The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2019, 03:32 PM
cjames19 cjames19 is offline
Registered User
cjames19's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1025890
cjames19 Reputation: 10
Default H100i RGB Platinum SE - no more RGB on the fans

Hello everyone,

Im new to the forums here and recently finished putting together a computer with a decent amount of corsair products. Everything was working fine for the past week until today....the day i installed iCUE. Imediately after the restart my front 2 case fans stopped working along with the fans on the H100i cooler. Which brings me here to seek help.

Ive got the case fans working properly again and recognized by iCUE. The coolor fans however do not light up anymore. iCue recognizes there are fans connected giving me speeds and shows in the lighting effects tab that there are 2 fans there. However i can not get the fans to glow again.

I have set up the lightning node pro to have 2 lightning channels, both on the setting LL RGB series fan and 2 fans connected. This step is what fixed the RGB my case fans but unfortunatly the cooler fan RGB's never came back on.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Pictures attached of case and iCUE settings;
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20191201_141751.jpg (2.45 MB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg 20191201_141801.jpg (2.34 MB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg corsair1.JPG (93.7 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg corsair2.JPG (101.3 KB, 20 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-02-2019, 05:20 PM
Corsair Mike's Avatar
Corsair Mike Corsair Mike is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 173
POST ID # = 1026022
Corsair Mike Reputation: 10
Default

When you wired up the coolers fans how did you connect up the RGB cables?

From your pics and description of the issue it sounds like you have all 4 of the LL fans connected up to one RGB hub. To check that in software all you have to do is add more fans to the channel that your other fans are connected to. (The section in your attachment corsair1.JPG)

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-02-2019, 10:13 PM
cjames19 cjames19 is offline
Registered User
cjames19's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1026065
cjames19 Reputation: 10
Default

Mike thanks for your response.

I have tried adding 4 fans under the lighting setup tab and no difference. I have also moved slots in the commander to 1 & 2 , where the front working case fans were plugged in, and still no power to the RGB.

I have attached a picture of the connections
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20191202_211042.jpg (2.56 MB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg 20191202_211022.jpg (2.27 MB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-05-2019, 03:09 PM
cjames19 cjames19 is offline
Registered User
cjames19's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1026410
cjames19 Reputation: 10
Default

Does anyone have any ideas?

I'm open to try any suggestions. Can provide any pictures or information as needed.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-05-2019, 03:47 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,859
POST ID # = 1026414
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You skipped port 3 on the fan hub. Can't do that; can't skip ports.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-05-2019, 05:32 PM
cjames19 cjames19 is offline
Registered User
cjames19's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1026433
cjames19 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You skipped port 3 on the fan hub. Can't do that; can't skip ports.
They were originally put it port 3 and 4 as the FAQ suggested.

I moved the RGB connectors from slot 3 and 4 to slots 1 and 2 where the front case fans were working and still nothing. I tried other slots to see if that would spark the RGB but nothing. They are currently in slot 3 and 4.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-05-2019, 05:54 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,859
POST ID # = 1026439
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

And you added the two fans to the channel in iCUE?
Last screen shot of your channel has 2 fans on the channel. You need to specify four. And you only need to configure channel 1.
IF you have all four fans on channel 1, then try rearranging the fans.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-05-2019, 06:21 PM
cjames19 cjames19 is offline
Registered User
cjames19's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1026446
cjames19 Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, after Corsair Mike told me to do so I deleted the second channel and switched channel 1 from 2 fans to 4 fans. Didnt change anything.

I will try to rearrange the RGB slots tonight to see, having the cooler fans in slot 1 and 2 and the case fans in slot 3 and 4.

Is it recommended i restart the PC after changing slots or is that not needed?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-05-2019, 11:20 PM
cjames19 cjames19 is offline
Registered User
cjames19's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1026488
cjames19 Reputation: 10
Default

FIXED!

Thank you DevBiker!

To fix this issue, I had to move the CASE FANS from slot 1 and 2(which is how the case came) to slots 3 and 4 and put the COOLER FANS in slot 1 and 2.

For some reason if you plug the COOLER FANS in a slot after the CASE FANS it does not recognize the RGB for the COOLER FANS.

Appreciate the help, CorsairMike & DevBiker!

Safe to say I bought the K95 keyboard tonight to finish the setup.

Anyways, i have attached a picture of my desk for people to see the final product.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20191205_221107.jpg (3.16 MB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-05-2019, 11:52 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,859
POST ID # = 1026489
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Hmmmmm ...
An experiment for you, if you are willing to try ...
What happens if you swap fan #4 with fan #1?

Because the order shouldn't matter ... and the fact that it does tells us something interesting.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-06-2019, 03:07 PM
cjames19 cjames19 is offline
Registered User
cjames19's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1026544
cjames19 Reputation: 10
Default

when swapping fan#1 with fan #4 they still continue to work.

Even more odd, when i go back to the original setup of case fans in slot 1 and 2 and cooling fans in slot 3 and 4 everything works.

My question is why in iCue under the H100i tab it shows the CPU cooler and 2 fans to change colors but yet those 2 fans represent nothing because you have to control the RGB of the H100i from the Node Pro tab. In the screenshot attached you can see i have the RGB off under the H100i tab but they are working because of the settings in the lightning node pro tab. Weird but i understand how iCue is thinking now so i know how to control them.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg iCue - Lightning Node Pro tab.JPG (175.1 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg iCue - H100i tab.JPG (169.9 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 12-06-2019, 03:20 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,859
POST ID # = 1026545
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

It's because you've told iCUE (or allowed iCUE to continue to believe) that the fans are attached to the RGB controller on the cooler. You can go to the Lighting Setup for the cooler and tell it that no fans are connected.

You need to tell iCUE what's there or what's not. RGB fans aren't detected automatically.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 12-06-2019, 04:30 PM
cjames19 cjames19 is offline
Registered User
cjames19's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1026551
cjames19 Reputation: 10
Default

Makes sense now.

I have removed the fans from the cooler tab as you said and all works great as its supposed to.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.