The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2020, 07:20 PM
EzioAs EzioAs is offline
Registered User
EzioAs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1050771
EzioAs Reputation: 10
Default Possible dead HX750i psu?

Hello, I was hoping if you guys could help me with something.

My PC just suddenly died out of nowhere and I haven't been able to turn it back on again. I've tried reseating the RAM, taking off the video card, but to no avail. I might reseat the CPU soon but for the time being, I suspect it's the PSU that failed/died.

Corsair FAQ page suggest to do the paper clip test however, they do state that some PSUs where the fans will not turn on unless necessary (like my HX750i) will only spin for a while during this clip test. I've tried but as far as I can tell, the fan doesn't seem to be spinning even slightly.

This PSU however does have a fan self test button which only requires the AC power and when I press the button, I can definitely see the fan spinning if only for a second. I don't know if this test is enough to indicate that the PSU is well and good though.

I'll RMA it if I'm completely sure that it's a dead PSU but do you guys have any thoughts/inputs you can share? Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-15-2020, 09:47 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1050780
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EzioAs View Post
My PC just suddenly died out of nowhere and I haven't been able to turn it back on again.
By "not turn on", you mean no power at all, right?

Probably a dead PSU.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-15-2020, 09:58 PM
EzioAs EzioAs is offline
Registered User
EzioAs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1050782
EzioAs Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, no power at all. I think this particular model should have the LED on the PSU light up when the AC power is plugged in and the switch at the back is turned on as well, right? At least, I think that's how I remember it.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-15-2020, 11:44 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1050786
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EzioAs View Post
Yes, no power at all. I think this particular model should have the LED on the PSU light up when the AC power is plugged in and the switch at the back is turned on as well, right? At least, I think that's how I remember it.
I think the LED only turns on after the PSU turns on. Not just for being plugged in and switched on. Because the LED's colors are based on USB status.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-15-2020, 11:47 PM
EzioAs EzioAs is offline
Registered User
EzioAs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1050787
EzioAs Reputation: 10
Default

Oh, ok. Thanks for replying. I'll RMA this unit asap.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-16-2020, 07:04 AM
EzioAs EzioAs is offline
Registered User
EzioAs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1050816
EzioAs Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry to brought this thread up again but for the paper clip test, is it necessary to connect any other device if the PSU has a fanless operation mode? I don't have anything else that can connect to the PSU though
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-16-2020, 11:33 AM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games™
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 312
POST ID # = 1050834
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

PSU testers are available widely I suggest anyone reading this thread consider buying one
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games™ - Legendary of the Only Way to Play™

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-16-2020, 03:44 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1050865
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EzioAs View Post
Sorry to brought this thread up again but for the paper clip test, is it necessary to connect any other device if the PSU has a fanless operation mode? I don't have anything else that can connect to the PSU though
Just a fan so you can see that something is getting power. Because you can short the power on to ground and energize the wires, but unless you have a DMM to measure those voltages or have something plugged in to use that power, you're not going to know if the PSU is live or not.

You could also invest in a power supply tester like this one: https://www.amazon.com/Computer-PC-T...dp/B076CLNPPK/
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-17-2020, 09:23 AM
EzioAs EzioAs is offline
Registered User
EzioAs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1050940
EzioAs Reputation: 10
Default

I've tested with a PSU tester and nothing comes out so that's a full confirmation that it's dead I would say. I want to RMA the unit but is it necessary to include purchase receipt in the RMA form? I might have left it in another place and it would take a while to get the image. Also, is it necessary to include the cables and such or I just need to send the PSU itself?

Last edited by EzioAs; 06-17-2020 at 09:26 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-17-2020, 02:25 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1050974
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EzioAs View Post
I've tested with a PSU tester and nothing comes out so that's a full confirmation that it's dead I would say. I want to RMA the unit but is it necessary to include purchase receipt in the RMA form? I might have left it in another place and it would take a while to get the image. Also, is it necessary to include the cables and such or I just need to send the PSU itself?
You don't have an "e" receipt? Bought it in store with a paper receipt?

These are questions for customer service. You should ask them.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-17-2020, 04:29 PM
Talon1's Avatar
Talon1 Talon1 is offline
Talon1
Talon1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada.
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 1050981
Talon1 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EzioAs View Post
I've tested with a PSU tester and nothing comes out so that's a full confirmation that it's dead I would say. I want to RMA the unit but is it necessary to include purchase receipt in the RMA form? I might have left it in another place and it would take a while to get the image. Also, is it necessary to include the cables and such or I just need to send the PSU itself?
When I rma'd my AX 760i I'm sure I had to return all cables.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-17-2020, 06:55 PM
EzioAs EzioAs is offline
Registered User
EzioAs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1050993
EzioAs Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
You don't have an "e" receipt? Bought it in store with a paper receipt?

These are questions for customer service. You should ask them.
Yes, I bought this in store. Guess I'll ask customer service then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talon1 View Post
When I rma'd my AX 760i I'm sure I had to return all cables.
I was hoping that wouldn't be necessary. I'll confirm this with customer service then.

Thanks for all the help. Really appreciate it.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-17-2020, 07:04 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1050995
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EzioAs View Post
I was hoping that wouldn't be necessary. I'll confirm this with customer service then.
Beg them. :D

Tell them you don't want to have to redo all of your cable management.

It would be a good idea to return at least the 24-pin cable. In case they can't send you an HXi replacement and have to upgrade you, you may end up with something that uses the new Type 4 cables (of which, only the 24-pin is incompatible).
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-17-2020, 07:15 PM
EzioAs EzioAs is offline
Registered User
EzioAs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1050996
EzioAs Reputation: 10
Default

Oh, so the higher end models don't have compatible 24-pin cable with the HXi? I didn't know that before. Which reminds me, other than the SFX models, Corsair hasn't really brought up any new PSU in recent years right? I guess all the current lineup still holds strong after all these years.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-17-2020, 07:32 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,062
POST ID # = 1050999
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EzioAs View Post
Oh, so the higher end models don't have compatible 24-pin cable with the HXi? I didn't know that before. Which reminds me, other than the SFX models, Corsair hasn't really brought up any new PSU in recent years right? I guess all the current lineup still holds strong after all these years.
Other than AXi, EVERYTHING is newer than HXi. You can tell from the side labels. All the newer stuff (RMx, RMi, HX, AX) have the gray scale side label, where the older stuff has colors, like the "HX" having blue and the "AX" having red.

The reason HXi was never replaced was... well... it's damn near perfect. :D
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
dead psu, hxi, rma

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.