The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2013, 11:25 PM
zen1 zen1 is offline
Budget Overclocker
zen1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 657896
zen1 Reputation: 10
Default GPU power node compatibility with power hungry cards

First off, I love the Corsair link concept, but in my OPINION it really is poorly implemented and should really be sold as a Beta product. I've been using the link commander for 6 months now.

I just upgraded my video card from a hd6850 to a hd7950. I noticed a few issues I wanted to share with the community.
-First, the GPU power node has a max readout of 150W. This was fine for the 6850 as with overclocking on air I never went over about 145W.
- Second, The hd7950 requires more than 150W and it has a "boost" clock that turns on and off when it has the power to do so. When connected to the node it erratically jumps between the boost and stock clocks, causing flickering and low performance. When I plug it strait into my Corsair AX750 it sits comfortably at the boost clock and all issues subside.

I simply wanted to bring this to the attention of the community and developers, as I believe this is something that potentially should be placed on the products list of requirements. I know this caused me some grief as my new card wasn't performing as it should have.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-07-2013, 03:22 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 658021
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am looking into this and will reply ASAP with more details, however each dongle will be rated at 18 Amps and if your Video card uses more than 150 Watts it will use 2 6+2 PCI-E Cables allowing up to 18 Amps each which the GPU Node will monitor with out problems.
18 Amps at 12 Volts = 216 Watts per dongle.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-07-2013, 05:34 PM
zen1 zen1 is offline
Budget Overclocker
zen1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 658046
zen1 Reputation: 10
Default Followup

Ok, I grabbed a few screen shots to demonstrate the issue. After looking into the issue further, I don't believe this is an issue that would effect the average Power User. In this example I'm using bitcoin mining. You can see the performance change in Mhash/s in the bottom right corner.

Ramguy, after explaining the power ratings, I see where my issues are coming from. I'm simply demanding more power than the 6 pin PCI-E connection is rated for. Your quick response was appreciated and I Thank You.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg With node.jpg (348.3 KB, 299 views)
File Type: jpg Without node.jpg (331.6 KB, 276 views)

Last edited by zen1; 06-07-2013 at 05:38 PM. Reason: Sudden realization.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
gpu, power

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.