

Ok that image helped me out a ton thanks for that. Now on to the other issue. I have the EVGA z170 ftw motherboard. It has one USB 3.0 header which I am using for the Front USB 3.0 ports. I have an add in PCIE card that has a 3.0 header that I am converting to 2.0 for my H100i. How many USB headers do I need for the above setup? And how can I get more? I have seen the NZXT USB header hub but dont know if that will work for what I need. Or if the commander pro would do that for me. Im lost.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-08-2018, 01:31 AM
Darknms Darknms is offline
Registered User
Darknms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 949138
Darknms Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
I am trying to imagine 8 HD in the 460x. So is it 240mm radiator push-pull (4xHD120) + HD120 free below. Then 3xHD140 top and rear?


3 fans in the front intake. 2 on the radiator. 2 on the top exhaust. 1 in the rear exhaust. All 120mm
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-08-2018, 08:19 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,028
POST ID # = 949167
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darknms View Post
3 fans in the front intake. 2 on the radiator. 2 on the top exhaust. 1 in the rear exhaust. All 120mm
Radiator front or top? It doesn't matter for the fan wiring stuff, but I am still trying to verify you are going to run two pairs of fans on the radiator (push-pull). That tends to be a nagging control issue, depending on tools available.

Commander Pro has two USB 2.0 ports (requires one board port). It would allow you move the H100i over to it and free up the other.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-08-2018, 02:30 PM
Darknms Darknms is offline
Registered User
Darknms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 949217
Darknms Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Radiator front or top? It doesn't matter for the fan wiring stuff, but I am still trying to verify you are going to run two pairs of fans on the radiator (push-pull). That tends to be a nagging control issue, depending on tools available.

Commander Pro has two USB 2.0 ports (requires one board port). It would allow you move the H100i over to it and free up the other.
Radiator is in front. Currently I have different fans in the case so I have 8 case fans now just the 2 radiator ones are not led. Right now I am running 6 sp120 RGB fans and 2 of the fans that came with the h100i. Also the commander pro has to plug into a usb 2.0 on the motherboard right? So then I would have one USB 2.0 left on the commander pro after connecting the h100 i and then I need one for the node pro. I dont know if anything else needs it.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
cooling, corsair link, hd120 corsair fans, node pro, rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.