The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2018, 05:46 AM
Midiamp Midiamp is offline
Registered User
Midiamp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 978577
Midiamp Reputation: 10
Default How to mix LL120 and ML140 lighting in one lighting node? [solved]

So, I'm in a conundrum here. I have one LL120 and two ML140 but one lighting node pro and RGB hub. I bought a single pack LL120 a year ago for proof of concept about all this RGB trend. I'm not sold to RGB, it's just too distracting. However I do find physically showing the processor temperature is quite useful.

So the thing is my previous lighting node pro was a borrowed item and the owner requested it back, so I just bought an ML140 2 pack to specifically buy the lighting node... Now, I just know that I can't link the LL120 and ML140 on one channel. Is there anything I could do without buying an extra multi pack of Corsair's RGB fan?

The usage scenario is quite simple, the LL120 on exhaust displays temperature, while the front ML140 on intake as static lighting.

Last edited by Midiamp; 11-02-2018 at 09:59 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-02-2018, 07:55 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,392
POST ID # = 978597
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Well ... you can put them on the same fan hub. However, you'd have to configure them as 2 LL fans and some effects may be odd. The ML fans will map to 4 LEDs on one of the "LL" fans in the configuration.

So ... I'd suggest putting the LL fan on the first port and the ML fan(s) on the second.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-02-2018, 08:20 AM
Midiamp Midiamp is offline
Registered User
Midiamp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 978601
Midiamp Reputation: 10
Default

Wow thanks, didn't know I can do that. I do have another issue with the fan speed, now I'm putting it back in the box to send it back for checking. I'm definitely going to try it after done checking it.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-02-2018, 08:30 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,392
POST ID # = 978602
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

What's the issue with fan speed?

One thing to now about the ML fans ... they MUST be on a PWM header; they do require the full 12V at all times. Most other fans can go either way.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-02-2018, 09:58 AM
Midiamp Midiamp is offline
Registered User
Midiamp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 978624
Midiamp Reputation: 10
Default

It worked, but I have to set the fan type to HD RGB series. All lights up now, it's not exactly what I wanted but hey, at least I got my money's worth.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:01 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,392
POST ID # = 978625
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Odd.

You can set them up as LL series as well. It's a matter of LED count. The protocol for the ML (4 LEDs), HD (12 LEDs) and LL (16 LEDs) fans and the RGB Strips (10 LEDs) is the same.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:52 AM
Midiamp Midiamp is offline
Registered User
Midiamp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 978635
Midiamp Reputation: 10
Default

Maybe it's the new iCue protocol? When I select LL as the fan type, by default no RGB at all. However when I go to the effect setup (the one with the dots) I can select the region of the RGB. The odd thing is that whenever I set the region of the RGB on each group (the LL and ML), only one group's RGB turned on, while the other automatically turned off. It's not until I set to HD RGB, then all fan's RGB lights up. All effect runs as it should, so I don't know if it's unintended bug, but it's one fine bug that I hope won't get fixed.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:58 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,392
POST ID # = 978639
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

No, there is no "iCue Protocol" for the RGB LEDs. They are WS2812B LEDs. My guess is that you've got something not quite right in the configuration.

I've run:
HD and ML combined (configured as HDs)
ML and strips combined (configured as LLs)
LL and HD combined (configued as LLs)
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
lighting node pro, ll120, ll140

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.