The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2020, 04:36 PM
deakoi deakoi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1038826
deakoi Reputation: 10
Default Upgrading from ML120 non RGB to QL120

I have the PC011 with the h150i pro and 6 ML120 (non RGB) fans connected to the Commander Pro. I want to upgrade all but the h150i fans to QL120 fans. Am i correct in that I would need 1 Lighting Node CORE for the RGB connectors and then connect the other cables to the Commander Pro? Both seem to have 6 connectors each.

I'm a building noob so haven't tried this before but wanted to try and exchange the fans myself this time instead of paying some shop to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2020, 04:47 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,567
POST ID # = 1038829
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

There are a couple different ways you could do this, but I think the easiest is to use the Lighting Node Core that comes in the QL120 multi-pack and it will plug into the USB 2 passthrough on the Commander Pro. It will appear in iCUE as a separate device and you will have full lighting control there, plus fan speed control from the Commander Pro panel (assuming fan wires go back to that device).

If you have a RGB Lighting Hub lying around, that can also take 6 QL and plug into the Commander Pro via the RGB Channel jack. That would make the lighting and fan speed under the same device.

Both methods use the same number of SATA power sources and a Lighting Node Core is really just a combo LNP + RGB Hub in one package.

Last edited by c-attack; 03-25-2020 at 04:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2020, 04:48 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,416
POST ID # = 1038830
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Yes, that would work.
If you have an RGB Fan LED Hub, you can forego the Lighting Node Core and connect the fans to that and the Fan Hub to the CoPro.
Both are options.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.