The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2015, 05:18 PM
Sineira Sineira is offline
Registered User
Sineira's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 815067
Sineira Reputation: 11
Default Advice: scrape off the standard paste from your cooler and apply new!

Ok so I have gotten increasingly worse performance out of my PC.
In the last week I started to get bad lag in games like BF4.

I checked the CPU temperature under normal load and it looked fine at 38-42C.
However when running BF4 the CPU temp increased to around +70C.

Today I removed the H100 cooler from the CPU. I had just used the pre-applied paste it came with.
I noticed the paste was way too thick and completely solid, it "cracked" when I removed the cooler block.

I scrapped it off and applied a new thinner layer of good paste.

What a difference, it now runs at about 40-45C in BF4 and idles at 29-30C.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-18-2015, 05:29 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,107
POST ID # = 815069
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Odd you had this issue,I always use pre applied paste without issue.My H80[yes h80] still has factory paste but its rarely taxed so that may have something to do with longevity of the paste...
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-18-2015, 06:10 PM
howzz1854 howzz1854 is offline
Registered User
howzz1854's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 815074
howzz1854 Reputation: 10
Default

i never use any of the pre-applied paste that comes with any heatsink or coolers, always my own. however, having said that, i think it's possible that when you first installed the block, not enough pressure was applied to it, hence the paste didn't break down.

as a good rule of thumb, doesn't matter pre-applied, or your own, always put some pressure on the block/heatsink and wiggle it both clock/counter-clock wise many times before securing the unit.

Last edited by howzz1854; 10-19-2015 at 10:56 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-19-2015, 09:58 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,306
POST ID # = 815282
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Not a fan of pre applies paste. I always apply it fresh from a tube.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.