The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2020, 03:10 PM
LazzurusMan LazzurusMan is offline
Registered User
LazzurusMan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1050738
LazzurusMan Reputation: 10
Default Rm750 8pin different to cpu 8pin?

My rm750 turned up today, and everything was going smoothly until I tried to plug the 4+4pin conne tor into the cpu power slot. It doesn't match up. The end that plugs into the psu matches up with the motherboard, but then it won't plug into the power supply.

Do I just need to buy a new cable, or am I missing something here?

Pics to show what I mean.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20200615_185849.jpg (3.67 MB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200615_190006.jpg (3.62 MB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200615_185945.jpg (1.05 MB, 28 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-15-2020, 09:46 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1050779
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

That's right. It should fit.

Is there something in the way? Are you squeezing the tab as you insert it?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-08-2020, 02:23 PM
Gapi74 Gapi74 is offline
Registered User
Gapi74's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1053282
Gapi74 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,

I’ve exactly the same problem here:

The 4+4 cable doesn’t match with the 8 pin socket connector in the motherboard.

And the psu comes with 2 4+4 CPU cables (one is supposed to be used with the auxiliar EATX 4-pin connector, but the 8-pin one... how is it supposed to be connected? :(

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-08-2020, 02:30 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1053285
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gapi74 View Post
Hi,

I’ve exactly the same problem here:

The 4+4 cable doesn’t match with the 8 pin socket connector in the motherboard.

And the psu comes with 2 4+4 CPU cables (one is supposed to be used with the auxiliar EATX 4-pin connector, but the 8-pin one... how is it supposed to be connected? :(

Thanks for your help.
You put the two four pins together and that makes 8-pins and that plugs into the motherboard. The solid 8-pin plugs into the PSU.

This should not be an issue.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-08-2020, 02:51 PM
Gapi74 Gapi74 is offline
Registered User
Gapi74's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1053287
Gapi74 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
You put the two four pins together and that makes 8-pins and that plugs into the motherboard. The solid 8-pin plugs into the PSU.

This should not be an issue.
But, with the 4+4 together I’ve 2 square and 6 “triangle” pins, and the mobo CPU socket has 4 squared and 4 triangled ones, so they don’t fit... and I don’t want to force it.

Should the 4+4 have 4 squared and 4 triangled pins? If yes, I’ve 2 cables (CPU labelled) that don’t fit there
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-08-2020, 03:02 PM
Gapi74 Gapi74 is offline
Registered User
Gapi74's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1053290
Gapi74 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gapi74 View Post
But, with the 4+4 together I’ve 2 square and 6 “triangle” pins, and the mobo CPU socket has 4 squared and 4 triangled ones, so they don’t fit... and I don’t want to force it.

Should the 4+4 have 4 squared and 4 triangled pins? If yes, I’ve 2 cables (CPU labelled) that don’t fit there
Please, show the first photo attached by LazzarusMan, my 4+4 CPU cables are exactly like that.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-08-2020, 03:04 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1053292
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

"Triangle" pins are meant to go into either triangle or square connections.

So you haven't even tried to install it? You're just assuming it's wrong?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-08-2020, 03:13 PM
Gapi74 Gapi74 is offline
Registered User
Gapi74's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1053294
Gapi74 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
"Triangle" pins are meant to go into either triangle or square connections.

So you haven't even tried to install it? You're just assuming it's wrong?
Yes, I assume triangle for triangle and square for square, so...

MotherBoard is:

STTS
TSST

And 4+4 CPU cable from PSU is:

STTT
TSTT

So, that’s the reason I’m asking help for this... I’m not sure how to connect them without forcing it.

Can I put triangled in squared ones?

Last edited by Gapi74; 07-08-2020 at 03:16 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-08-2020, 03:21 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1053296
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gapi74 View Post
Yes, I assume triangle for triangle and square for square, so...

MotherBoard is:

STTS
TSST

And 4+4 CPU cable from PSU is:

STTT
TSTT

So, that’s the reason I’m asking help for this... I’m not sure how to connect them without forcing it.

Can I put triangled in squared ones?
You shouldn't be "forcing" anything. So you haven't even tried it?

It is a universal fact of connectors that the triangle is MEANT to go into EITHER triangle shaped or square shaped connectors.... WITHOUT force.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-08-2020, 03:25 PM
Gapi74 Gapi74 is offline
Registered User
Gapi74's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1053297
Gapi74 Reputation: 10
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
You shouldn't be "forcing" anything. So you haven't even tried it?

It is a universal fact of connectors that the triangle is MEANT to go into EITHER triangle shaped or square shaped connectors.... WITHOUT force.

Understood then, I didn’t know that :)

Thanks for your help and best regards.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-08-2020, 03:34 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1053299
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Sure.

FYI: The reason they do this is because the 4-pin actually has a triangle where the 8-pin has a square. So if you made a 4+4-pin with the same shapes as the connector on the motherboard, it would be useless as a 4-pin because then it would not fit.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-08-2020, 04:28 PM
Gapi74 Gapi74 is offline
Registered User
Gapi74's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1053302
Gapi74 Reputation: 10
Thumbs up

Good, thanks for the explanation ;)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.