The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2017, 11:51 AM
Lekoo Lekoo is offline
Registered User
Lekoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 911515
Lekoo Reputation: 10
Default How to connect 6+ corsair HD fans??

Hello,

I want to connect 8 corsair hd fans couple of them are 120mm and couple are 140mm. I have corsair fan hubs of course. I also have corsair lighting node pro and corsair commander pro.

Is there anyone who connect 6+ corsair fans via these 3 corsair devices and if yes how should I do this?

I was thinking to connect corsair hub (6fans) and lighting node pro to lighting node pro hub and then in commander pro to connect lighting node pro hub which has (6fan hub and led strips) and another fan hub as I need 2 fan hub for 8 fan connection.

What do you guys think ?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-13-2017, 10:17 PM
jwar jwar is offline
Registered User
jwar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 911592
jwar Reputation: 10
Default

I am in the same boat just saved up to the 589.00 to buy everything to install fans. Not sure which way to connect.
Note:
The fan hub with the dual 140mm rgb fans is only for leds not the fans themselves. I also believe that if you purchased 120 dual or tri-pak with fan hub that came with it too is only for the leds.


You may find your answer in my post some time ago about components needed to complete install linked here

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=168374

Last edited by jwar; 07-13-2017 at 10:21 PM. Reason: Add info
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-14-2017, 12:12 AM
Lekoo Lekoo is offline
Registered User
Lekoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 911607
Lekoo Reputation: 10
Default

I still dont know how to install properly. 6 is easy but for 8 no idea.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-14-2017, 02:27 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 911615
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lekoo View Post
I still dont know how to install properly. 6 is easy but for 8 no idea.
You either get 2 x CLCP or use 2 x http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/192243152136
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-14-2017, 10:26 AM
Lekoo Lekoo is offline
Registered User
Lekoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 911672
Lekoo Reputation: 10
Default

That doesn't have enough power to give to 2 Hd fans. I have places where to plug just how to connect them to Corsair link all together and how to connect them in corsair fan hub all... ??
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-14-2017, 10:39 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 911674
red-ray Reputation: 81
Sigh.. Yes it does

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lekoo View Post
That doesn't have enough power to give to 2 Hd fans. I have places where to plug just how to connect them to Corsair link all together and how to connect them in corsair fan hub all... ??
Yes it does and it if it didn't I would not have proposed this.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-14-2017, 06:10 PM
jwar jwar is offline
Registered User
jwar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 911721
jwar Reputation: 10
Default

Lekoo,

The Asus MB listed in your specs is capable of controlling all 8 fans. And yes you can operate two (2) fans on one fan port from the MB with the Referenced link from Red-Ray( fan splitter 4 pin) as long as you do not exceed 1 amp total.
Being that I currently own an ASUS MB Sabertooth fx99 V.2 that I use fan splitters on it to control multiple fans from single port.

My new build is the Asus Maximus IX Formula (same board listed in your specs) and it has 8 ports for fans see Chapter 1 section 1-25 aka page 1-25 of the OEM regarding fan connections. The page also list the max amperage per connector and how to set them up in the bios.

Since all your fans listed in this post are the HD RGB be it the 120mm or 140mm they are pwm 4 pin. And will require you to set them in Bios if you go the MB route to PWM.

As for your LED control you will need either the Commander Pro or the LNP (Lighting Node Pro) Note the RGB ports on the ASUS MB are for 12 volt 5050 led standard and will not work with Corsair led strips THAT ARE 5 volt And since like me you have more than 6 FANS THAT REQUIRES YOU TO USE EITHER OF (2 each LNP or Commander Pro) THE ABOVE MENTIONED PRODUCTS.

As for myself and my ASUS MB I choose to go the Corsair way and not use any ports on the MB (with the exception of the AIO and its fans controlled by MB AIO port) and use 2 each Commander Pro. That gives me a total of 12 fan ports and 4 led ports to use to power all fans and leds of the fans and any strips I install into my case the ThermalTake Core X5.

Note not sure how you purchased your RGB HD fans if single pack you will need the Fan hub controller that comes with the dual and triple pack of HD RGB fans to control the LEDS. Corsair PN CO-8950020 Corsair RGB Fan LED Hub link to the page it is 9.99 from Corsair http://www.corsair.com/en-us/corsair-rgb-fan-led-hub

Now to the gist you will plug the fan connectors into either your MB (up to 8 fans expandible with splitters) or Commander Pro( CP ) (6 fans per unit)or Lighting Node Pro (LNP)(6 fans per unit) whatever you so choose. The Led connector will first have to be plugged into the Corsair RGB Fan led hub and then connected to the LNP OR CP. The led ports on the LNP and the CP can control 6 led fans or 4 led Corsair strips (note others ,Red-Ray included have tested 3rd party led to 72 leds total see those post) so one either of each LNP / CP can control your leds but not all your fans

The CP or the LNP needs to have the usb 2.0 cable connected to either your MB's 2.0 port or to an expander of that port. Because if you are like most you have other devices such as AIO/ Custom Water Cooler/ front port 2.0 usb on case/PSU/ LNP/CP or what ever other device that needs 2.0 usb to talk to it and control it

My setup is like this the NZXT internal 2.0 usb hub is connected to the MB 2.0 usb port. Then my PSU is connected to the NZXT/ My Corsair H115i is connected to the NZXT/ my Front case 2.0 ports are connected to the NZXT/ My CP 2 each will be connected to the NZXT so that is 5 devices connected to the usb 2.0 NZXT expander. I hope this points you in the right direction Corsairs OEMs can be very lacking in the details.


