The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2019, 02:05 PM
Chaoscore Chaoscore is offline
Registered User
Chaoscore's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1025993
Chaoscore Reputation: 10
Post Commander Pro/Lightning Node Core correct RGB Fan setup?

hey folks!

Im kinda new to the whole Corsair Eco System right now.

Im start to build my new Hydro X system pretty soon and i designed prev. designed my loop already.

Now im kinda stuck with the RGB Fan part.

I will use 10x QL120 RGB Fans, 2x Lightning Node Core, 1x Commander Pro and 3-PWM-Triplesplitter

I didnt connect the FAN RGB cable into the said lightning node core here.

Is it correct that i need 3x SATA Power here?

http://i.epvpimg.com/s7Xjeab.png

Thanks for any advice maybe i dont need so much devices here for my 10x fan setup.

Can i add RGB strips to the Commander pro here too?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2019, 02:37 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,859
POST ID # = 1025996
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You can add strips to the Commander Pro. If you have RGB Fan LED Hubs, you can put the QLs on them and add them to the CoPro. Or you can use the Lighting Node Cores. But yes, 3x SATA power is required.

Do not use 3 way splitter on the Commander Pro. We've seen too many cases where that has caused issues. 2-way splitters are fine or, even better, a powered PWM hub connected to the CoPro for control. We also typically recommend only 9 fans on a single CoPro but I've run 10 with no problem (I'm doing it now, in fact - 10 fans, on 5 2-way splitters)
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2019, 02:57 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,255
POST ID # = 1026000
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

https://www.corsair.com/ww/en/Catego...r/p/CC-8900355






one of these would solve the Fan Power Problem as suggested above.. Connect that to a single Fan header on the commander Pro and it will clone that header to 6 fans..

similar to what i did with my 32 Fan set up but i used 8 port repeaters



you could use 3 PWM repeaters and have 3 fans on each repeater..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2019, 03:56 AM
Chaoscore Chaoscore is offline
Registered User
Chaoscore's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1026089
Chaoscore Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you both!

I found a similar PWM Fan HUB with sata power. (https://www.amazon.de/dp/B07S5BHZQ1/...v_ov_lig_dp_it)

The fan power Question is out of the way here thats great!

I got one last Question im assuming i dont need more RGB Fan HUBs since i got 2x Lightning Node Core's here. I connect them with them via the USB plug in the USB splitter from the CoPro right?

The LED Channels 1 and 2 on the CoPro are still empty here and free for any other RGB LED strips. The USB Connection to the CoPro is enough to let me control all those Fans RGB in iCUE?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2019, 09:05 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,859
POST ID # = 1026108
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Yes, you can connect the Lighting Node Core's (NoCo) USB headers to the Commander Pro's USB ports. With the NoCo, that's all you need. The NoCo will show up in iCUE and you'll be able to configure the fans that are attached to it there and then configure the RGB.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
commander pro, icue, lightning node core, ql120

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.