The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 44 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-10-2013, 01:52 AM
ShavedApe ShavedApe is offline
Registered User
ShavedApe's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 677892
ShavedApe Reputation: 10
Default

I would like to see an update on this, while windows 8.1 was in preview I could understand it not working in the early stages but its now less than a week away from release.

Are you working on it? will it be soon? Games like battlefield 4 are said to work better in 8.1 but those of us with corsair headsets wont be able to use it if we want to use our headsets. Makes my decisions on which headset to buy next a very easy one.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 10-10-2013, 03:49 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,342
POST ID # = 677903
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Corsair does not provide ETAs (Approximate time) for software/firmware releases so we won't know how long it will take for them to release new drivers for Windows 8.1.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 10-10-2013, 11:31 AM
ExPeacer ExPeacer is offline
Registered User
ExPeacer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 677932
ExPeacer Reputation: 10
Default

Today I bought a Vengeance 1500. I now found this thread, and I have the same problem. I can't select other source then Stereo. Sadly, I need to bring back, and change it to other headset.
I'm really sad, because I really like this design, and it's very comfortable, but I have better stereo headphone, and I can't use the 7.1 function...

Any possible answer, or solution for this problem? I don't want to bring this headset back...
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 10-11-2013, 12:59 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,342
POST ID # = 678030
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Unfortunately, we need to wait for a new driver release that supports Windows 8.1.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 10-11-2013, 07:24 AM
ExPeacer ExPeacer is offline
Registered User
ExPeacer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 678041
ExPeacer Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, sadly I got it. Almost if anybody from support drop us for a little message like: "Guys, chill, we're working in driver update, we will release it in near future" - I don't wanna bring it back, and I'll wait for driver update.
But now... I'm not really sure they will ever release it...
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 10-13-2013, 10:53 AM
ShavedApe ShavedApe is offline
Registered User
ShavedApe's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 678312
ShavedApe Reputation: 10
Default

So I should just assume they will make a driver that works with windows 8.1.

You know in my business we use this saying a lot, "when you assume you make an a*s out of u and me".

It would be nice to get some official word. Is there a chance I will need to buy a new headset if I want to use windows 8.1?
Is a driver being worked on?
Its not a difficult question and the answer gives very little if any secrets away and considering how close windows 8.1 is to release I dont think its an unreasonable question to ask.
So if someone that actually works for support could at least let us know they are working on it then it would put many peoples minds at rest including my own and no doubt that of potential customers.

Based on the build quality I have found with my corsair products of late simply choosing to be silent just drives me even further away in the future.

Last edited by ShavedApe; 10-13-2013 at 12:13 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 10-14-2013, 02:42 AM
ExPeacer ExPeacer is offline
Registered User
ExPeacer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 678376
ExPeacer Reputation: 10
Default

I got this answer from support:

"We hope to have a new version of the software in the next few weeks to address this issue."

Btw, I think go and write your issues to support - if more people do this, I hope they'll release it faster.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 10-16-2013, 11:27 AM
ShavedApe ShavedApe is offline
Registered User
ShavedApe's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 678732
ShavedApe Reputation: 10
Default

I did write my issues to support (10/14/2013 7:52 AM) but as yet have received no reply. The customer service from this company goes from bad to worse.

*edit*

Ticket was updated today (10/17/2013 10:37 AM)

We are currently working with Microsoft to purchase the right to their driver certification so it may take some time. Regardless, we will post onto our forums regarding this information.

Last edited by ShavedApe; 10-17-2013 at 02:51 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 10-17-2013, 12:43 PM
Detergent Detergent is offline
Registered User
Detergent's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 678860
Detergent Reputation: 10
Default

When the (WIN 8.1) update came out today I updated my system, and expected no big problems.

However, surround sound doesn't work anymore. I can't enable it in the headset control panel as the source type, nor can I enable surround sound in Windows itself.

Considering that this headset is relatively new, I'm hopeful that there will be a driver that fixes this problem.

Last edited by Detergent; 10-17-2013 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 10-17-2013, 02:52 PM
ShavedApe ShavedApe is offline
Registered User
ShavedApe's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 678873
ShavedApe Reputation: 10
Default

I did post a support ticket about this a few days ago and today I got this reply.

"We are currently working with Microsoft to purchase the right to their driver certification so it may take some time. Regardless, we will post onto our forums regarding this information. "
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 10-17-2013, 03:55 PM
Detergent Detergent is offline
Registered User
Detergent's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 678887
Detergent Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShavedApe View Post
I did post a support ticket about this a few days ago and today I got this reply.

"We are currently working with Microsoft to purchase the right to their driver certification so it may take some time. Regardless, we will post onto our forums regarding this information. "
What a shame. And I was thinking it would be a matter of days.

Last edited by Detergent; 10-18-2013 at 08:36 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 10-17-2013, 06:32 PM
ShavedApe ShavedApe is offline
Registered User
ShavedApe's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 678911
ShavedApe Reputation: 10
Default

I wouldn't mind a temporary solution to this while we wait for the official drivers if thats at all possible.

I am more than happy to install beta drivers if it gives me my 7.1 options back, I dont really care if a driver is signed or not so long as it works.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 10-18-2013, 03:12 AM
Neg1 Neg1 is offline
Registered User
Neg1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 678954
Neg1 Reputation: 10
Default

I think this is bull**** that they don't have a working driver out for Windows 8.1. 8.1 preview has been out since May and RTM for over a month. That was more than enough time for corsairs competitors to put out working drivers.
The previous drivers were bad enough and now we only have a driver that does 2.0 audio for a device thats advertised as 7.1, come on.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 10-18-2013, 04:43 AM
Purify Purify is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 678956
Purify Reputation: 10
Default

Some people are lucky apparently. Mine don't work at all after the 8.1 update. :( How long will it be until this gets addressed?
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 10-18-2013, 08:28 AM
Detergent Detergent is offline
Registered User
Detergent's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 678984
Detergent Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShavedApe View Post
I wouldn't mind a temporary solution to this while we wait for the official drivers if thats at all possible.

I am more than happy to install beta drivers if it gives me my 7.1 options back, I dont really care if a driver is signed or not so long as it works.
I agree. If they would upload an uncertified beta driver on the Corsair website that fixes the problem, I could happily accept that as a temporary solution.

Last edited by Detergent; 10-18-2013 at 08:34 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.