The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2018, 01:14 AM
Yuno112 Yuno112 is offline
Registered User
Yuno112's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 977302
Yuno112 Reputation: 10
Default Corsair H150i Pro not being detected

Hello, I ordered the Corsair H150i Pro and I can't get it to show up anywhere i have tested it on corsair link and Icue and nothing. The device manager also doesn't have that USBxp thing in there either. I also used a micro usb and plugged the usb into the 2.0 headers in the back of pc and nothing. when I have the 3 pin pump on the cpu header I get no cpu fan detected in the bios. So what I did was change the cpu header fan with a different normal fan and the 3pin pump on a pump header on my motherboard and still doesn't detect the pump. the aio also only has 1 or 2 fans spinning which are connected to its 3 fan splitter. Another issue is that the light on the pump logo is very low or dim. I have the micro usb connected to the pump and the 2.0 pin on the 2.0 header on the motherboard. The aio is powered by a sata cable and I have tried all of my sata cables on it. I feel like it's a power issue since it is the 2nd one. I sent back a new one the same day I got it because I thought it was bad but now I am still getting the same problem after getting another new one. The temp on my cpu on idle is around the 20s to 30s and gaming 40's to 50s in celsius. Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Yuno112; 10-21-2018 at 02:23 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-22-2018, 02:50 PM
headabovewater headabovewater is offline
Registered User
headabovewater's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 977539
headabovewater Reputation: 10
Default

This is exactly my issue but my H115i is not new. I had it working fine with my Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 motherboard and a i5 3507k. I upgraded to a z390 Asus Hero XI Wifi and a i7 8086k and now the cooler is not being detected. I have tried everything and I am lost.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-22-2018, 02:55 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 977541
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuno112 View Post
Hello, I ordered the Corsair H150i Pro and I can't get it to show up anywhere i have tested it on corsair link and Icue and nothing. The device manager also doesn't have that USBxp thing in there either. I also used a micro usb and plugged the usb into the 2.0 headers in the back of pc and nothing. when I have the 3 pin pump on the cpu header I get no cpu fan detected in the bios. So what I did was change the cpu header fan with a different normal fan and the 3pin pump on a pump header on my motherboard and still doesn't detect the pump. the aio also only has 1 or 2 fans spinning which are connected to its 3 fan splitter. Another issue is that the light on the pump logo is very low or dim. I have the micro usb connected to the pump and the 2.0 pin on the 2.0 header on the motherboard. The aio is powered by a sata cable and I have tried all of my sata cables on it. I feel like it's a power issue since it is the 2nd one. I sent back a new one the same day I got it because I thought it was bad but now I am still getting the same problem after getting another new one. The temp on my cpu on idle is around the 20s to 30s and gaming 40's to 50s in celsius. Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
It does sound like a power issue but it's odd that 2 different coolers would have the exact same problem.

What PSU are you using? Is it modular and are you only using cables that came with it?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-22-2018, 02:56 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 977542
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headabovewater View Post
This is exactly my issue but my H115i is not new. I had it working fine with my Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 motherboard and a i5 3507k. I upgraded to a z390 Asus Hero XI Wifi and a i7 8086k and now the cooler is not being detected. I have tried everything and I am lost.
Do you have lighting? Fans spinning? And the cooler is just not detected?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-22-2018, 06:19 PM
headabovewater headabovewater is offline
Registered User
headabovewater's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 977566
headabovewater Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Do you have lighting? Fans spinning? And the cooler is just not detected?
There is a very dim light on the water block and both 140mm fans are spinning. The AI overclocker in the bios acknowledges there is a cooler as it has a cooler rating but the cooler doesn't show up in in the device manager even when using mulitple different micro usb cables and ports on my system. I am using cable mod cables but they are the same I used in my old system so I would be very surprised if they are the issue but I can try and use the original sata cable from the PSU.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-22-2018, 06:28 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 977567
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headabovewater View Post
There is a very dim light on the water block and both 140mm fans are spinning. The AI overclocker in the bios acknowledges there is a cooler as it has a cooler rating but the cooler doesn't show up in in the device manager even when using mulitple different micro usb cables and ports on my system. I am using cable mod cables but they are the same I used in my old system so I would be very surprised if they are the issue but I can try and use the original sata cable from the PSU.
I would doubt that the cable mod cables are the issue as well - but, just for giggles, let's rule that out by using one of the original SATA cables.

