The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2013, 05:03 PM
JasSmith87 JasSmith87 is offline
Registered User
JasSmith87's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 680983
JasSmith87 Reputation: 10
Default Vengeance 1500 v2 horrible sound quality

I had a pair of v1 until they recently broke. So I went to the store and bought the v2's without hesitation and they sound just awful. The bass is distorted, everything sounds muddy like I am listening through a sock.

I am running windows 8.1 have the 2.0 drivers installed (I know I dont get surround for now). I have also tried installing the 1.1 drivers like I had with my v1's and I still cant get anywhere near the same sound quality. It's like all high range response is just missing.

What can I do to make these sound like the v1's or are the v2's just a lower quality device? I can't even make them sound as good as a pair of earbuds plugged into the onboard audio (which is how I am playing games now).

Last edited by JasSmith87; 11-01-2013 at 05:15 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-02-2013, 02:27 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,332
POST ID # = 681029
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Have you tried the default Microsoft drivers as the current drivers does not support Windows 8.1?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-02-2013, 04:20 AM
JasSmith87 JasSmith87 is offline
Registered User
JasSmith87's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 681037
JasSmith87 Reputation: 10
Default

I have tried them yes. Really it feels like somehow these headphones just do not produce the same sound the v1's did. How different are the specs on them really?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-03-2013, 04:44 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,332
POST ID # = 681103
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

The only differences i see on the product pages is the frequency response.

V1500 v2
Frequency Response: 40Hz – 20kHz +5/-5dB, -10dB @ 35Hz

V1500
Frequency Response: 20Hz – 20kHz

If possible, can you try the headset on another computer? Does it sound better or still sound the same?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-03-2013, 05:49 AM
JasSmith87 JasSmith87 is offline
Registered User
JasSmith87's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 681109
JasSmith87 Reputation: 10
Default

Sounds the same, muddy compared to the V1 :/ I really hope the new drivers fix this when/if they come out.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-04-2013, 04:03 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,332
POST ID # = 681254
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

It sounds like it might be a bad headset if it sounds bad when using default drivers and on another computer.

Contact your seller and ask if they can replace the headset for you.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-04-2013, 06:51 PM
JasSmith87 JasSmith87 is offline
Registered User
JasSmith87's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 681342
JasSmith87 Reputation: 10
Default

I brought the headset into work today so I could test out with some other headsets people have around the office. So far I have found my 1500 v2's sound the same as one of my co-workers v2's and neither of them sound very good compared to his older v1's which he has now switched back to after this comparison.

I'm willing to wait until the drivers come out because I have 30 days to return them, but this is really not the device it used to be.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-13-2013, 04:32 PM
sandstorm1 sandstorm1 is offline
Registered User
sandstorm1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 274
POST ID # = 682554
sandstorm1 Reputation: 29
Default

if the Frequency Response changed I am wagering that they swapped out speakers.

most gaming headsets are not that great to start with.

I stuck with my 1500's because they are the most comfortable ones i have found.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-30-2013, 09:35 PM
mexie mexie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 690117
mexie Reputation: 10
Default

I have this same issue, but I really feel like if I had them RMA'd then I would still have the same issue. It is more than the muddy sound with me- my microphone in windows 7 64 sounds good, but then in game is very low and static filled.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-31-2013, 07:41 AM
JasSmith87 JasSmith87 is offline
Registered User
JasSmith87's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 690168
JasSmith87 Reputation: 10
Default

Beta drivers + reference eq goes a long way here. Still not as good as the v1's but much much better.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-31-2013, 01:36 PM
sandstorm1 sandstorm1 is offline
Registered User
sandstorm1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 274
POST ID # = 690222
sandstorm1 Reputation: 29
Default

as long as you have v2's the sound is going to be horrible.
mine sound like crap and yes i know how to adjust the eq settings.
to me they went with a crappier speaker and ruined this headset.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-09-2014, 03:36 AM
Im_not_sue Im_not_sue is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 691747
Im_not_sue Reputation: 10
Default

I have to chime in here. I have a v1, RMA'd several times over the course of the 2yr warranty, that just a few days ago had the right ear cup joint snapped by accident. I went to a local store and got a v2, but the v1 cord is still attached and plays audio fine so I could use them for reference even if they aren't practical to wear anymore.

The sound quality of the v2s, with the beta driver, is just muddy and muffled.
I connected my v2's on my older driver. They sound bad, compared to the v1's. I uninstall the old driver and install the new beta driver, and the v2's still sound bad. Then I restart my computer and I get the booming audio @ 1/100 setting. I honestly dont know, I am seriously considering giving up on Corsair. The v1 had problematic cord failure near the inline volume control, and AFAIK the old L/R audio swap issue never got a fix. I looked into the forum here and find that they have a driver issue greater than 1 month old with Win8 and other users (like the ones in this thread) confirm the other audio concerns I have.

I'm giving Corsair the 30 days I have to return the product I bought to the store, or I'm probably just giving up on them forever. Their customer support for RMA's has been wonderful, but the gamble of $100 with their drivers is too risky. Its just not worth it if it's going to be such a hassle, and I have no guarantee that this will be fixed (if it indeed even can be). :/

Last edited by Im_not_sue; 01-09-2014 at 03:40 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-10-2014, 03:53 PM
JasSmith87 JasSmith87 is offline
Registered User
JasSmith87's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 692038
JasSmith87 Reputation: 10
Default

They seem unwilling to admit there is a difference between the sound quality in the v1 and v2 headphones.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-13-2014, 08:34 PM
Im_not_sue Im_not_sue is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 692486
Im_not_sue Reputation: 10
Default

Well I ordered a headset and separate mic from Amazon and gave them a few days, nice to say its much better than the v2's in quality and cost me $20 less as well. I returned the Corsair 1500 to the electronics store today and I think its safe to say they wont be missed too much.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 01-14-2014, 07:48 AM
astelmack astelmack is offline
Registered User
astelmack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 692556
astelmack Reputation: 10
Default

maybe it's a lot problem, because my new v2 sound much better than my older v1.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.