The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Legacy Corsair Software > CUE 1.x and 2.x RGB Profiles and Profile Discussions

Notices

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 12-08-2016, 07:34 PM
AxnNxs's Avatar
AxnNxs AxnNxs is offline
Rav3n
AxnNxs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 881879
AxnNxs Reputation: 10
Default

Hi everyone. I've bought a damaged Strafe RGB keyboard 4 months ago, and I returned it.
Now I'm writing from my new one as replacement, but I notice the flickering effect you are talking about from two weeks. The old one seemed nearly perfect, but I could not noted that at the time. So is it a software issue?
I'm using an USB extension cable, attacched to a usb 3.0 port (just the keyboard cable, as I read in this forum.
There is any offical advice by Corsair? I've opened a ticket, and I got a response two days ago. The assistance told me to disconnect my keyboard, and while pressing Esc I have to reconnect the cable on my pc. It's a something reset process, I suppose. What do you think?
The flicker seems to appear only with Rainbow effect in my case, in any direction and at any speed of the wave. It's weird, because the Keys involved are random....
I love my keyboard and it would be a very shame and stress replace it again... long story.

Last edited by AxnNxs; 12-08-2016 at 07:37 PM.


  #17  
Old 12-08-2016, 08:20 PM
brainless's Avatar
brainless brainless is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 362
POST ID # = 881884
brainless Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AxnNxs View Post
So is it a software issue?
No. And resetting the keyboard doesn't help. It's an USB 3.0 issue. Try another USB port or install host controller drivers from the manufacturer.
__________________


  #18  
Old 12-08-2016, 08:24 PM
AxnNxs's Avatar
AxnNxs AxnNxs is offline
Rav3n
AxnNxs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 881885
AxnNxs Reputation: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainless View Post
No. And resetting the keyboard doesn't help. It's an USB 3.0 issue. Try another USB port or install host controller drivers from the manufacturer.
What about connecting to 2 USB2.0?

I'm glad to hear that my keyboard is not the problem. Or, at least, just seems not to be.


  #19  
Old 12-08-2016, 08:37 PM
brainless's Avatar
brainless brainless is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 362
POST ID # = 881889
brainless Reputation: 11
Default

USB 2 should work. I didn't tested it yet.
__________________


  #20  
Old 12-08-2016, 09:34 PM
AxnNxs's Avatar
AxnNxs AxnNxs is offline
Rav3n
AxnNxs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 881906
AxnNxs Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainless View Post
USB 2 should work. I didn't tested it yet.
I've changed port 3.0 without success, flicker is still there. Can it be my extended usb cable? I don't think that changing another usb 3.0 ports on my Rampage would solve the issue... or maybe I've tried unluckily tow Asmedia ports?

To try 2 usb 2.0, I'd need another extender. Maybe someone else can try and figure out.

I've contacted warranty support about it, and linked this thread. Maybe can help. As I told before, their advice was (I just copy that):
''' Please perform the following and verify if the issue persists:

- Unplug the keyboard
- Hold ESC, and insert the USB with the keyboard logo into a USB 3.0 port on the motherboard
- Release ESC after 5 sec '''

PS: What about connecting cables to 2 USB 3.0? It would be a problem/fried keyboard? lol

Last edited by AxnNxs; 12-08-2016 at 09:43 PM.


  #21  
Old 12-09-2016, 09:48 AM
brainless's Avatar
brainless brainless is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 362
POST ID # = 881952
brainless Reputation: 11
Default

The support is wrong. Like Inheritance and Elestriel said, it's a USB3 issue and not a keyboard problem. So resetting the keyboard doesn't help.

Do you have the Asmedia driver installed? Some people say that this could fix the problems.
__________________


  #22  
Old 12-09-2016, 08:34 PM
AxnNxs's Avatar
AxnNxs AxnNxs is offline
Rav3n
AxnNxs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 882013
AxnNxs Reputation: 10
Default

This is what Corsair support keep saying in my ticket:

Flashing Keyboard with ISP method:
1. Get a paper clip and bend one of tip so you can use it as insertion tool
2. Find the hole located under the left keyboard raiser
3. Before proceeding to next step, make sure the keyboard is not connected any USB port on your PC
4. Use the paperclip to push and hold the switch hidden under the hole. You can feel when the switch is pressed.
5. While the switch is pressed, connect the keyboard to any working USB port on your PC
6. Once connected, CRP_DISABLED drive will open through file manager window
7. Inside this CRP_DISABLED drive, you will find a file firmware.bin
8. Select that file, right click with your mouse and delete it
9. Copy the appropriate ISP (firmware) file into CRP_DISABLED drive
- Strafe RGB firmware: “STRAFERGB_ISP_V205.bin”
10. Once copied, re-plug the USB cable to finish the firmware update


