The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2018, 01:56 PM
Paul S's Avatar
Paul S Paul S is offline
Registered User
Paul S's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: England
Posts: 270
POST ID # = 960699
Paul S Reputation: 10
Default iCue Advertising

Is there any way to get rid of the adverts in icue? the farcry picture
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2018, 02:58 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,983
POST ID # = 960714
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

Not yet. Hopeful. It makes me wish I could access the device list at the top of the window or in some other way so I don’t have to go to the home screen. Kind of a wasted extra set of clicks anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2018, 06:30 PM
Eudyptes Eudyptes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 960755
Eudyptes Reputation: 10
Default

A beta tester told me that there is the possibility that they will add an option to hide it. I'm sceptical if this comes to pass. At least I know now what game I would never buy.

I spent about €1000,- on Corsair hardware and have to look at this ad. From c-attacks PC specs I guess he spent several 1000 $. How much does Corsair want to hide the ad? 10,000 $, 100,000$?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2018, 08:03 PM
Paul S's Avatar
Paul S Paul S is offline
Registered User
Paul S's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: England
Posts: 270
POST ID # = 960772
Paul S Reputation: 10
Default

TBH im getting really sick and tired of it all, we dont need any adverts whatsoever in our software, ive spent loads as well, my machine cost 1,700 uk pounds and counting, as if there isnt already enough ads all over the damn internet.

some people like myself RARELY play any games so game adverts are just another annoyance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2018, 08:09 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,983
POST ID # = 960834
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

Look at it from a business perspective. It makes sense to tie in with a big game launch, also advertising the direct, game specific lighting feature they are trying to implement. Obviously some arrangement was made and it likely has a specific run time. No business would agree to cover someone else's advertising in perpetuity, so there is an end date. Just let it go a little while longer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2018, 08:28 AM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 710
POST ID # = 960836
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

I checked the install and went through some of the configs and I didn't see anything that directly related to the banner or an image file. Now that I think about it, a file could be stored in the user directory and not where the base file is. There will be some type of mechanic that allows for this to easily be changed out and they won't have it hard coded. I did some google searches and did not find the image on google images for items relating to corsair icue and farcry5. Granted the Farcry5 banner doesn't bother me, I was more curious than anything else.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2018, 12:02 PM
Eudyptes Eudyptes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 960876
Eudyptes Reputation: 10
Default

@c-attack: The Farcry5 banner will go away but it will be replaced by an other game. Also it's not only a Farcry ad but a Corsair ad too.

It's actually quite funny, I am Austrian (German speaking) and I run iCue in English. When I click on the banner it opens a Spanish (!) Corsair product site.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.