It is getting power or it wouldn't operate at all and you'd hit temp max in the BIOS - but it just doesn't seem like it's enough power.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-22-2018, 06:33 PM
headabovewater headabovewater is offline
Registered User
headabovewater's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 977568
headabovewater Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
I would doubt that the cable mod cables are the issue as well - but, just for giggles, let's rule that out by using one of the original SATA cables.

It is getting power or it wouldn't operate at all and you'd hit temp max in the BIOS - but it just doesn't seem like it's enough power.
Alright I switched to the original sata cable with no results which makes sense. Here are some screenshots. I may be missing it in the USBDeview window but I do not think so.
Attached Images
File Type: png device manager.PNG (38.1 KB, 143 views)
File Type: png corsair utilities.PNG (1.27 MB, 161 views)
File Type: png usbdeviewer.PNG (97.6 KB, 137 views)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-22-2018, 06:46 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 977569
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Hmmm ... most odd. And you are using the stock fans, correct?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-22-2018, 06:50 PM
headabovewater headabovewater is offline
Registered User
headabovewater's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 977571
headabovewater Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Hmmm ... most odd. And you are using the stock fans, correct?
Yep. They are connected to the h115i pro.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20181022_174941.jpg (2.79 MB, 87 views)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 10-22-2018, 07:07 PM
Yuno112 Yuno112 is offline
Registered User
Yuno112's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 977574
Yuno112 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
It does sound like a power issue but it's odd that 2 different coolers would have the exact same problem.

What PSU are you using? Is it modular and are you only using cables that came with it?
I am using the evga 750 g2 and it is modular and I am only using the cable it came with.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 10-22-2018, 08:13 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 977579
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Unfortunately, these sound like either internal power issues or (possibly) an MCU issue. It's odd that the OP would get two coolers in a row that exhibited this issue.

Unfortunately, I don't think that it's anything that we'll be able to fix here on the forum - you'll either need to return to the retailer (if you can, that's usually quicker) or open a support ticket.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 10-22-2018, 08:42 PM
Yuno112 Yuno112 is offline
Registered User
Yuno112's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 977583
Yuno112 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Unfortunately, these sound like either internal power issues or (possibly) an MCU issue. It's odd that the OP would get two coolers in a row that exhibited this issue.

Unfortunately, I don't think that it's anything that we'll be able to fix here on the forum - you'll either need to return to the retailer (if you can, that's usually quicker) or open a support ticket.
Thanks for your feedback. I was thinking the same about the issue being separate from the aio. I'm going to see if I can get my hands on another power supply but if I can't I will most likely return the aio since I am on a low budge atm and opt for an air cooler for the mean time.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-22-2018, 09:05 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 977588
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

I'm not certain that it's the PSU ... the MCU is the Micro Controller Unit in the pump. The pump itself must be working and circulating the coolant or your CPU temps would be through the roof.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-22-2018, 09:36 PM
headabovewater headabovewater is offline
Registered User
headabovewater's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 977590
headabovewater Reputation: 10
Default

This makes sense. In the 2 months before I upgraded it could have been dead because I had the LED's off. My old case had a tiny window and I had no reason for it to be on. Will file with support. Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-22-2018, 09:38 PM
Yuno112 Yuno112 is offline
Registered User
Yuno112's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 977591
Yuno112 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
I'm not certain that it's the PSU ... the MCU is the Micro Controller Unit in the pump. The pump itself must be working and circulating the coolant or your CPU temps would be through the roof.
Ah I now see what you mean. I was looking up the wrong thing assuming the mcu was related to psu.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
h150i pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.