Now since the Asus IX formula only has one 2.0 usb port you will have to get an USB expander internal either the NZXT or a pci card for one of the open slots. Or if you get the Commander it has an two usb ports built in for expansion and pass thru.

This is the one I went with https://www.nzxt.com/products/internal-usb-hub

Last edited by jwar; 07-14-2017 at 06:37 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-15-2017, 11:42 AM
Lekoo Lekoo is offline
Registered User
Lekoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 911772
Lekoo Reputation: 10
Default

Jwar and Red-Ray thank you very much, I dont need the fan splitter as I have a lot of power ports for fans in mobo and in my corsair commander pro. I have everything you mentioned even the nzxt internal usb hub. Ill give it a try as you are saying next week when I have time and ill let you know how I went with it. However thank you very much for your help and for your detailed description. I appreciate it a lot.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-15-2017, 05:50 PM
jwar jwar is offline
Registered User
jwar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 911812
jwar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lekoo View Post
Jwar and Red-Ray thank you very much, I dont need the fan splitter as I have a lot of power ports for fans in mobo and in my corsair commander pro. I have everything you mentioned even the nzxt internal usb hub. Ill give it a try as you are saying next week when I have time and ill let you know how I went with it. However thank you very much for your help and for your detailed description. I appreciate it a lot.
No problem I am glad I could assist. Please post back when you have it up and operational. I am thinking I am going to use my mobo to control the fans and use either the commander pro at 2 each or 1 NLP and 1 CP to control leds on the fans.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-17-2017, 06:00 AM
Lekoo Lekoo is offline
Registered User
Lekoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 912006
Lekoo Reputation: 10
Default

Jwar, I tried as you said and everything works great but the problem is:

I am using 8 corsair hd fans and commander pro of course but I have lighting node pro as well which requires another port for LED's.
I have one corsair hd fan hub connected on my commander pro but then the second port I have my lighting node pro leds connected so there is no way where to add another fan hub to commander pro.

for power I fixed the problem but for leds I am missing one port.

I have 8 corsair hd fans and 4 lighting node pro led strips. I have all the hubs and commander pro but just not enough ports.

No idea how to connect all of them...
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-17-2017, 06:10 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 912008
red-ray Reputation: 81
Confused You have a total of 4 x LED ports and only need three.

Does as below help?

CLCP LED Port 1 -> LED Hub -> up to 6 x HD fans
CLCP LED Port 2 -> LED Hub -> up to 6 x HD fans
CLNP LED Port 1 -> 4 x LED strips
CLNP LED Port 2 -> Unused
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-17-2017, 06:14 AM
Lekoo Lekoo is offline
Registered User
Lekoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 912009
Lekoo Reputation: 10
Default

I did it this way...

6 hd fans in one hub which is connected in commander pro led port 1
4 lighting node pro strips connceted to each other and last one connect to commander pro led port 2

then

I have another set connecting 2 hd fans in another fan hub and then that fan hub connected to lighting node pro hub and then all of the usb connected to nzxt internal usb hub which is connected to commander pro usb port.

all fans connected with power in motherboard.

It works just a lot of cables and hubs. Couldn't figure out any easy way.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-17-2017, 01:27 PM
Corsair Blake Corsair Blake is offline
Banned
Corsair Blake's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 300
POST ID # = 912092
Corsair Blake Reputation: 14
Default

I had to build a system like this for COMPUTEX 2017 and my solution was a pair of Lighting Node Pros. This was before the Commander Pro was released so I only had a pair of those to work with. One Lighting Hub has 6 fans on it and plugged into LNP Channel #1, then the second Lighting Hub with 2 fans on it plugged into LNP Channel #2.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 07-18-2017, 09:23 AM
Lekoo Lekoo is offline
Registered User
Lekoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 912241
Lekoo Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah but I had to connect more items as I have the lighting node pro leds as well.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 07-18-2017, 06:32 PM
SpeedyV SpeedyV is offline
Registered User
SpeedyV's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 419
POST ID # = 912325
SpeedyV Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lekoo View Post
It works just a lot of cables and hubs. Couldn't figure out any easy way.
Yes with a power/PWM wire and an LED wire for each fan, then the LED wires, then the connections from the LED hubs to the CLCP / CLNP, then the SATA power to the CLCP / CLNP, then the SATA power to the LED Hubs, then the USB cables from the CLCP / CLNP to the NZXT USB headers, then USB from the NZXT to a MOBO USB header. It is a LOT of pesky wires.

I cannot understand WHY Corsair can't get with the program and make the whole system wireless!! Bluetooth or 802.11ac or perhaps miniature tuned microwave guides for data. Then Tesla wireless power transmission to power everything. I see NO REASON they can't deploy such a system and eliminate all these damn little wires.

Oh and it has to cost less too.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
corsair hd fans

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.