The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2019, 11:32 AM
Strafe Strafe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 998653
Strafe Reputation: 10
Default Has anyone tried to pair a K83 with a Raspberry Pi yet?

Wired works fine, I haven't tried 2.4 with the dongle because I want Bluetooth to work.

First I tried from within the RetroPie Bluetooth menu tool. The keyboard is visible, but whatever method selected, I get an authentication was cancelled message.

Next I tried via command line, using bluetoothctl. I use the following commands:

pair mac address
trust mac address
connect mac address

All succeed, and the keyboard appears in my devices list as CORSAIR K83 WRL KB. However, the blue light never stops blinking on the keyboard itself. I'm never asked for a pin (even when I don't use the trust command) and I'm wondering if that's part of the problem. Trying to find documentation for the agent command in bluetoothctl now.

Any ideas?

Last edited by Strafe; 03-23-2019 at 11:38 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-23-2019, 02:14 PM
Goat1 Goat1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 289
POST ID # = 998661
Goat1 Reputation: 12
Default

What does the ri use for an operating system? Linux?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-23-2019, 03:38 PM
Strafe Strafe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 998668
Strafe Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, sorry. I’m running the standard RetroPie image which is built on Raspbian (the raspberry pi version of Debian), a Linux distribution.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-23-2019, 04:10 PM
Goat1 Goat1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 289
POST ID # = 998670
Goat1 Reputation: 12
Default

And when you plug in the bluetooth dongle it doesn't detect it?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-23-2019, 11:51 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 747
POST ID # = 998714
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

I randomly tested it 5 months ago with the dongle and BT. I don't think I tried it "wired". Stupid question, have you tried paring it with another device w/ BT?
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-24-2019, 08:23 AM
Feenix3 Feenix3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1012334
Feenix3 Reputation: 10
Default

Hello Strafe and all,

Were you successful in getting the K83 paired to the Raspberry Pi? I am currently having the same trouble and would love some assistance if possible. I am using a Raspberry Pi 3 B+.

When I try to pair, I get no prompt giving me a security pin to enter on the keyboard and the BT on the Pi crashes, forcing me to reboot the Pi if I want to try again.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-28-2019, 04:54 AM
Yock Yock is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 1025499
Yock Reputation: 10
Default

I got it working after a whole night of nothing but testing.

Use Touchctl in shell, remove any trace of previously registered K83 entries and keep trying.
Eventually it will tell you to enter the pin.

Mind you i got it working with an Asus Bluetooth dongle i had lying around, i don't think that is needed but i simply dident have the patience for trying without after i finely got it working.

I don't know why it doesn't ask for pin every time but i seem to get it to every 10th or so try.
After it has been paired correctly there should be no problems reconnecting it again.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-28-2019, 05:07 AM
Yock Yock is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 1025502
Yock Reputation: 10
Default

Just a quick little note on how i used touchctl.

agent on
default-agent
scan on
pair MAC
Pin will be showed.
trust MAC

Agent is important since it will handle the request for pin and such.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.