The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2012, 07:59 PM
ElusiveNeutrino ElusiveNeutrino is offline
Registered User
ElusiveNeutrino's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 576199
ElusiveNeutrino Reputation: 10
Default Vengeance Memory Issue

I have a Sager NP8180 (Clevo P180HM) and I can't get my new memory to work with it.

Notebook user manual:
http://www2.sagernotebook.com/Sagern...ual_NP8180.exe

My particular hardware:
Intel Core i7-2960XM;
Corsair Force GT 60 GB SSD + 500GB 7200RPM (Serial-ATA II 300 - 16MB Cache)
6X Blu-Ray Burner/Reader / 8X DVDRW Super Multi Combo Drive
Intel Ultimate-N 6300

Everything but the SSD was factory installed.

When I pull out the stock memory and place the two vengeance modules in, I can't power on. I don't get a BIOS splash or indicating lights. I can however hear fans whirring and optical drive will open when I depress it (won't open without power).

If I pull either of them out leaving only one vengeance module in, the notebook does POST and BIOS reports the correct amount of memory installed (4 GB at this point) but Windows won't boot.

Shortly after the Windows splash, I get a BSOD with an error about missing files. Interestingly, it's a different file missing each time I attempt to boot in this config.

I threw in a Windows disc and ran the memory tests and got a few errors but couldn't boot to view any details.

I get the same result independant of which module I use or where I stick it.

Corsair RMA'd me a new set and I still have the same issue. I'm out of ideas and need help figuring this out.

XoticPC (the retailer) told me to contact Sager concerning this, and they've been useless. The only thing they will tell me is:
"We know the computer works properly with Samsung 1333MHz/1600MHz memory installed."
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-04-2012, 08:31 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 576425
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would remove the battery and the memory that is installed then turn the system on using just the AC Adapter and then it should beep or blink for no memory detected. Then just unplug the AC Adapter, and then install just one of our modules and plug the power back in and turn it on and see if it will let you into the BIOS setup and load setup defaults. If so then turn it off and add the other module and do the same steps.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 05-07-2012 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-05-2012, 06:04 PM
ElusiveNeutrino ElusiveNeutrino is offline
Registered User
ElusiveNeutrino's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 576591
ElusiveNeutrino Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
I would remove the battery and the memory that is installed then turn the system on using just the AC Adapter and then it should beep or blink for no memory detected. Then just unplug the AC Adapter, and then install just one of our modules and plug the power back in and turn it on and see if it will let you into the BIOS setup and load setup defaults. If so then turn it ff and add the other module and do the same steps.
I did something similar when I tried the 2nd set. While there was no memory installed I powered on. Instead of using AC power, I was running on battery, though. Do you suppose it matters which source I use?

I don't think I got to the BIOS menu or got any errors either. If I remember correctly, all the lights came on to include the disk activity indicator, except the screen was black.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-07-2012, 02:30 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 576907
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

You will have to remove the battery and do it with just the A/C Adapter, you need to force a BIOS error so it will re-detect everything in the system as I instructed.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 05-07-2012 at 05:54 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-07-2012, 02:43 PM
ElusiveNeutrino ElusiveNeutrino is offline
Registered User
ElusiveNeutrino's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 576912
ElusiveNeutrino Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
You will have to remove the batter and do it with just the A/C Adaptor, you need to force a BIOS error so it will re-detect everything in the system as I instructed.
I'll give it a shot tonight.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-10-2012, 07:12 PM
ElusiveNeutrino ElusiveNeutrino is offline
Registered User
ElusiveNeutrino's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 577628
ElusiveNeutrino Reputation: 10
Default

Same result. Lights come on, but screen is black.

EDIT: also removed CMOS battery and reinstalled. Didn't help.

Last edited by ElusiveNeutrino; 05-10-2012 at 10:25 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-11-2012, 08:51 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 577862
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would check with the reseller to see if they can swap them but these modules should work, I suspect there may be some other issue. or you can try and do an RMA with us directly but if there is some compatibility issue there is not a lot we can do.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
1866, np8180, p180hm, vengeance

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.