The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2014, 05:02 PM
Meervluis Meervluis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 695172
Meervluis Reputation: 10
Default Corsair 1500 Vengeance high volume/low mic

hey people,

I just bought two Corsair 1500 Vengeance headset after reading really possitive reviews about them.
I have one plugged into a Asus N75SF laptop and the other is plugged into an Acer Predator PC, and on both computers I get the same problems.

1st. The volume of the headset is incredibly loud (i've read multiple forum threads about this but i could not find a suitable fix).

2nd. The microphone volume, when set to 100%, is fair but not really loud or anything.

I'm just a bit puzzled at the moment, i've tried installing the original drivers, then the 1.1.1 drivers and now the new Beta 2.0.23. But sadly this did nothing to fix the problem.

I'm hoping that either someone has a solution or someone from Corsair knows a solution (or is working on one).

Thanks in advance,
Meervluis
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-30-2014, 05:45 PM
Meervluis Meervluis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 695176
Meervluis Reputation: 10
Default

After doing a little search i did come accross this:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/equalizerapo/ Which can decrease your volume

Except i was only able to fix either the Microphone boost or Lower the volume of the headset itself.. Not both.

Still, any help appreciated
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-30-2014, 05:55 PM
Meervluis Meervluis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 695179
Meervluis Reputation: 10
Default

Allright - sorry for posting when i actually fixed it.

The program i linked above can be used for both microphone and speakers
You install the program, restart windows and edit the config.txt
You don't have to restart each time you edit the txt file, it's done on the fly.

Copy this into your config.txt (this is language specific, i'm dutch hence the following things: Microfoon->Microphone | Luidsprekers->Speakers)

<----Config.txt-------------------------------------->
Device: Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset Luidsprekers
Preamp: -14db

Device: Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset Microfoon
Preamp: +20db
<----end file----------------------------------------->

Allright i hope other people will find this usefull,
Meervluis

PS.
Could you please fix this issue at Corsair?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-30-2014, 08:21 PM
Civrock Civrock is offline
Registered User
Civrock's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 695192
Civrock Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meervluis View Post
Allright - sorry for posting when i actually fixed it.

The program i linked above can be used for both microphone and speakers
You install the program, restart windows and edit the config.txt
You don't have to restart each time you edit the txt file, it's done on the fly.

Copy this into your config.txt (this is language specific, i'm dutch hence the following things: Microfoon->Microphone | Luidsprekers->Speakers)

<----Config.txt-------------------------------------->
Device: Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset Luidsprekers
Preamp: -14db

Device: Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset Microfoon
Preamp: +20db
<----end file----------------------------------------->

Allright i hope other people will find this usefull,
Meervluis

PS.
Could you please fix this issue at Corsair?
This worked perfectly to fix the mic input volume issue, thank you!
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-31-2014, 07:05 PM
ramzanox ramzanox is offline
Registered User
ramzanox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 695326
ramzanox Reputation: 10
Default

that helped for my headset, made the preamp -30db now the volume can be 20/100.
was before 2/100
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-01-2014, 11:21 AM
Meervluis Meervluis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 695402
Meervluis Reputation: 10
Default

I checked out the issue a bit more, but sadly enough it seems to be a problem of Microsoft more then Corsair.
Apparantly USB Headsets react differently on different systems, i've spoken to people who use the Steel Series USB headsets (also not the cheapest) and they encounter the same issues.

On my Acer Predator PC i wasn't able to boost the microphone 20+ dB because it would just stop working. I'm going to check out some more (maybe better) programs to fix this problem.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-01-2014, 11:26 AM
Civrock Civrock is offline
Registered User
Civrock's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 695403
Civrock Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meervluis View Post
I checked out the issue a bit more, but sadly enough it seems to be a problem of Microsoft more then Corsair.
Apparantly USB Headsets react differently on different systems, i've spoken to people who use the Steel Series USB headsets (also not the cheapest) and they encounter the same issues.

On my Acer Predator PC i wasn't able to boost the microphone 20+ dB because it would just stop working. I'm going to check out some more (maybe better) programs to fix this problem.
My old Steelseries 5Hv2 USB has a Automatic Gain Control (AGC) toggle under Microphone in the Recording settings that seems to boost mic input volume sufficiently. No such option with my Corsair 1500v2 USB.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-01-2014, 11:27 AM
Meervluis Meervluis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 695404
Meervluis Reputation: 10
Default

Hrm, now i have a different problem.

I have two Corsair USB 1500 Headsets, and when i use one PC where i boost my microphone to +20dB the headsets react differently:

headset 1) perfect sound
headset 2) sound starts breaking up/goes away completely

Do i have a faulty microphone?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-04-2014, 07:28 AM
ramzanox ramzanox is offline
Registered User
ramzanox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 695790
ramzanox Reputation: 10
Default

i tested with win 8.1pro and with wmware win xp sp3 and both have too loud sound
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-04-2014, 09:30 AM
ramzanox ramzanox is offline
Registered User
ramzanox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 695799
ramzanox Reputation: 10
Default

with no driver installed i can have the sound on 8/100
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-30-2014, 07:04 PM
Nilex Nilex is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 750078
Nilex Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meervluis View Post
Hrm, now i have a different problem.

I have two Corsair USB 1500 Headsets, and when i use one PC where i boost my microphone to +20dB the headsets react differently:

headset 1) perfect sound
headset 2) sound starts breaking up/goes away completely

Do i have a faulty microphone?
Hey, how could you boost your mic? (im also dutch) I've tried everything, microfoon, microphone, corsair H1500 Headset, corsair h1500 headset microfoon, including the ID that Equalizer. None of em worked, im on 8.1 tho no idea if that would matters and my OS is in dutch
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-01-2015, 06:18 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 750293
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Using EqualizerAPO as mentioned in posts 2 and 3 or click the thread below.

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=123956
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-05-2015, 09:42 PM
AlexT96 AlexT96 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 783239
AlexT96 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilex View Post
Hey, how could you boost your mic? (im also dutch) I've tried everything, microfoon, microphone, corsair H1500 Headset, corsair h1500 headset microfoon, including the ID that Equalizer. None of em worked, im on 8.1 tho no idea if that would matters and my OS is in dutch
For it to work for me on Windows 8.1 I had to get rid of the word Headset so now it looks like this for me, you should just need to change the words speaker and microphone :)

<----Config.txt-------------------------------------->
Device: Corsair Vengeance 1500 Speakers
Preamp: -11db

Device: Corsair Vengeance 1500 Microphone
Preamp: +20db
<----end file----------------------------------------->
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-28-2017, 08:31 AM
SynO SynO is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 905975
SynO Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meervluis View Post
After doing a little search i did come accross this:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/equalizerapo/ Which can decrease your volume

Except i was only able to fix either the Microphone boost or Lower the volume of the headset itself.. Not both.

Still, any help appreciated


I Know that this is old but still I NEED HELP, ok so i downloaded this and restarted my computer, and now i can't talk in any games whatsoever!

PLEASE I NEED HELP
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-02-2017, 10:06 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 906505
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Double check your recording settings in Windows and the recording application/games.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
1500, microphone, vengeance, volume

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.