The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2020, 12:47 PM
Areksoo Areksoo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1031083
Areksoo Reputation: 10
Default Obsidian Series 1000D - help with multiple Commander Pros

I'm helping a friend build his ultimate machine. Need some conformation I set this up right. Here's the fans setup:

Front: 2x480 in push/pull --> 8 RGB fans and 8 non-RGB fans (all 120 size)
Top: 1x420 in push --> 3 RGB fans (all 140 size)
Back: 1x240 in pull --> 2 non-RGB fans (all 120 size)

Command Pro 1 has 6 of the Front RGB fans to a Commander Pro and 6 RGBs are connected to a RGB hub which is connected to the same Commander Pro.

Commander Pro 2 has 6 of the front non-RGB fans to a Commander Pro and the remaining 2 RGB at the front and the RGB for the Top 3 fans is connected to an RGB Hub which is connected to the same Commander Pro.

Commander Pro 3 has 2 of the remaining Front RGB fans, 2 of the remaining non-RGB fans, and 2 140mm fans. It has Commander Pro 1 and Commander Pro 2 connected by USB. Also the front IO LED is connected.

Commander Pro 3 is then connected to the mobo via USB and the remaining fans are just connected via fan ports on the mobo.

Questions:

1. Would it be better to have all the 140mm fans connected to the mobo, so that all the fans on the Commander Pros are 120mm or does that not matter?

2. I'm using 3 Commander Pros and 2 RGB Hubs, does that means all 5 components need to be connected to SATA for power?

3. Any suggestions that could improve the set up?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-13-2020, 05:30 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 602
POST ID # = 1031241
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

1. It doesn't matter. But obviously you will need to control the fans via the motherboard BIOS/software if you connect the fan to the motherboard.

2. Yes that's correct.

3. I have none.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-14-2020, 12:03 AM
Areksoo Areksoo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1031275
Areksoo Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
1. It doesn't matter. But obviously you will need to control the fans via the motherboard BIOS/software if you connect the fan to the motherboard.

2. Yes that's correct.

3. I have none.
Thanks for the confirmation!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.