The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2020, 10:35 AM
stanvrensburg stanvrensburg is offline
Registered User
stanvrensburg's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1040115
stanvrensburg Reputation: 10
Default Can’t get 120SP to work on 570x crystal rbg

Hi folks,

Scratching my head here!

I have a 570x Rgb case that supposedly comes with 3 sp120 rgb fans connected to the controller. I have now added one more sp120 pro rgb fan to the case. It works, lights up and all is well BUT I am unable to change the color of the new fan via the controller...

I have plugged it into the controller (port 4) and all 3 other case fans work perfectly but this one just doesn’t want to play dice!

Is there something I am missing here or is the sequence of buttons to press in order to “activate it”? Or is it just a compatibility issue perhaps?

All feedback welcome!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-05-2020, 12:41 PM
KILLER_K KILLER_K is offline
Registered User
KILLER_K's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 219
POST ID # = 1040128
KILLER_K Reputation: 10
Default

On the drop-down list on the controller. For the 4th port pick the SP 120 in the list and then set it.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-05-2020, 05:06 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,701
POST ID # = 1040156
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Did you get an SP-RGB fan or the new SP-PRO RGB fan?
They are not interchangeable.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-06-2020, 05:02 AM
stanvrensburg stanvrensburg is offline
Registered User
stanvrensburg's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1040208
stanvrensburg Reputation: 10
Default

@killer_k sorry but which “drop down” are you referring to? I have not installed any software for the controller - is that supposed to be done via bios?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-06-2020, 05:04 AM
stanvrensburg stanvrensburg is offline
Registered User
stanvrensburg's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1040209
stanvrensburg Reputation: 10
Default

@dev biker - I bought the RGB pro SP120 to add to the fans on my x570 case. Are you saying that I was supposed to get the regular sp120?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-06-2020, 06:43 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,717
POST ID # = 1040225
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanvrensburg View Post
@dev biker - I bought the RGB pro SP120 to add to the fans on my x570 case. Are you saying that I was supposed to get the regular sp120?
yeah thats exactly what he's saying buddy.. SP RGB Fans and SP Pro RGB fans are not the same.. different protocol.. different LED count.. different :(

more info below

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-06-2020, 01:40 PM
KILLER_K KILLER_K is offline
Registered User
KILLER_K's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 219
POST ID # = 1040282
KILLER_K Reputation: 10
Default

You have to install ICUE to see it on the list. Then it would be under lighting setup and have a drop-down list of all of Corsair's fans there. I was hoping you got the normal SP 120 and not the SP Pro fan.

I guess you can return that one and get the one that matches your current fans. Or get all new fans if you like.


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanvrensburg View Post
@killer_k sorry but which “drop down” are you referring to? I have not installed any software for the controller - is that supposed to be done via bios?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-06-2020, 05:37 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,310
POST ID # = 1040313
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanvrensburg View Post
@killer_k sorry but which “drop down” are you referring to? I have not installed any software for the controller - is that supposed to be done via bios?
Presumably you are using the thumb remote controller that comes with the case. He was referring to the software interface that comes into play with Lighting Node Pro (or Core) and Commander Pro controllers that are required for most of the Corsair fans. Your SP120 RGB (non-Pro) and the HD series are the oldest and had that thumb remote option. It is OK to use it, but the your option expand exponentially when moving the software.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
case, fans, sp120, x570

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.