The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:13 PM
skylined45 skylined45 is offline
Registered User
skylined45's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 1006960
skylined45 Reputation: 10
Default Corsair LL120 RGB not working

Hello!

Hoping for some help. I just installed 4 LL120 fans in my case, as well as an H100i platinum SE cooler.

The cooler is working - it shows up in USBDeview, iCUE, is pumping and cooling, can do cartwheels, etc. It's great.

The 4 LL120 fans do not show up as a USB device at all. I have the 4 fans connected to the hub that came with the 3-fan set, and then the hub connected to the other hub. I re-seated the USB connection to the header on my motherboard, disabled fast startup in my BIOS, looked for any loose wires. Can't figure out why it is not being detected.

The fans are spinning and detected in BIOS, however the lighting node pro isn't showing up as an active USB device.

ASUS Z170a motherboard with most recent bios
Win10 64bit
i7 6700k processor
750w power supply

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2019, 04:54 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1007043
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

The fans aren't auto-detected by the system. They need to be set in iCUE in the Lighting Setup settings for your Lighting Node Pro or Commander Pro:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2019, 05:14 PM
skylined45 skylined45 is offline
Registered User
skylined45's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 1007046
skylined45 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks, but I can't set up the fans themselves because they aren't being detected by iCUE or Link software.

They don't exist within the software. iCUE sees my H100i just fine, but not my 4 separate fans or, now, my RGB pro ram that I just installed.

edit - I just 'repaired' the iCUE program through add/remove in Windows and iCUE now sees my RGB ram. But still doesn't detect my 4 fans on the hub.

It seems the software doesn't have a very high *sunglasses*..... IQ.

Last edited by skylined45; 06-05-2019 at 05:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2019, 06:45 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,647
POST ID # = 1007051
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Does iCUE show the Lighting Node Pro?
I thing that's what you mean when you say "the hub connected to the other hub" - one of those "hubs" should be a Lighting Node Pro.

Check out the RGB FAQ linked in my signature for the names of the devices with pictures. It's super-helpful if we're all using the same lingo so we can fully understand and diagnose issues.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2019, 07:34 PM
skylined45 skylined45 is offline
Registered User
skylined45's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 1007056
skylined45 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Does iCUE show the Lighting Node Pro?
I thing that's what you mean when you say "the hub connected to the other hub" - one of those "hubs" should be a Lighting Node Pro.

Check out the RGB FAQ linked in my signature for the names of the devices with pictures. It's super-helpful if we're all using the same lingo so we can fully understand and diagnose issues.
Hello sir. No, iCUE does not see the lighting node pro. It does not show up in USBdeview either. The H100i does without issue as does the Corsair RBG ram I installed today.

Someone on reddit reports having the same problem with the same asus z170a mobo. Wondering if it’s a mobo issue but not sure how to drill down to that.

Last edited by skylined45; 06-05-2019 at 07:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2019, 08:21 PM
skylined45 skylined45 is offline
Registered User
skylined45's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 1007063
skylined45 Reputation: 10
Default

This seems like a .....not so great fix on the same motherboard.

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=997986
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2019, 08:41 PM
skylined45 skylined45 is offline
Registered User
skylined45's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 1007064
skylined45 Reputation: 10
Default

Hopefully some more info may help anyone reading that has any idea what to do.

I swapped the H100i and lighting node pro's USB connections to opposite headers. One of the two RGB fans on the H100i briefly turned off and on, but otherwise it is still detected in iCUE and working as intended. The lighting node pro is still not being detected.

Looking in USB Device Tree, I see the H100i using port 13 on one of my USB2.0 header. The lighting node pro is seated on the port 11/12 header, which does not show as anything being connected (but I know the header is fine, because the H100i will run off of it as intended).

Here is the manual for my motherboard: https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._UM_V2_WEB.pdf

So I am guessing either my lighting node pro is not working or the LED hub is not working. Is there any way to confirm this relatively quickly?


edit aaaand more people having this issue with this motherboard - maybe yall have some compatibility issues? https://forums.tomshardware.com/thre...-help.3231524/

Last edited by skylined45; 06-05-2019 at 08:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2019, 09:40 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,647
POST ID # = 1007072
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The compatibility issue, if any, would like lie with Asus. The "fix" on that previous thread seemed to indicate that removing the +5V worked ... which is really, really, really odd. I'd be taking a multimeter to that puppy, personally.

For your issue - I would suggest next trying a standard micro USB cable and plugging the LNP into the back of the system. If it's detected, then it's either the cable or the motherboard. Note that the LNP won't need SATA power to be detected if it's plugged into USB.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2019, 05:56 AM
skylined45 skylined45 is offline
Registered User
skylined45's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 1007112
skylined45 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The compatibility issue, if any, would like lie with Asus. The "fix" on that previous thread seemed to indicate that removing the +5V worked ... which is really, really, really odd. I'd be taking a multimeter to that puppy, personally.

For your issue - I would suggest next trying a standard micro USB cable and plugging the LNP into the back of the system. If it's detected, then it's either the cable or the motherboard. Note that the LNP won't need SATA power to be detected if it's plugged into USB.

So I have a micro USB cable plugged into the lighting node pro, to a working port on my back i/o panel. The port works fine - it detects a wired mouse, iphone, etc. The cable also works with other devices. iCUE, USB tree and USBDeview do not see the lighting node pro.

I've turned off fast startup in windows and in my bios. xHCI is not a controller I can turn on or off but my bios says it detects 3 items as xHCI. All my USB ports are enabled in bios. Beginning to think either the lighting node just won't ever be recognized by this mobo, or the node itself is bad.

I'll have a new mobo by Friday and will test it with it... hope that's the issue!

Last edited by skylined45; 06-06-2019 at 05:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-2019, 07:34 PM
skylined45 skylined45 is offline
Registered User
skylined45's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 1007299
skylined45 Reputation: 10
Default

So I upgraded to a Z390 aorus pro from gigabyte (to go with a new 9900k) and everything is working fine. Looks like a conflict between the motherboard and the LNP.

Thanks for the help - hope anyone else struggling with this issue with these components can find this and rest assured knowing it's just a compatibility issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.