The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2019, 01:16 PM
Trapiz Trapiz is offline
Registered User
Trapiz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 988682
Trapiz Reputation: 10
Default Corsair H100i RGB Platinum cooling block rgb not lighting up

So I just finished putting the 240mm AIO into my system, and I plugged the fans in, rgb lights in, sata as well. And the usb 2.0 cable. And I can customise the fan rgb, just not the cooling block rgb. I can assign effects to it, but I can't see them on the block itself. Both fans are spinning, and the block is cooling as well it's just the rgb on that cooling block.

Can someone help me with this problem?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-08-2019, 01:41 PM
rs_jon rs_jon is offline
Registered User
rs_jon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 988842
rs_jon Reputation: 10
Default

Hi, a few of us on here are having the same problem. I've had a replacement and its still the same on the new unit, still waiting to hear from corsair :(
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-08-2019, 02:59 PM
Corsair Jam's Avatar
Corsair Jam Corsair Jam is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 216
POST ID # = 988852
Corsair Jam Reputation: 17
Default

Hello,

How is the cooler sata power setup? Be sure to have the cooler directly connected to a sata power, without any adapters. If you're using an adapter, the pump head won't receive the proper voltage to power on the LEDs.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-11-2019, 03:40 AM
Trapiz Trapiz is offline
Registered User
Trapiz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 989222
Trapiz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Jam View Post
Hello,

How is the cooler sata power setup? Be sure to have the cooler directly connected to a sata power, without any adapters. If you're using an adapter, the pump head won't receive the proper voltage to power on the LEDs.
I have a cable that has like multiple ocnnecters on it, so one cable has a sata and 2 molex connectors. Is that considered an adapter?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-13-2019, 10:13 PM
xDarkRei xDarkRei is offline
Registered User
xDarkRei's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1018126
xDarkRei Reputation: 10
Default

I have found the underlying issue regarding this problem.

It looks like the RGB on the Block requires the SATA connector from the PSU to be a 5-pin connector, not a 4-pin.
The 5th pin on a SATA connector (orange wire) provides 3.3V from the PSU.
A lot of PSU manufacturer's don't specify whether their SATA is 4 or 5 pin, so you may need to check your cable and count the wires connecting to it.

So most likely you will need to replace your PSU to get this to work correctly.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-11-2019, 04:32 PM
Justinparker Justinparker is offline
Registered User
Justinparker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1021006
Justinparker Reputation: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by xDarkRei View Post
I have found the underlying issue regarding this problem.

It looks like the RGB on the Block requires the SATA connector from the PSU to be a 5-pin connector, not a 4-pin.
The 5th pin on a SATA connector (orange wire) provides 3.3V from the PSU.
A lot of PSU manufacturer's don't specify whether their SATA is 4 or 5 pin, so you may need to check your cable and count the wires connecting to it.

So most likely you will need to replace your PSU to get this to work correctly.
Got straight to the route of my problem thanks! I was using some molex to sata adapters sue to the tightness of the sata psu cord and you were right, my extensions had only four wires. Bit of rejigging and volar! It’s all sorted! Thanks mate!
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-11-2019, 06:07 PM
Corsair Jam's Avatar
Corsair Jam Corsair Jam is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 216
POST ID # = 1021011
Corsair Jam Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xDarkRei View Post
I have found the underlying issue regarding this problem.

It looks like the RGB on the Block requires the SATA connector from the PSU to be a 5-pin connector, not a 4-pin.
The 5th pin on a SATA connector (orange wire) provides 3.3V from the PSU.
A lot of PSU manufacturer's don't specify whether their SATA is 4 or 5 pin, so you may need to check your cable and count the wires connecting to it.

So most likely you will need to replace your PSU to get this to work correctly.
It happens with PSUs that cut out wires to save cost. I would suggest a higher quality power supply from a reputable vendor.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.