The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2018, 04:57 PM
AlexDorado AlexDorado is offline
Registered User
AlexDorado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 979827
AlexDorado Reputation: 10
Default Does the Corsair H100i V2 come with the amd am4 bracket yet?

i am looking to upgrade my PC and i also want to get the Corsair H100i V2 but I am wondering if it comes with the AMD AM4 bracket right out of the box or will i have to order it separate .
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-11-2018, 12:25 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,388
POST ID # = 979868
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

First, at this point, I'd get the Pro or Platinum. The V2 is EOL.

And both of them come with the AM4 bracket.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-11-2018, 10:31 AM
AlexDorado AlexDorado is offline
Registered User
AlexDorado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 979905
AlexDorado Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
First, at this point, I'd get the Pro or Platinum. The V2 is EOL.

And both of them come with the AM4 bracket.
Is there any real difference between the v2 and the pro
The upgrade i am making is getting a AMD Ryzen 7 1700x and getting the Corsair 460x case and getting the corsair H100i v2
But if there is any real difference let me know please and thanks for the reply.

Last edited by AlexDorado; 11-11-2018 at 10:34 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-11-2018, 10:36 AM
AlexDorado AlexDorado is offline
Registered User
AlexDorado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 979906
AlexDorado Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
First, at this point, I'd get the Pro or Platinum. The V2 is EOL.

And both of them come with the AM4 bracket.
Another question i have is will it fit the MSI B350M PRO-VDH motherboard without an adapter sorry for all the question im a noob
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-11-2018, 11:26 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,388
POST ID # = 979910
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Yes, there is a real and substantial difference between the two. The Pro has a newer pump design (internal) and is a couple of generations ahead of the V2. The Pro also comes with ML fans (non-RGB) that are significantly quieter than the SPs that come with the V2.

The Platinum is even more different. It has a CoolIt pump rather than an Asetek pump, so different OEM. It also comes with higher-speed ML-RGB fans.

Both come with all the mounting hardware required for the AM4 socket.

Any of them - quite honestly - will do a good job cooling your Ryzen 7. But why get an end-of-life product when you can get a current model?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-11-2018, 06:42 PM
AlexDorado AlexDorado is offline
Registered User
AlexDorado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 979972
AlexDorado Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Yes, there is a real and substantial difference between the two. The Pro has a newer pump design (internal) and is a couple of generations ahead of the V2. The Pro also comes with ML fans (non-RGB) that are significantly quieter than the SPs that come with the V2.

The Platinum is even more different. It has a CoolIt pump rather than an Asetek pump, so different OEM. It also comes with higher-speed ML-RGB fans.

Both come with all the mounting hardware required for the AM4 socket.

Any of them - quite honestly - will do a good job cooling your Ryzen 7. But why get an end-of-life product when you can get a current model?
Ok so i am getting to h100i pro but when i was watching installation guides on how to install the h100i pro, they said you need these two little black brackets that come on your motherboard when you get it, but when i got my motherboard i threw the two little black brackets away because to install the stock cooler for AMD you don't need that. Is there ANY other way to install it without those two little black brackets. Also thank you for the quick reply's.

Last edited by AlexDorado; 11-11-2018 at 06:46 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-11-2018, 07:26 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,388
POST ID # = 979987
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

No, there isn't. But those black brackets should be pretty easily available; I'm fairly certain that it's the same bracket used on AM2 and higher.

EDIT: No, apparently not quite. But ... https://www.amazon.com/PartsCollecti...ds=am4+bracket
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-11-2018, 09:12 PM
AlexDorado AlexDorado is offline
Registered User
AlexDorado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 979995
AlexDorado Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
No, there isn't. But those black brackets should be pretty easily available; I'm fairly certain that it's the same bracket used on AM2 and higher.

EDIT: No, apparently not quite. But ... https://www.amazon.com/PartsCollecti...ds=am4+bracket
Can i use this instead or not ... https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...s/p/CW-8960046
If not i will just buy an upgraded motherboard like a b450 instead of b350

Last edited by AlexDorado; 11-11-2018 at 09:15 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-11-2018, 10:51 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,388
POST ID # = 979998
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

That'll work for a H100i V2, not for the Pro. Assuming that the H100i doesn't come with it in the box - I'm not 100% sure if it'll be in the box.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-12-2018, 01:28 PM
Corsair Jam's Avatar
Corsair Jam Corsair Jam is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 215
POST ID # = 980089
Corsair Jam Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
That'll work for a H100i V2, not for the Pro. Assuming that the H100i doesn't come with it in the box - I'm not 100% sure if it'll be in the box.
Initially, they didn't come with it. We did update the package contents to include it. If the packaging states it supports AM4, it will have the included bracket.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
am4 bracket hydro series, h100i v2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.