  #23  
Old 12-09-2016, 09:43 PM
brainless's Avatar
brainless brainless is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 362
POST ID # = 882022
brainless Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AxnNxs View Post
This is what Corsair support keep saying in my ticket:

Flashing Keyboard with ISP method:
1. Get a paper clip and bend one of tip so you can use it as insertion tool
2. Find the hole located under the left keyboard raiser
3. Before proceeding to next step, make sure the keyboard is not connected any USB port on your PC
4. Use the paperclip to push and hold the switch hidden under the hole. You can feel when the switch is pressed.
5. While the switch is pressed, connect the keyboard to any working USB port on your PC
6. Once connected, CRP_DISABLED drive will open through file manager window
7. Inside this CRP_DISABLED drive, you will find a file firmware.bin
8. Select that file, right click with your mouse and delete it
9. Copy the appropriate ISP (firmware) file into CRP_DISABLED drive
- Strafe RGB firmware: “STRAFERGB_ISP_V205.bin”
10. Once copied, re-plug the USB cable to finish the firmware update
Tell them they should ask Corsair James about droped USB 3.0 packages.
__________________


  #24  
Old 12-13-2016, 03:14 PM
SirRichardThe1's Avatar
SirRichardThe1 SirRichardThe1 is offline
Registered User
SirRichardThe1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 882417
SirRichardThe1 Reputation: 10
Default

yeap. mine is constantly flickering... like you can notice every change in color as a "step". its fast but not fast enough for anyone eyes.


  #25  
Old 12-13-2016, 05:35 PM
brainless's Avatar
brainless brainless is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 362
POST ID # = 882429
brainless Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirRichardThe1 View Post
yeap. mine is constantly flickering... like you can notice every change in color as a "step". its fast but not fast enough for anyone eyes.
We are talking about another kind of flickering. A few times per minutes some keys flashes at random color. It's very short and random.

Which keyboard do you use? Old LED controller with 16m option enabled?
__________________


  #26  
Old 12-13-2016, 05:57 PM
SirRichardThe1's Avatar
SirRichardThe1 SirRichardThe1 is offline
Registered User
SirRichardThe1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 882432
SirRichardThe1 Reputation: 10
Talking

didn't read it all, but it said flicker so.... :)! i have one k95. the first had key chattering and this one is... not very right i think!


  #27  
Old 12-13-2016, 06:27 PM
brainless's Avatar
brainless brainless is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 362
POST ID # = 882440
brainless Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirRichardThe1 View Post
didn't read it all, but it said flicker so.... :)! i have one k95. the first had key chattering and this one is... not very right i think!
I think it's a problem of the LED controller of the K95. I don't own a keyboard with the old controller, but read the first posts here: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=140249
__________________


  #28  
Old 11-05-2017, 08:39 AM
overfixer overfixer is offline
Registered User
overfixer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 925463
overfixer Reputation: 10
Default

I have same issue k70 rapidfire. Randomly flickering some keys..


  #29  
Old 11-05-2017, 02:26 PM
AxnNxs's Avatar
AxnNxs AxnNxs is offline
Rav3n
AxnNxs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 925489
AxnNxs Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by overfixer View Post
I have same issue k70 rapidfire. Randomly flickering some keys..
Hi. I don't know if your problem is the same of mine. I have a Strafe RGB, as I can see you has got a rapidfire with red led only one.
I have plugged my keyboard in two USB 2.0 ports. The problem still persists, but it is less noticeable now. That's all...


  #30  
Old 11-05-2017, 02:36 PM
overfixer overfixer is offline
Registered User
overfixer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 925492
overfixer Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AxnNxs View Post
Hi. I don't know if your problem is the same of mine. I have a Strafe RGB, as I can see you has got a rapidfire with red led only one.
I have plugged my keyboard in two USB 2.0 ports. The problem still persists, but it is less noticeable now. That's all...
it must be software CUE issue because i have it generally with rainbow effect.

sometimes with color shift . I have rapidfire RGB k70 . I tried couple things uninstall , force update firmware , change usb ports etc..

but still i have it . This is very bad for a top natch keyboard.


 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.