The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2020, 03:14 PM
ste_p0270 ste_p0270 is offline
Registered User
ste_p0270's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1036686
ste_p0270 Reputation: 10
Default Odd fan speeds

Hi All,

Just upgraded my pc and now have an issue with the Case fans spinning quicker and with an odd pulse..

Hardware:-

Corsair 465X Case
Ryzen 3600X CPU
Radeon RX5700XT GPU
Asus B450M-K Mobo
16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance RAM
1TB NvME
Corsair Commander Pro / RGB Hub
H100i Platinum AIO

Basically I have swapped out a A320M-K Mobo and Ryzen 2600 CPU for the 450 / 3600X combo.

Prior to my upgrade, the case fans connected to the Commander Pro would run at around 800rpm when not under any load, set as "quiet".

Now for some reason, they idle at around 1000rpm then pulse at around 1400rpm

The fans are set to "quiet" in iCue software but seem to be running at the speed you would expect to see when the "balanced" option is selected.

Anyone have any idea what may be causing this?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-03-2020, 04:05 PM
PJH's Avatar
PJH PJH is offline
Registered User
PJH's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 273
POST ID # = 1036689
PJH Reputation: 20
Default

Hey, hey!

Make a custom fan curve is the best option here and make sure the sensor is not set to your cpu either.

Last edited by PJH; 03-03-2020 at 04:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-03-2020, 04:30 PM
ste_p0270 ste_p0270 is offline
Registered User
ste_p0270's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1036692
ste_p0270 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,

Sorry, complete n00b here when it comes to custom fans curves and stuff.. where / how? :D
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-03-2020, 05:24 PM
ste_p0270 ste_p0270 is offline
Registered User
ste_p0270's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1036697
ste_p0270 Reputation: 10
Default

*edit*

Think i sussed it.

All seems good at the moment.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-03-2020, 05:55 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,282
POST ID # = 1036702
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 122
Default

The default Quiet/Balanced/Extreme presets on the Commander Pro are based on CPU temperature. This is not an ideal choice by any means, but it is the only thing every PC system is guaranteed to have. As a result, small changes in CPU behavior can be very noticeable. Nobody needs their case fans to ramp up because they are playing music in the background and 1-2 cores are working on iTunes. This is especially true for the last round of AMD and Intel CPUs that react strongly to any work demand. No correlation between CPU temp and case fan function, so it doesn't help there either. The exception might be if you are running a air tower pair of fans from the C-Pro, but that is the one job most motherboard CPU fan headers can do better.

As mentioned above, the best thing you can do is get on your own designed curves as soon as possible. It's better control and likely more user friendly. The immediate quick change solutions are to use GPU temp for people that often run mixed load types like gaming and renders or you can use coolant temperature (H1xx Temp) for those using Corsair AIO coolers.

The most efficient control variable will be the temp probes or any other 10K thermistor connected to the C-Pro's 4 slots. Case fans help regulate case ambient temperature, so this is the natural fit. Where you stick those is up to you, but most people can get by with two -- one at the rear exhaust and one at the front intake. This essentially gives you in/out air temp. The trickier part is figuring out your normal temperature range so you can make an appropriate curve. That does take more time to learn, but ultimately may be more useful for some users.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-04-2020, 05:57 AM
ste_p0270 ste_p0270 is offline
Registered User
ste_p0270's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1036760
ste_p0270 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi c-attack,

Thanks for the comprehensive reply.

I have set the case fans to a less harsh ramp up based on the temp of the H100i. This seems to have had the desired effect.

I do have the temp sensors that came with the C-Pro, connecting them to the C-Pro is easy enough, but where would I attach on to the H100i? Do they physically go between the CPU and H100i copper plate?

Thanks again for your input. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-04-2020, 06:52 AM
Baio Baio is offline
Registered User
Baio's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 393
POST ID # = 1036768
Baio Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ste_p0270 View Post
Hi c-attack,

Thanks for the comprehensive reply.

I have set the case fans to a less harsh ramp up based on the temp of the H100i. This seems to have had the desired effect.

I do have the temp sensors that came with the C-Pro, connecting them to the C-Pro is easy enough, but where would I attach on to the H100i? Do they physically go between the CPU and H100i copper plate?

Thanks again for your input. Much appreciated.
Usually it's a good idea to put those sensors in strategic points of the case.
Air intake zone, air output zone, CPU and VGA zones.
I've written "zones" as it's obviously quite impossible to put them between the CPU and the AIO (for example), as they could even degradate performances.

Baio

Last edited by Baio; 03-04-2020 at 06:54 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-04-2020, 08:52 AM
ste_p0270 ste_p0270 is offline
Registered User
ste_p0270's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1036780
ste_p0270 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply Baio.

I'll have a look when I get home.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-04-2020, 05:32 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,282
POST ID # = 1036822
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 122
Default

As suggested above, you don't want contact between the sensor end and anything else. It measures air temp. If you make contact with something conductive, you usually get garbage values back.

Depending on how you orientated the case relative your viewing angle, you could run one out the back and tape it to the rear exhaust. If the H100i Plat is on the front, you could also run the "exhaust wire" up the top rear fan. Really makes no difference for the sensor, so take the best wiring choice. If the H100i Plat is on the front, you could tape it behind the radiator, although you will already know your radiator exhaust temp. It will be essentially the same as the coolant temp or H100i Temp. You might put it behind or in front of the single exposed fan or in front of the radiator to get actual intake air temp. Again, go with the best and cleanest wiring option. This one is going to be a data point rather than a control point.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-05-2020, 03:01 PM
ste_p0270 ste_p0270 is offline
Registered User
ste_p0270's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1036932
ste_p0270 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the replies all. I'm going to wait until the weekend before adding the extra temp sensors. All seems good at the moment but i haven't really taxed the build too much if i'm being honest.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.