The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Systems > CORSAIR ONE

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46  
Old 02-11-2020, 11:18 PM
OneOwnerSydney OneOwnerSydney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1034794
OneOwnerSydney Reputation: 10
Default

After weeks of trying to purchase a replacement GPU Rad + Pump (after it was accidentally damaged during a cleaning of the system), I have dumped all the old i7-7700k + 1080 Ti hardware and built my own Franken-One! Let’s not get me started on Corsair’s customer support, leaves me bewildered.

Went with the Z390i MOBO upgrade, with an i9-9900k chipset. Got it all installed, thanks to Chris, got the Corsair Link running and am monitoring temps and fans etc.

Difference in my system is that I have a ZOTAC RTX2080 Ti TwinFan installed - which was covered in another post on this forum.

PROBLEM.... my idle temps are 44-50 deg with the top fan spinning at like 500rpm, which is not drawing enough air through the CPU rad. I need to increase the base idle fan spin, to provide adequate cooling.

How can I do this? I am an ex-apple user that has come to the dark-side, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ben
Reply With Quote


  #47  
Old 02-12-2020, 01:07 AM
MyPC8MyBrain MyPC8MyBrain is offline
Registered User
MyPC8MyBrain's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 1034797
MyPC8MyBrain Reputation: 10
Default

Ben, glad to hear you got your issue sorted out,
try changing your system power plan to power saver,
the new win10 power schema has it hidden by default,
(in command prompt issue this ->
powercfg -duplicatescheme a1841308-3541-4fab-bc81-f71556f20b4a
than in Power Saver Settings make sure your cpu cooling policy is set to passive not active!)
otherwise your system is ramping up during idle for no good reason,

Last edited by MyPC8MyBrain; 02-12-2020 at 01:25 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #48  
Old 02-12-2020, 03:48 AM
OneOwnerSydney OneOwnerSydney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1034807
OneOwnerSydney Reputation: 10
Default

Chris,

Just did that update, thank you.

Is there a way that I can manually set the fan to MAX performance?
Reply With Quote


  #49  
Old 02-12-2020, 03:55 AM
MyPC8MyBrain MyPC8MyBrain is offline
Registered User
MyPC8MyBrain's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 1034808
MyPC8MyBrain Reputation: 10
Default

yes in the bios,
first benchmark your cooling solution in the bios and let the system manage itself,
you shouldn't need to manually set fan to max seed after that,
if your cpu still idle's at high temps afterwards repaste your cpu!

where did you plug your fan power too,
is it in the right port?


Last edited by MyPC8MyBrain; 02-12-2020 at 04:08 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #50  
Old 02-12-2020, 04:20 AM
OneOwnerSydney OneOwnerSydney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1034809
OneOwnerSydney Reputation: 10
Default

Chris, is that the middle socket?

The AIO pump has three wires....

1. SATA power
2. 4 Pin to connect to top fan
3. A single wire... where does this go?
Reply With Quote


  #51  
Old 02-12-2020, 04:21 AM
OneOwnerSydney OneOwnerSydney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1034810
OneOwnerSydney Reputation: 10
Default

Also, what temperature are your M.2 Drives operating at?
Reply With Quote


  #52  
Old 02-12-2020, 04:29 AM
MyPC8MyBrain MyPC8MyBrain is offline
Registered User
MyPC8MyBrain's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 1034811
MyPC8MyBrain Reputation: 10
Default

the single wire still sits in a 3 pin layout plug and can only fit one way with its notch where the arrow point in the image (enlarge it to see clear),
at idle my M.2 are around 28c, cpu at 32-34c, i also have 3k rpm noctua fan on top not the stock one and i removed board cooling shrouds,

Last edited by MyPC8MyBrain; 02-12-2020 at 04:31 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #53  
Old 02-12-2020, 05:08 AM
OneOwnerSydney OneOwnerSydney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1034813
OneOwnerSydney Reputation: 10
Default

Managed to jump into BIOS and set the CPU and chassis fans to 100%. Running MAX performance cooling experiment to see how cool the system will run with as much air going through as possible.

My big problem atm is that my M.2 drives are running hot. One is at 51deg and the other at 59deg C.

My graphics card side has a massive ZOTAC 2080ti card shoehorned in, so I am thinking that the heatsink/backplate on the GPU card is heating the back of the MOBO where the M.2's are located.

Any thoughts? My Corsair One Pro i7-7700k system suffered a similar problem in that the M.2 ran overly hot.

Average CPU idle temperature is now hovering at 35deg C.

Average AIO coolant temperature of 25.9deg C.

Average GPU temperature of 32deg C.

Last edited by OneOwnerSydney; 02-12-2020 at 05:25 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #54  
Old 02-12-2020, 05:36 AM
MyPC8MyBrain MyPC8MyBrain is offline
Registered User
MyPC8MyBrain's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 1034814
MyPC8MyBrain Reputation: 10
Default

sound like you generally got your cpu/case temps tamed and under control now,
are these temps you reporting with fan at max at all times?

must be inaccurate sensor reporting for the drives temp,
do you have access to a FLIR cam to confirm reported M.2 temps?

the plate on the back of the gpu has enough clearance space and airflow to not heat up the back of the board,
there is an inch gap the entire length, the board is not even close even with the second M.2 mounted,

in either case 60c is nothing to worry about,
its more or less operating temps for M.2 drives they need to run hot!


Last edited by MyPC8MyBrain; 02-12-2020 at 05:46 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #55  
Old 02-12-2020, 05:56 AM
OneOwnerSydney OneOwnerSydney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1034815
OneOwnerSydney Reputation: 10
Default



The picture above shows the tight fit of the ZOTAC RTX 2080ti Twin Fan unit.

To assist with additional suction through the CPU Radiator, I have installed two 120mm Corsair MagLev 2,500rpm fans, which pull air out of the unit. I had to install a rubber spacer (which was installed across the mid-section of the RTX card, which ensured separation between the GPU and fans as the tolerances are very tight.



To retain them into the side-casing I have used zip ties, until I have time to fabricate a lightweight retainer that will secure to the factory radiator mounting points, which I will paint black to keep a factory install feel about it.

I conducted a very scientific test using a hair-drier in cold mode, to see how much the AIO Pump and CPU temperatures would drop if I provided additional induction (photo of the rig below).



The long USB cable exiting the unit was a temporary Corsair Link cable! I managed to misplace the factory cable and substituted with a full length USB cable that I routed to the back of the MOBO. Daggy, but it worked to get the initial launch and testing underway.

The following is temperature results after 30 minutes of continuous idle with the top and dual side fans running at 100% throttle.


Last edited by OneOwnerSydney; 02-12-2020 at 06:08 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #56  
Old 02-12-2020, 06:10 AM
MyPC8MyBrain MyPC8MyBrain is offline
Registered User
MyPC8MyBrain's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 1034818
MyPC8MyBrain Reputation: 10
Default

both our Custom ONE units have a 240mm rads on the GPU side from factory!
the recent project i posted two pages back is i160, the first (older) Custom ONE build posted in the beginning of this thread is Corsair CS-9000009-NA with 240mm Rad on the GPU side from factory as well,
Reply With Quote


  #57  
Old 02-12-2020, 06:16 AM
OneOwnerSydney OneOwnerSydney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1034819
OneOwnerSydney Reputation: 10
Default

My new problem now, is intermittently the system just turns off.

Then reboots, fans run to MAX PERFORMANCE, then stops, then restarts again into Windows?

Is there any error log that can be inspected?

It has been happening when i run CINEBENCH almost like it becomes overloaded or exceeds the power limit or something.

The GPU card is connected to the PSU with a single power lead, which has a jumper on the end that goes into both power plugs on the end of the GPU card. Is this right?

I should mention that I installed the Corsair 750 SFX power supply, as I felt the original may not have the juice for the i9 and the associated hardware.

Last edited by OneOwnerSydney; 02-12-2020 at 06:23 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #58  
Old 02-12-2020, 06:19 AM
MyPC8MyBrain MyPC8MyBrain is offline
Registered User
MyPC8MyBrain's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 1034820
MyPC8MyBrain Reputation: 10
Default

try updating your bios firmware!
Reply With Quote


  #59  
Old 02-12-2020, 06:30 AM
OneOwnerSydney OneOwnerSydney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1034823
OneOwnerSydney Reputation: 10
Default

I have version 2603 5/8/2019, but the ASUS ROG z390i website says version 2603 27/9/2019.

Prob a stupid question, but is that the same version?

Sorry for the million questions, i am learning PC, which is like a foreign language to us Apple users!
Reply With Quote


  #60  
Old 02-12-2020, 06:35 AM
MyPC8MyBrain MyPC8MyBrain is offline
Registered User
MyPC8MyBrain's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 1034824
MyPC8MyBrain Reputation: 10
Default

update it anyway,
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.